We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hot fudge EVER”

Herrell's Ice Cream & Bakery
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: American
Description: Award Winning Ice Cream Shop and Bakery, specializing in dairy and No-Moo dairy free baked goods (Vegan and Gluten Free), frozen desserts and hot fudge sauces. No-Moo Cookies, Pies and Cakes, Ice Cream Cakes, Gourmet Dairy Ice Creams available in house, online and wholesale. 370+ flavors of frozen desserts and still counting! And Kosher!
Restaurant details
Description: Award Winning Ice Cream Shop and Bakery, specializing in dairy and No-Moo dairy free baked goods (Vegan and Gluten Free), frozen desserts and hot fudge sauces. No-Moo Cookies, Pies and Cakes, Ice Cream Cakes, Gourmet Dairy Ice Creams available in house, online and wholesale. 370+ flavors of frozen desserts and still counting! And Kosher!
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Hot fudge EVER”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The flavors are to die for, the hot fudge is AMAZING! Be sure to grab an extra jar to take home. Every time we visit family in Northampton we make a point of always stopping at Herrell's.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinCoccagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    50
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“T H E B E ST”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Simply the best: Ice cream that is iced cream, not powdered dairy product..Flavors that are from nature, not chemists' beakers. Hot fudge direct from God.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abobharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udon Thani
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Most Famous Ice-Cream in Western MA”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is the most famous Ice-Cream shop in Western MA. The backstory is the founder was an innovator of Ice-Creams since the early 1970’s. He came up with a way to create air-tight rich ice-cream that was unlike the competitors. The shop also featured the ability to mix in candy choices into the ice cream instead of the usual standard already made flavors like Chocolate Chip. That same setup is still available as an option today. While this sounds standard, who knows maybe if he wasn’t such a cool guy, ice cream shops around the world would owe him royalties. The photos you can see in the place paint the picture that he is not that kind of guy.

As for my actual review, we went to North Hampton to eat Osaka’s Japanese food in December 2013 on a cold snowy winter day. On the way out I asked my daughter, do you want Ice-Cream? As this place right across the street. She said no. Well I’m diabetic and can’t eat too much of this stuff but it had been years and I sure as heck wanted a taste. School had been released early that day and she was going sledding but then cancelled last minute because it was too cold. I said “you should buy it just so you can post on Facebook that you skipped sledding because it was too cold and went and ate ice-cream instead”. She laughed but I was like no I’m serious, that is so something I would do only for that exact reason. She agreed and I was happy that she did.

The young lady at the counter (who is the one shown on their facebook cover photo at the time I’m reviewing now) was absolutely great! She was friendly, smiled while taking the order and made small chat. My daughter and her friend got the traditional ice-cream this shop is famous for with their candy selections. I had a few bites and ordered a bakery dish. I also purchased apple pie and a brownie to bring back to family not with us, who ate them and said they were delicious.

This place is designed like a 60’s cafe in some ways. Friendly counter person, nice booth, and just the overall design that is best seen looking at their photos. Unfortunately I didn’t take any to post but they have a website, are on facebook etc. Again this shop is very famous, they even have a Wikipedia entry about them. Now 20-years since I first discovered this shop, and it has been around much longer than that, this place is still tops.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best ice cream sundae I can remember”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This would be an amazing place even if they didn't provide a free ice cream sundae by request on your birthday. I agree with others who proclaim this the best hot fudge around--really outstanding! But despite years of visiting Herrell's on and off over the years, I was blown away when I arrived during maple sugar season and selected maple chocolate chip ice cream with that fabulous hot fudge and maple whipped cream, all made with local maple syrup. Very memorable. all ice creqams are house-made, with a terrific assortment of flavors, changing regularly. Not to be missed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank btayavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The ice cream here is the best i have ever tasted, and the homemade hot fudge is to die for! With flavors like "More Cookies than Creme", "Party time" and "Brown Cow" the ice cream is hand mixed with cookies, cake and anything you can imagine. Basics are good to, but who wants plain chocolate when you can have "Mud Pie"? Really, I go as often as i can.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olivialeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Herrell's Ice Cream & Bakery also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Herrell's Ice Cream & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing