We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Northampton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Hadley)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
135
163
86
37
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
163
86
37
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswiggins taverncontinental breakfastcocktail hourcoolidge parksmith collegeiron horsenew englandclassic hotelroom blockhotel is greatwedding guestswedding weekendbeautiful historic hotelking streetpark your caran older hotelgranola
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
253 - 258 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My wife and I have family in the area and probably stay at the Hotel Northampton 8-10 nights a year. It's a quaint hotel and you cannot beat the location in downtown Northampton (it's also the only game in town really). That said, the location of your room as well as who your neighbors are will really make or break your stay. As others have mentioned, the walls are paper thin so if you have some bozo next door who stays out until 3 am, comes home drunk, and feels like talking to his/her companion for the next hour, you'll hear it. The place is also a wedding factory on weekends. We were once on the 4th floor over the wedding hall and could hear the DJ and music (Bon Jovi "Livin on a Prayer, U2 "With or without you" Yes, we heard it all including the sign along.). This will go on until midnight and then you'll have another hour of guests carrying on out in the street waiting for their rides. There's not much recourse here other than to make sure to ask for a room away from any wedding parties.

Lastly, while I've always thought the staff has been friendly and competent, it would be nice if there was some sort of recognition of repeat guests. Every time we come it's like we've never stayed there before. A simple "welcome back" would do, and maybe a room upgrade once in a while?

Room Tip: If there on the weekend, ask for a room away from any weddings.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank err5840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Yesterday we went to the Northampton Hotel for the Sunday Brunch. WOW!!! The food was excellent; the presentation and layout of the brunch was fantastic; and the cook who was incharge of the carving station/omlet station/and waffels should be identified as GREAT!! The prime rib was the best I have had in months; the best taste and cooked to perfection!!! We met the head Chef and complemented him, but all the staff in the kitchen should be complimented!!!
(p.s. the Orange Juice was very refreshing and tasted like real oranges!)

The atmosphere of both the main room and the tavern was a WOW!!! The wait staff made certain that all our needs were addressed. The COST was below what I expected.

We traveled from Buffalo, NY and I will come back for this great experience (also to visit our daughter and son-in-law).

Thank you to Hotel Northampton and their culinary staff!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixonbuffalo_gmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Walking distance to Smith 10 minutes, near main shopping street, Wiggins Tavern (brought to this site from New Hampshire years ago) a charming dining experience, comfortable rooms of the period (1920s-50s) tho smaller than a newer hotel. Courteous staff. Ample parking behind hotel in a town that's car-choked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back parking lot, quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

As with the other reviewers I agree that you cannot beat the location, center of Northampton and within walking distance of many restaurants and Thornes Market. The rooms was tastefully decorated and very clean. One drawback, our room was on the first floor with no view except the walkway just outside our windows. We had to keep them closed the entire time we were there which gave the room kind of a close atmosphere. Also, be aware that this is a popular spot for weddings and although they have on-site parking this can be a challenge when guests arrive for the function. You also have to contend with the comings and goings of partiers at all times during the night. This did not detract that much from our overal experience and we would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to visit Northampton or the region in general. My wife had the complimentary continental breakfast and she said it was fine. The standard juice, coffee and various muffins. They do have a Brunch and they recommend making a reservation as it is quite popular.

Room Tip: Keep off the first floor and try to get a room with a view of the park.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Celebrated our 4th Anniversary by taking in a Romantic Winter Getaway Weekend at the Hotel Northampton. The hotel offered a package that included dinner at the Wiggins Tavern and Sunday Brunch at the Tavern - AWESOME! From start to finish we enjoyed a very helpful and friendly staff. The room was spacious, cozy, and private. If we had to make any type of suggestion or wish list - we would have loved if the room had a small frig - but again no big deal at all. The hotel offered also offered free wifi and ample safe and secure parking. Close to everything! We would highly recommend this beautiful hotel to couples for a really romantic setting. Cannot say enough! Be sure to call the hotel directly to see if they are offering any packages! Enjoy!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews