We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearly trip to the Cape”
Review of Top Mast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Top Mast Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Killingworth, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yearly trip to the Cape”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have been going to the P-town/Truro area for many years and have been trying different places for the last few years. Will definitely go back to Top Mast. We stayed on the second floor of a efficiency beach unit. Clean, plenty big with small stove, mw, fridge, sink. The beds were really comfortable. I'm not they type of person to sit on the beach, my wife is, she had her beach and I had an indoor pool, spa, sauna, and steam rood with a bar that made really good drinks. Everything was reasonably priced. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    79
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
127
112
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed with my family for the last week of August....We are already planning .... next yr same time!,...all I can say is Amazing.....! This is the place to be ...the staff are great..the rooms well imacaulate!!!....Family friendly.....Mike and his wife at the pool were awesome....wonderful people.....I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else! Jason...Roberta...Mike at the pool and his wife.....thank u alll!!! First time to Cape Cod and this is where I will always stay!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Top Mast is a nice family resort with indoor pool and hot tub. They have an outside fire pit and rooms are on the beach. It has a bus stop right out front not Provincetown daily and into the night. We brought lasagna but did not have an oven. The owners let us use their oven to heat it. Family owned business with nice people. Good customer service. It does not have wi fi in the rooms but you can go into the office.

Room Tip: First floor has stove top, picnic tables and outside shelf to grill on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56phyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cummington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is our second time staying at the Top Mast Resort. We love it. Right on the beach. Very clean. We will be going back next year. We used our grill twice right there on the beach. Great experience. Nice falling asleep to the sound of the ocean. We didn't use the indoor pool this time but good to know it's available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in a garden view room across the street from the beach. The rooms aren't fancy buy were very clean and had been recently renovated. The bathroom was spotless. The rug looked clean but after walking on it, you could tell it definitely needed a shampooing. That said, this is a beach hotel so you can expect sand is being tracked in regularly. The staff was friendly and the attached restaurant was convenient, clean and had a decent selection for breakfast. The location was great for getting into Provincetown in just minutes. The price was reasonable and the beach was directly across the street so we did not miss the expense or luxury of staying directly on the water. I would save money and stay in the Garden View rooms again. Though we didn't get to use it, they had a very nice pool/hot tub area. It is open to the public, not just hotel guests but it was not crowed when we dropped in to check it out. This area was also clean and modern and included showers and changing rooms as well as a place to get drinks/snacks. We will definitely be staying there on future trips to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
367 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My husband and I were invited to a 30th anniversary weekend in Truro over Memorial Day weekend. We rarely go that far out on the Cape but were were excited about the weekend. I wanted to find a place to stay as much like the Tides Motel - our favorite place to stay in Falmouth. We definitely found it at Top Mast. Top Mast is a very simple setup right on the Bay with views of Provincetown to the north and the inside of the upper arm of Cape Cod to the south. On clear nights we saw beautiful sunsets while lying in bed or standing on our balcony and could hear the waves right outside falling asleep at night. The rooms are tiny with the option of a kitchenette setup and we had a microwave, small fridge and a table with chairs. It was enough for us but it's a tight fit with a bed and couch in there as well. Nonetheless if what you want is a beachside weekend without spending thousands, then Top Mast is for you. It's a little off the beaten path down a road that will take you past a number of houses and a few other beach motels, and the road to Provincetown is the 'business route'. However, the quiet is nice and if you like biking you can get bikes via the front desk. There are stores nearby if you want to stock up your fridge - we bought most of our food at Mac's in Truro. I would definitely go back to Top Mast if I was staying in the area again. The managers are very helpful and well organized and are knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: We chose the upper level as it gives you a better view of the water and the sunset. We also chose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryLover2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
348 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We vacationed here for the first time. The place looks a little run down from the outside and could stand to be repainted. The rooms are pretty basic but are clean. Our biggest complaint was the mold smell. I'm sure that it is difficult to control in a beach front hotel but it's still offensive. On the plus side, the rooms are quiet. We have stayed in a couple of other hotels in Ptown in the past and this is the best of the 3, however, it doesn't approach the quality of other hotels was have stayed at in coastal Maine and NH.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Odarkthirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
2.9 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
912 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
182 reviews
3.4 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Outer Reach Resort
Outer Reach Resort
#5 of 11 in North Truro
313 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Mast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Mast Resort

Property: Top Mast Resort
Address: P.O. Box 44, 209 Shore Road, North Truro, MA 02652-0044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in North Truro
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Truro
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Top Mast Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top Mast Resort is nestled on 750 feet of private, groomed beach overlooking Cape Cod Bay and located only minutes from nearby towns of Provincetown and Wellfleet. Accommodations include; garden view units, beachfront units with or without kitchens, 2 bedroom cottages, a 3 bedroom beach house, and a trio of 4 bedroom shore houses. Enjoy our indoor health complex complete with a large, heated pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna, weight room, kiddie pool and slide, kid smoothies, frozen drinks, beer, wine, snacks, soda and an outdoor sun deck area with an evening fire pit. outdoor tennis/basketball court area and ping pong and corn hole on the lawn. Also located on site is our cafe which serves breakfast every day and dinner on Fridays, with seasonal outdoor patio dining by our large koi fish pond and water feature. Free WI-FI in every room and in various locations through out the property. Shuttle services to Provincetown. Family owned and operated for over 45 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Top Mast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Mast Hotel North Truro
Top Mast North Truro
Top Mast Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing