We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD”

Sakura Asian Buffet
Ranked #105 of 142 Restaurants in Northampton
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BAD”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Just awful! My boyfriend and I went there three days ago, to try something new & we BOTH got food poisoning!! The food was not even worth the 24-hour pain we had to go through!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mgburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing food, selection, and price”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I went to this buffet tonight and was very impressed. There is so much selection- enough to be a full Chinese food buffet, as well as the sushi buffet. The sushi was particularly impressive. Unlike normal sushi buffets they pieces on the buffet were very elaborate and delicious (particularly the lobster sushi)- just what you would pay a lot of money for separately. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Just to note I went for Friday night dinner- it could be different on another day or for lunch.

I also found they were constantly stocking the buffet, unlike what some other people had said.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miller20817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The reviews here and elsewhere were generally good-3 to 4 stars, but my experience on a Sunday night ($10.99) was no more than 3 stars and that was based on the sushi. The Chinese hot foods were disappointing. Where's the beef? Minimal beef dishes. Fried chicken was good, everything else was so-so. Chicken teriyaki was really black pepper chicken. Few veggies, but they did have a bean sprouts offering which is rare; it was good. Sushi selection was very good including eel, tempura and salmon skin. All items tasted were fresh, and constantly being replenished. I ate some fried chicken nuggets before they were poured into the General Tso sauce--very good. Service attentive and pleasant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerryPatetik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go during busy hours for fresher food!”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I've been here twice. The first time I went was just during a slow middle of the afternoon. The food was fine, although it seems that to combat possibly drying out the food their heat lamps are on a really low setting and they really do nothing to keep the food up to temp. None of the food was cold, exactly, but I would bet that the chicken was not at the proper holding temperature. Also, lukewarm food is not delicious. The second time I went was around dinner time and because they were busy they seemed to be refilling the food a lot, so it was all hot and good. My only other complaint is that they just can't seem to get their scallion pancakes right. Both times I went they were undercooked and doughy in the middle. The first times they were WAY undercooked AND burnt...which is tricky, but the second time they weren't quite as bad.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmarie426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent experience every time I've eaten there”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I have probably been to Sakura eight times now and have had a great experience each time. It is an excellent value (the $9.99 lunch price for adults has now been extended all day; kids are $4.99) and the buffet is quite extensive, both in terms of the sushi offerings and other menu items. The menu includes soups, dumplings, and a variety of vegetable and meat dishes, and I have enjoyed almost every thing I have tried their. I recommend it highly for people who like sushi and asian food, as well as for families with kids. Even my picky eater children has found food they liked there and the soft serve ice cream and other dessert offerings are always a bit hit.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kidfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Asian Buffet also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Sakura Asian Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing