We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great biking”

Norwottuck Rail Trail
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ten-mile bike path on the old tracks of the Boston and Maine railroad.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great biking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We bike 25 miles on these connecting trails. Made for a great memorial day outing. The bridge over the river is so cool!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CMiche47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    28
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northampton, MA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“I use it all the time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Many parts of the trail are beautiful and there are paths leading off to explore. I use it for exercise, running and biking, and for getting to other places. People on the path are pleasant, often exchanging greetings. I suspect that is because they are happier than people on the regular streets, just because they are on the bike path.

The ride from Northampton to Easthampton is especially recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank zjemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“biking in my own back yard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beautiful, recently repaved bike trail. Many miles along Connecticut river, through farmland, many New England towns and small cities.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sallie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great rail trail for a bike ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

The trail passes thru farms, college campuses, restaurants, malls, beaver ponds and just great scenery of the mountain ranges in Hadley as well. If you want to take a break Maple Farm Foods at the intersection of rt 116 is a great place to stop for lunch or ice cream, The market has outdoor and indoor seating as well as bike racks. A great place for a nice quick snack or a full lunch. The bridge over the CT river is currently closed, you can go around this bridge by using RT 9 and get to the other part of the trail but RT 9 is a very busy road. Enjoy your bike ride!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, MA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Norwottuck Trail is a nice ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We rode the Amherst Connector from UMass to the Norwottuck Rail Trail (about 1.5 miles), then the Norwottuck Trail west to the Connecticut River (about 7 miles), then back again. It's a really nice ride. You are never far from civilization, and you do see buildings and roads, but you also pass by many farms and fields, a golf course, wetlands, etc. Very nice views of the Holyoke Range in some sections of the trail. It's nicely shaded, and this time of year it was really nice with the foliage colors. Some posters have mentioned the bumps in the trail. It's true that there are some bumps. They are highlighted with red paint, but it was hard to see that today with all the leaves on the pavement. However, the bumps really aren't that bad. We had no problem with them. And the last few miles towards the river are newly paved and perfectly smooth. The only negative is that the long RR bridge across the Connecticut River is blocked off, so you have to detour across the auto bridge. There is a sidewalk, but it is still unnerving with the cars flying by. Once you get across the river, you can get back on the bike trail and continue west (though we didn't do this part, we turned around and went back). There is a dock on the west side of the river that is a nice spot to take a break. I'm not sure why the bridge is blocked off. It looks fine, but there must be some work being done on it. Also, I'm not sure how wide this bike path is. It seems that it might be a little narrower than some others that we've been on. It is wide enough for travel in both directions, though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Norwottuck Rail Trail also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Norwottuck Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing