We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Northampton
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Hadley)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
135
163
86
37
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
163
86
37
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswiggins taverncontinental breakfastcocktail hourcoolidge parksmith collegeiron horsenew englandclassic hotelroom blockhotel is greatwedding guestswedding weekendbeautiful historic hotelking streetpark your caran older hotelgranola
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Walking distance to Smith 10 minutes, near main shopping street, Wiggins Tavern (brought to this site from New Hampshire years ago) a charming dining experience, comfortable rooms of the period (1920s-50s) tho smaller than a newer hotel. Courteous staff. Ample parking behind hotel in a town that's car-choked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back parking lot, quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

As with the other reviewers I agree that you cannot beat the location, center of Northampton and within walking distance of many restaurants and Thornes Market. The rooms was tastefully decorated and very clean. One drawback, our room was on the first floor with no view except the walkway just outside our windows. We had to keep them closed the entire time we were there which gave the room kind of a close atmosphere. Also, be aware that this is a popular spot for weddings and although they have on-site parking this can be a challenge when guests arrive for the function. You also have to contend with the comings and goings of partiers at all times during the night. This did not detract that much from our overal experience and we would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to visit Northampton or the region in general. My wife had the complimentary continental breakfast and she said it was fine. The standard juice, coffee and various muffins. They do have a Brunch and they recommend making a reservation as it is quite popular.

Room Tip: Keep off the first floor and try to get a room with a view of the park.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Celebrated our 4th Anniversary by taking in a Romantic Winter Getaway Weekend at the Hotel Northampton. The hotel offered a package that included dinner at the Wiggins Tavern and Sunday Brunch at the Tavern - AWESOME! From start to finish we enjoyed a very helpful and friendly staff. The room was spacious, cozy, and private. If we had to make any type of suggestion or wish list - we would have loved if the room had a small frig - but again no big deal at all. The hotel offered also offered free wifi and ample safe and secure parking. Close to everything! We would highly recommend this beautiful hotel to couples for a really romantic setting. Cannot say enough! Be sure to call the hotel directly to see if they are offering any packages! Enjoy!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is in the center of town and beautiful with an elegant old hotel feel. The staff were remarkably courteous and helpful. We had our wedding, reception, and rehearsal dinner at the hotel. All our guests kept commenting on how beautiful and the hotel was. The food was excellent at Coolidge Café, Wiggens Tavern, and at our reception. Everything for the wedding was wonderfully prepared and the attention to detail was clear. We are so happy we chose the Hotel Northampton for such a special weekend with our family and friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed on Thanksgiving evening after visiting some friends in a nearby town. We don't live too far away from MA so we've been to the town and seen the hotel many times, and I'd always been curious about what it was like - from the outside, the wonderful bar and dining room always gives off such a warm sense of atmosphere. We were excited to finally stay there.

Our reception and check in was friendly and fast, and given the crowds that were there for Thanksgiving dinner, I was impressed at how calm the environment felt. We did not eat at the hotel but I was impressed at the many options, and the bar really is a very inviting place to sit and have a drink! I think the public area on the main lobby floor is very beautiful and bright.

Our room was small but perfectly clean and serviceable. There was plenty of spaces to put luggage and items. I was bummed that there were no outlets available outside the bathroom where our phones and a laptop could be plugged in - while there was a desk to sit at, I had to unplug something underneath to access one outlet. Maybe the hotel might consider adding a power strip or more outlets?

Our night's sleep was fine; I found the bed very hard but otherwise it was fine; the shower and bath amenities were good, too. Slightly bummed to see that this was one of the places that puts out a $1 bottle of sparkling water and charges the guest $4 (nope, we didn't drink it) - in my opinion, it sort of cheapens the otherwise classic feeling of the establishment.

The wireless internet was free of charge and worked just fine for basic email and such, although the login page mentioned it wasn't meant for higher bandwidth needs (movies, etc.) - but unless staying there for a longer period of time, this seems to be a non-issue.

All in all, it was a good stay and I am glad to have gotten to experience the hotel. Location-wise it's hard to find a better deal in the area - walking distance to everything. I'm not sure if we'll book again next time, or maybe try out some of the B&Bs in the area, but if we did need to stay I'd feel fine about it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GahuGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews