We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Cod Bay at it's Very Best--a Symphony for the senses.”
Review of Top Mast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Top Mast Resort
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Bronx,NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cape Cod Bay at it's Very Best--a Symphony for the senses.”
Reviewed 5 June 2009

I could go on & on over this great place but since I'm sure you'll want to call to experience it yourself I'll curb my enthusiasm. Mind you, half the people I spoke with that were staying here have been coming here every year for over 20 years so making reservations ASAP is pretty crucial. Once you've stayed you get first shots for the following season as well as the listings of all the special stay rates which are really, really great deals.
The check-in process took all of two minutes & within three we were through our spotless 1 room efficiency with a brand new queen bed & sleeper sofa and out on our beautiful deck soaking up the sun & sounds of the bay. The beach itself is kept extremely clean & they even rake up the seaweed so when you come out of the water you don't scare all the children because they think you're the Swamp Thing. Most places up there don't do that. The bathroom was a real nice size & stocked with plenty of soap, wash cloths, & nice big fluffy (Cape Cod fresh) towels. The kitchen is more than adequate especially when you have a restaurant across the street for breakfast & P'town is 5 minutes down the road & has restaurants that rival any "anywhere" I've traveled.
The indoor pool/hot tub/sauna/gym/fitness/pina colada on the deck area is just something you have to see--they did a magnificent job on it. If you're there with the kids & it rains you'll be counting your blessings.
The staff is extremely efficient as well as very friendly--always a smile & a hello.
The Silva's are about the most down to earth,hard working, & friendly people you'll likely ever meet. It's a super tight loving family & it shows in their establishment.
My only regret (other than having to leave) is that the ratings only go up to 5 stars--it truly deserves more.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronx_NYJim_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    78
    16
    7
    0
See reviews for
125
108
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keene
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

My family loves the Top Mast Resort. This will be the 3rd summer in a row we'll be going there. The rooms are right on the ocean. It's hard to get a bottom floor room, so book early. The staff is so nice and helpful. They have a nice restaurant located at the resort. Breakfast there is really good. The room decor is average, but who wants to stay in the room all the time when you're right on the ocean? Can't wait to go back again this year!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kam525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We discovered Top Mast two years ago, and we love it. My daughter and I stay in a bayside efficiency on the second floor. It's great to be right next to the water, to sit out on the balcony in the mornings and drink coffee or to look out at the lights of Provincetown in the evenings. Being right on the water is great. You walk out the door and you're at the beach. They also have a new indoor pool that my daughter loves. The people who own the place are wonderful.

It's true that the rooms do not have air conditioning, but if you're on the water, you really don't need it. You can always bring a fan. The rooms are also pretty small. I would never choose a poolside room; it's worth paying a little more for an efficiency on the bay. You save money by cooking meals.

This is not a luxury motel. It's a motel in a great location, run by wonderful people, and it's ideal for a family beach vacation.

  • Liked — Great beach location.
  • Disliked — It could be a little bit noisy at times.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Alivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayshore ny
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Hotel is directly on the Bay.. tHe beach is right outside your door.
Stayed in one room eff. rooms are spacious extremly clean.
Stayed in a lot of waterfront communities and this hotel is by far the best location especially if you have small children and want the comfort of home right on the beach.... Altough we stayed off season it was a great vacation.. Provincetown is just mins away.
Highly recommend this hotel.., Very reasonable rates...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pool across street from hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cct13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

My family and I stayed at Top Mast for three nights in early August. We have two small children and the place was perfect. Keep in mind this is not the Four Season so don't expect luxury. The rooms were well kept and very clean, the closet was a bit musty and the bathrooms were very small. But you can't beat the price for a waterfront room. We stayed on the second floor on the bayside. Try to get a first floor room if you can, you walk right out on to the beach.

The day we arrived the weather was terrible, but the kids loved the indoor pool (one of the reasons we booked the place). It cleared up and we took the kids to play on one of the beaches in Wellfleet after diner at Moby Dick's. The next day we were able to take the kids in to the water, it was cool, but they didn't mind. The bayside is great for little kids, it is like swimming in a lake. And you have to pay to park at the beaches in Cape Cod so we saved some money there. We just let them play on the local beaches at night.

We were able to extend our vacation a bit. On our check out day we stayed on the beach for a while, and were able to clean up at the pool before heading out. It worked out great since it was a Saturday and the traffic would have been horrible. This was one of the reasons the owner added the pool.

We didn't bother taking the car in to P-town since the shuttle stops at the hotel. It was cheap, easy, and the kids like the shuttle.

The staff could not have been nicer. The owner worked with me to get me the room we wanted (we almost had to spend one night poolside). And Abby was very helpful during our stay. This was our first trip to the Cape, we didn't know the area very well, so the help was appreciated. They really do care about their guests.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small bathrooms.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarlet1766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We can't say enough about Top Mast. It was far more than we ever expected in a beachside motel. The accomodations (kitchen, bath, bedding) were impeccable. We were so pleased - there was absolutely nothing lacking here and again, they get an A+ for cleanliness. The location is the best on the strip. You cannot do better than Top Mast. We can't wait to go back !

  • Liked — location, price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — we could not extend our stay - no vacancies !
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damisty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

The Topmast is one of the best family places we've ever stayed in. The owners are so friendly, accommodating and wonderful to work with. We had a family reunion/retirement party and rented out a block of rooms on the bayside and everyone just loved them. Two people in our party did stay on the poolside and liked their room too, but I was never in one. I was worried that some of our friends and family members would miss the AC but with the breeze that came through, it wasn't a problem at all. This is not fancy, just beachy at its best. The new pool is state of the art and some of the younger kids spent a lot time there. The shuttle is so convenient, stopping right outside the Topmast. P-Town Parties (they also run the restaurant) did a fabulous job catering our clambake (delicious) that they served up for 30 people right on the beach, outside of our rooms. It was perfect and was topped off with a bonfire on the beach (all set up by P-Town Parties, right down to the permit and stack of wood) into the night. The food, staff and organization were top notch. We loved it there and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
1.6 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
3.4 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#4 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
19.1 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
23.2 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Mast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Mast Resort

Property: Top Mast Resort
Address: P.O. Box 44, 209 Shore Road, North Truro, MA 02652-0044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in North Truro
#1 Family Hotel in North Truro
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Top Mast Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top Mast Resort is nestled on 750 feet of private, groomed beach overlooking Cape Cod Bay and located only minutes from nearby towns of Provincetown and Wellfleet. Accommodations include; garden view units, beachfront units with or without kitchens, 2 bedroom cottages, a 3 bedroom beach house, and a trio of 4 bedroom shore houses. Enjoy our indoor health complex complete with a large, heated pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna, weight room, kiddie pool and slide, kid smoothies, frozen drinks, beer, wine, snacks, soda and an outdoor sun deck area with an evening fire pit. outdoor tennis/basketball court area and ping pong and corn hole on the lawn. Also located on site is our cafe which serves breakfast every day and dinner on Fridays, with seasonal outdoor patio dining by our large koi fish pond and water feature. Free WI-FI in every room and in various locations through out the property. Shuttle services to Provincetown. Family owned and operated for over 45 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Top Mast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Mast Hotel North Truro
Top Mast North Truro
Top Mast Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing