We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect but what is perfection anyways...”
Review of Top Mast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Top Mast Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in North Truro
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal (Quebec)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not perfect but what is perfection anyways...”
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We stayed at the Top Mast during the last week of June 2007, in building 3, room #3201. The temperature was very nice (70-90), but windy during the first two days. We are a family of four and our children are 6 and 8 years old. We were looking for a clean and affordable Motel or Hotel with a pool, and located directly on the beach - when you have young kids, it is a MUST and it really worth the extra money having everything nearby (bathroom, fridge, lunch, toys, pool, etc.).

I went to North Truro many times with my parents when I was much younger… and it seemed again a good choice to spend one week with my family. I first looked at South Yarmouth and Dennis Port but I preferred North Truro mainly because it is less crowded and the Motels and Hotels are not jam packed all together. The Upper-Cape, and especially North Truro, is in my opinion the most charming area of Cape Code, and it is very close to Provincetown, the Sand Dunes and many beaches facing the Atlantic or the Cape Code bay. If you are looking for Go-Karts, water and amusement parks it is not the right place…

The water temperature in the bay is a few degrees warmer than on the Atlantic side. When it’s windy, there are a lot of waves and unfortunately tons of seaweeds. If it’s the case, the peoples at Top Mast will groom the beach with a tractor every day. We spent most of our days at the Top Mast beach and pool but we went a few times to Marconi and Race Point beaches, which are great (but don’t forget to bring your lunch).

Here’s my appreciation of the Top Mast Resort.

PROS:
- Cheerful and helping staff.
- Newly renovated units (building 2 and 3). Tiles in the bathroom and kitchen.
- The sound of the ocean all night long! The water and beach couldn’t be closer to your bed.
- Small but very clean bathroom. Excellent water temperature and pressure. Little window but no fan.
- Nice little kitchen. Full fridge with mini-freezer, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, two top stove, new counter top and sink.
- New clean bed sheets. Lots of clean towels every day
- Nice private balcony facing the bay – sliding door with fly screen, two chairs and small table.
- Adequate dinning table for two + two children (but only two chairs...)
- Excellent daily maid service.
- Free WIFI access around the front desk and when lucky from your room.
- Clean and warm pool, with nice chairs around.
- Rooms are sound-proof and we never heard our neighbours.
- Restaurant: good service (most of the times), nicely decorated, fair price, great quality and portion size.
- Ice cube machine (free) on the side of each building.
- Bus in front of the hotel every 30 minutes to Provincetown (1$).
- Amusing floating desk in the water.

CONS:
- Only a shower in the bathroom (no bathtub).
- No separate sitting area. There is no sofa. You choices are either the beds or the dinning chairs.
- Only two chairs in the room, but if you ask the front desk they will bring some additional folding chairs.
- No alarm clock or phone in the room.
- No peephole or chain locks on the door.
- No hair dryer, no ironing board and steaming iron.
- No fan in the bathroom or over the stove top.
- No air conditioning (but you get the Cape Code bay wind when available).
- Adequate TV, but without RCA, S-Video entries. Only coaxial. If you plan to bring your DVD player, don’t forget an adapter (or 30$ at Ace in P-Town).
- The two double beds are adequate, but not really comfortable. The mattress are really too thin (or medium quality), even for me at 170 pounds…
- No recycling on site. We are in 2008... If it’s the case, there is no container in the room or visible container around the building.
- Beach: lots of seaweeds when it’s windy… The sand is not as nice as the one found on the beaches on the Atlantic side (Marconi and Race Point). But, they do groom the beach every day.

Overall, there are no major cons. We really enjoyed our stay at the Top Mast. It was money well spend. We will surely return to North Truro next year, and most probably to the Top Mast.

I think they are working on a new inside swimming pool and some other improvements. If they could look at my cons, they would find a few simple and cheap ones to do in the meantime… :-)

You could also consider going to their next door neighbour: The Horizons Beach. I visited a room and they are a little bigger, with a (small) separate sitting area, a sofa and a bigger dining table (with four chairs). There is a combo bathtub-shower in every unit. They also have a pool, but the beach was not groomed every day… It is also a couple hundred dollar more for thee week.

Long live the Top Mast.

  • Liked — The location and the staff
  • Disliked — The beds and no bathtub
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Rond-de-Buche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    84
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
134
118
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2007

My wife and 12 year old daughter stayed in one of the property's new "cottages" across the street from the ocean for a week during the high season.

I know from reading the reviews of this property that there are a lot of loyal repeat visitors to Top Mast, and while that's a credit to the management, I have to say I did not have the kind of experience that would merit an annual pilgrimage.

What is wonderful about the Top Mast is the location. Right along the shore road in North Truro. Being able to walk out of your room and go to the beach is a wonderful thing and one of the main attractions of a Cape Cod visit. It's also within a short drive to P-town, and you can take the local shuttle bus which stops just outside the property. They have many rooms which face directly out to the water (bay side), and I can imagine that it's worth the stay for that alone.

What is less impressive is that, for a cottage with this wonderful location, we expected more comfortable accommodations. Since everything was relatively new, it was hard to fathom why the management chose to equip the bedrooms with tiny, thin, uncomfortable mattresses on the beds. My wife and I could barely lay side by side on the bed, and it had the relative comfort level of an army cot. At $1600/week, and our only yearly getaway, we frankly expected more.

In addition, many of the reviewers raved about the personal service they experienced. I have to say that while nobody was UNfriendly, no one went out of their way to help us either. It was merely average. That's not a knock so much as a puzzlement as to what we seem to have missed.

The property itself, if we're being completely truthful, is a roadside motel. It happens to be a roadside motel in a wonderful location, and it seems fairly well maintained, but clearly the attitude towards the level of accommodation is one of providing the minimum - not only in terms of what facilities come with the room, but the minimum quality of the investment into the actual accommodations. There's nothing particularly wrong with that, but neither is it great, outstanding, or meriting the kind of raves and fealty that some of the other reviewers seemed to provide.

Nonetheless, for the location alone, I could certainly recommend the Top Mast to an informed, prepared traveler. As long as their expectations for the property are not too high, they'll have a decent stay in a wonderful location.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The comfort and quality of the accommodations
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank H.N.Cold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell,CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2006

We have stayed at the Top Mast before, and had such a great experience that every time we go to the Cape, we stay there.
Al (owner) is a great guy and always makes you feel welcome.
The rooms are efficiencies which are great having the little kitchen when you are on vacation...no more coolers! The rooms are very clean, and the staff is very friendly and accomodating.
But, my favorite thing...most rooms are right on the beach!!!!
There is something about waking up to the sound of the waves crashing on shore!!! I love this place!!!

  • Liked — Right on beach
  • Disliked — little pricey
  • Tips/Secrets — request a waterfront room
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ljocef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous getaway in cape cod. We stayed at the top mast and we did not regret it. We stayed in the newly renovated 3rd building which had a fabulous view of the cape cod bay and provinctown. The small but relatively private porch off of our room allowed for the best view around. It was a little cold and windy until our last day but sitting out on the beach at the top mast in October was close to heaven. The birds, water and views were hard to leave. We would definetly come back and stay in this very clean, modest hotel on the bay. Having a fridge and coffee maker makes for great mornings with a view. Only has double beds which we are hoping will change eventually. No AC in summer so don't know if that becomes an issue in July and August.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — double beds with some type of plastic on them
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank emhjsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island,ny
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2006

My husband, 21 month old son and I stayed at the Top Mast from Sept 18-21. This place is more of a motel than a resort. The room was very clean, and it was great to have the beach as our backyard for a few days. The sliding doors opened up to a mini-deck and the ocean was like 30 feet away. It was nice to have a mini kitchen with a full fridge too.
The only major qualms we had were that the bathroom was tiny with only a stall shower-the kind you find on some cruise ships with a curtain that sticks to you as you try to get clean. We wish we knew there was no bathtub because we would have chosen a different place to stay. As most people know, you can't bathe a toddler in a stall shower. IT was torture for him-the poor thing screamed the whole time. Another thing is that the room didn't have any air-conditioning. On one night there must have been a low tide because I was awakened by the most putrid smell in the world since the windows were open to get some air circulating in the room. There was also no phone or alarm clock in the room which is strange nowadays for modern hotels.
The location of Top Mast is great-its only a few minutes into Provincetown. We had a few meals there and they were great-at Napi's and Bubala's. All in all, we probably wouldn't return to the Top MAst resort.

  • Liked — the beach and view
  • Disliked — the uncomfortable beds,tiny bathroom without a tub and lack of air conditioning
  • Tips/Secrets — bring a phone and dont bring small kids
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank starjules76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2006

My husband and I traveled to P-town for the first time in many years. We wanted to stay at a place on the beach, didn't have to be fancy, but did have to be clean. We happened upon TopMast and it turned out to be exactly what we were looking for. The young woman at the check in was more than friendly and helpful. We took a 2nd floor room on the beach, beautiful breeze all day and all night, and the most spectacular sunset over the P-town monument... and the price wasn't bad either. Only a 10 minute drive into P-town or by the shuttle which stopped just outside the door and was only $1 each way.. went all the way out to Race Point so was not only convenient but was a tour. We only had breakfast at Noreen's... it was great. The best pecan waffles ever! Next time we head to P-town, we will go directly to TopMast. Thanks for a great mini-vacation!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank paulamos101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2006

TopMast is a little slice of heaven. It is family-friendly, clean and homey with a private beach at your fingertips on one side and a pool on the other. The efficiencies are stocked with everything you need and the staff provides extra little touches such as towels being folded into seashell shapes and an extra small basin for those sandy feet. There are picnic tables and barbeque stands set up in front of the units.The beach is lit up at night so you can enjoy looking out as you sip your cocktails on the deck or watch a game of catch in the evening after the most glorious sunsets over Provincetown. We have been coming here for the past 20 years and this place has become home away from home for us. We highly recommend it.

Helpful?
15 Thank 365martaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Truro
2.9 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,001 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
Sandbars on Cape Cod Bay
#3 of 11 in North Truro
185 reviews
3.4 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
236 reviews
1.8 mi away
East Harbour
East Harbour
#10 of 11 in North Truro
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Mast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Mast Resort

Property: Top Mast Resort
Address: P.O. Box 44, 209 Shore Road, North Truro, MA 02652-0044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > North Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in North Truro
#1 On the Beach Hotel in North Truro
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Top Mast Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top Mast Resort is nestled on 750 feet of private, groomed beach overlooking Cape Cod Bay and located only minutes from nearby towns of Provincetown and Wellfleet. Accommodations include; garden view units, beachfront units with or without kitchens, 2 bedroom cottages, a 3 bedroom beach house, and a trio of 4 bedroom shore houses. Enjoy our indoor health complex complete with a large, heated pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna, weight room, kiddie pool and slide, kid smoothies, frozen drinks, beer, wine, snacks, soda and an outdoor sun deck area with an evening fire pit. outdoor tennis/basketball court area and ping pong and corn hole on the lawn. Also located on site is our cafe which serves breakfast every day and dinner on Fridays, with seasonal outdoor patio dining by our large koi fish pond and water feature. Free WI-FI in every room and in various locations through out the property. Shuttle services to Provincetown. Family owned and operated for over 45 years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Top Mast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Mast Hotel North Truro
Top Mast North Truro
Top Mast Resort North Truro, MA, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing