We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate”
Review of Top Mast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Top Mast Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We really didn't want to spend a lot of money on our room since we didn't plan on being there much. We stayed in the building that is not on the beach and it was great. The beach was literally a minute walk across the street. Quiet and private. The room was amazingly clean. Very convenient location and the bus for Provincetown stops out front. Very nice breakfast in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Troou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopMastResort, Owner at Top Mast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hello Troou2,

Thank you for the great review and I am happy you had a enjoyable vacation with us. For travelers like yourself who want to explore the local area or just make a few shopping trips to Provincetown the garden view rooms are a perfect fit. We were also happy to hear that you found the room to be exceptionally clean. We continually emphasize the importance of a perfectly cleaned room to our housekeeping staff, and they were very pleased when I showed them your review!
We hope to see you at the Top Mast in the future!
Jason Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have been going to this hotel since the 1970's. It has not changed very much. Probably the most beautiful view on the cape, but no updating in the rooms. They are expanding and expanding adding brand new cottages, but not fixing up the many rooms they already have. No hair dryers in the rooms, really no ammenities at all, no iron or iron board. Small kitchenette's which are great to have but not very stocked. They used to be better stocked. Not even a clock in the room. TV's are very small old fashioned hanging from the ceiling. No Air Conditioning. Althought here is usually a very nice cross breeze being right on the water. The grounds are very clean and the rooms a pretty well cleaned. Although sand on the floors. Older beds. So if you looking for great location, great view and don't care about any "extra's" this is the place for you. Also very high priced in season!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopMastResort, Owner at Top Mast Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Nancy,

I am pleased to hear that you have been staying at the Top Mast Resort since the 1970’s, but I was disappointed to learn that your last experience with us wasn't up to your standards. We have been a family run business since we started in 1971 and I can assure you that the comments and concerns of all of our customers are most important to us. I will try to address all of your concerns as best as I can, and if there is anything more we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable please don’t hesitate to ask.
It is true that we have been expanding our resort over the last ten years in order to better accommodate our guests, but at no time have we neglected the existing buildings in favor of our newer projects. Although we do not have hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, or clocks in the rooms we do have all of these items and more available at the front office for our guests to use upon request. We have found that the majority of our guests are here for a casual beach vacation and only need these items upon request. In addressing the items that you found to not be stocked in the kitchen I am at a loss. Over the years we have only added to the list of items that we stock in terms of pots, pans, silverware, glassware, cooking utensils, coffee mugs, measuring cups, cutting boards, colanders, lobster utensils, serving bowls, etc. Often we do have families or groups of friends staying in separate rooms who decide to use one common room for their dinners or cookouts so everyone can be together. Sometimes this room may end up having a kitchen item which belongs in another room. Our housekeepers have a master list of every item that should be stocked in the kitchen when they clean it. There is a possibility that an item that we had provided for your room may have been misplaced to another unit and I apologize for this oversight. Also in the last ten years we have replaced every refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and toaster in order to both simplify the maintenance requirements of these items and to provide our guests the same level of comfort and ease of use regardless of which room they are staying in.
We have also begun to update the older style tube TV’s with the newer and larger flat screen TV’s. As of now we have upgraded approximately 50% of the rooms with the flat screen TV’s but unfortunately it sounds like you were not in one of these units during your last stay. The manner in how these flat screens are mounted in the room does remain the same however. They are not actually hanging from the ceiling, but are securely mounted to the wall. There are typically two types of TV mounting brackets, fixed or moveable. We chose the more expensive moveable style brackets which allows our guests to position the TV for the best viewing angle depending on where they are in the room.
In reference to our beds, we made a decision several years ago after talking with our customers and reviewing our guests comment cards provided in the rooms that a more comfortable mattress was needed. Within the last 5 years every bed on the property has been replaced with a Simmons Westbury 2 Plush mattress and box spring. It sounds like this newer style of mattress was not comfortable for you and should you need a different type of mattress during your next stay please let us know and we can try to arrange this for you.
I dealing with the sand on the floors, we do provide daily housekeeping and the last cleaning item they perform is to vacuum the entire room as they work their way out. One of the downsides of our resort being located directly on the beach is that sand is easily tracked back into the rooms. We have been vacuuming it since 1971 and it just won’t go away!
Although our beachfront rooms do not have A/C we do offer a variety of other accommodations that do if that is an amenity you require. Most guests tell us that they prefer to hear the sounds of the waves from their rooms as opposed to that of an air conditioning compressor.
Lastly, I would like to point out some of the amenities not provided directly in the rooms, but which our guests have enjoyed during their stays with us. We are the only resort in the area with an on-site café with inside and outside dining and a koi pond. We also just installed a new Wi Fi network for the entire property based on the requests of our guests. I also hope you were able to enjoy our heated indoor pool, hot tub, dry sauna, steam room, fitness facility, tennis courts, or fire pit area during your stay. These are the amenities not provided in many of the other resorts in the area and we provide them with room rates that are equal and in many cases below those of the other resorts. This level of service and concern for our customers’ needs has been what has kept our family business successful over the last 43 years.
We hope to have you stay with us again in the future and we will do whatever is necessary to make your vacation a pleasurable one.

Sincerely,
Jason Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Second visit to Top Mast Resort and it didn't disappoint. Spent a week in July in a beachfront 2 bedroom efficiency. We had a great experience with everyone, from front desk to housekeeping. This year our daughter, son and their families joined us. Everyone agreed it was great just stepping outside to the ocean. Our grandchildren ages 5, 4 & 3 months enjoyed the indoor poor and facilities since we did have a couple of rainy days. Overall a great place and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We go annually to this family-owned hotel. The rooms are clean and some have small kitchen facilities. We always request a room on the second floor, overlooking the water. While the walkways and stairways outside the rooms can be noisy, the rooms are clean and the views can't be beat! We tend to clear out of our room before we're ready to leave the area. The management allows us to use the pool and the shower rooms to clean up after checking out. The indoor pool is beautiful. There's a lovely outdoor deck.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RJvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Top Mast offers a very nice stay and a lot of variety - from the beach to the pool and the comfortable rooms. We stayed on the second floor, beachfront efficiency and it was very convenient and clean with a lovely view and the sound of the ocean. The first floor seems great and a better set up if you want to hang out at the beach...for us it was a bit busy with the picnic tables and floats, but for those on the first floor, it is wonderful. The staff and service is great. The pool and spa area is fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have stayed in Ptown for the last 7 years at different places from hotels to 1 room studios to entire houses. This year we decided to stay in North Truro , the next town over. By far, Top Mast Resort was the best place we have ever stayed! Everything is always kept clean from the guest room, to the common areas leading to the beach, to the indoor pool area, to the tennis and basketball courts. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They even called us after we left to let us know we had forgotten something in the room. There is an indoor pool with a cool slide the kids loved. Since it stays open till 10pm it was very handy on rainy days. The hot tub and steam room made it feel like a high end resort. This resort is worth the value. We can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy_vieco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is our second stay at the Top Mast and it only seems to get better. When a hotel is busy,there may be an occasional hiccup, but the staff seems to bend over backwards to make you happy and comfortable. After all, this is a family run resort and they can make their own rules on the fly. And they always seem to make rules that favor the guest! The place is very comfortable, close to Provincetown and other attractions, on the ocean, with tennis court, indoor pool and spa, workout room and a handy cafe steps away. The guests, staff and management are all friendly and helpful, so you don't feel isolated and alone. If you want to be alone, no problem either. The beach and hotel property are very large. The rooms we had, were very clean and missing nothing in the way of comfort items. Forget something, the office is happy to help. Needless to say, we enjoyed our stay this year and last year, so we expect to back again.

Room Tip: There is a large amount of beach front rooms, but be sure to reserve early, because long time patron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
1.6 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
191 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,101 reviews
3.4 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
241 reviews
1.8 mi away
East Harbour
East Harbour
#10 of 11 in North Truro
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizons Beach Resort
Horizons Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in North Truro
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Mast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Mast Resort

Address: P.O. Box 44, 209 Shore Road, North Truro, MA 02652-0044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
#1 Family Hotel in North Truro
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Truro
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
Price Range: £65 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Top Mast Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top Mast Resort is nestled on 750 feet of private, groomed beach overlooking Cape Cod Bay and located only minutes from nearby towns of Provincetown and Wellfleet. Accommodations include; garden view units, beachfront units with or without kitchens, 2 bedroom cottages, a 3 bedroom beach house, and a trio of 4 bedroom shore houses. Enjoy our indoor health complex complete with a large, heated pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna, weight room, kiddie pool and slide, kid smoothies, frozen drinks, beer, wine, snacks, soda and an outdoor sun deck area with an evening fire pit. outdoor tennis/basketball court area and ping pong and corn hole on the lawn. Also located on site is our cafe which serves breakfast every day and dinner on Fridays, with seasonal outdoor patio dining by our large koi fish pond and water feature. Free WI-FI in every room and in various locations through out the property. Shuttle services to Provincetown. Family owned and operated for over 45 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Top Mast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Mast Hotel North Truro
Top Mast North Truro
Top Mast Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing