We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and very clean place to stay”
Review of Autumn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Autumn Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Northampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Having read all the reviews for Northampton lodging, you quickly realize there is very little choice! I read everything carefully and decided on the Autumn Inn. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. It may be a little dated, but it was incredibly comfortable. The room upstairs was large and incredibly clean (one of the cleanest bathrooms I have come across) and the beds were comfortable. The fireplace is lovely and I thought it worked very well for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms seem a little nicer than the motel-style rooms
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazzadownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Autumn Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

You are paying for the location. As long as you know that and don't have high expectations, you'll be fine. It is very close to Smith College. I got a deal on Hotwire or Priceline, which at least helped to offset the costs a bit.

Everything here was so ridiculously out of date (furniture, decor, etc.) but not in a quaint way. I could hear every single step someone took above me. Also there was unreliable bluestreak wifi in the room. At least it was clean and had inexpensive vending machines. It was a tolerable night's sleep, but that's about it.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
Thank bostonian75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The lobby with its fireplace is cozy, the rest of the property rather like a small hotel. But clean and friendly, surrounded by high trees. Almost can't hear the street located on the side. Good choice for a quick overnight stay. Northhampton itself is fun, it has a lot to offer for a village that size!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank max_weber1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I wanted to like this hotel since it was the most affordable in the five college area. There is an odor to the room and front lobby that is overwhelming, changing rooms did not help. The front desk staff was very helpful in allowing the switch. The walls are paper thin, a huge gap in the door allowing light and air in.

One other tip -- there is a $1.50 security charge automatically added to the bill for use of the safe in the room. You have to request to have it taken off AT check-out. While $1.50 is not much money, I do not trust any business that hides fees, do the math on how much this could come to a year for the business..

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MQS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This very pleasant hotel is a short drive up the road from the bustling center of Northampton. And so therefore it was a lovely, quiet haven. Our room with 2 full-size beds was very comfortable; lovely to have down pillows, and a nice firm mattress. The place had every amenity we could have wanted. Breakfast was very pleasant - not extraordinary or memorable, but a lot of choices and the fun option of making your own waffle at a special waffle table set-up. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us good restaurant recommendations for dinner. Parking was plentiful. A lovely outdoor swimming pool beckoned, but I think the season was over because the gate was locked. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solotraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

While not fancy or completely up-to-date, our stay at the Autumn Inn was comfortable and pleasant. Front desk staff were courteous and helpful, the beds were super comfortable and supplies were adequate. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room. The downstairs rooms were more motel style in that you could park directly...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wdyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Autumn Inn is an older motel built in a colonial-revival style. From the front it looks like a house, a house that someone in the middle of the 20th century imagined looked like something from the colonial period. Inside that structure is colonial-revival furniture and an enormous, colonial-style fireplace in the dining area. I really like that the owners have kept true to the motel's original style.

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. You can't beat the location. The Autumn Inn is less expensive than the over-priced Northampton Inn, and its location near Smith College makes for an easy walk into the heart of downtown Northampton. The surrounding neighborhood is full of lovely homes, so the walk from the Autumn Inn into downtown was really quite nice.

We enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean and serviceable, although comfortable. Other reviews comment on the smell of cigarette smoke, but I didn't detect anything like that. We didn't use the pool, but it looked very nice. Parking was easy and included with the room. We also appreciated the continental breakfast: cereals, toast and bagels, juices, coffee, doughnuts, and self-serve waffles. Basically, the Autumn Inn provided everything we needed for a pleasant stay. Pleasant is definitely how I would sum up the Autumn Inn.

My only big complaint is that housekeeping seemed to have overlooked the cobwebs in the corners at the ceiling. Seeing as the housekeeper was a woman of short stature, I can see how that might have happened. Second to that, the shades did not fully block the sunlight. The curtains did not cover the windows, and I wish the room had come with light-blocking curtains. I slept fine until the sun came up.

If you're looking for a fancy place to stay, go elsewhere. If your needs are basic, you will do well to choose the Autumn Inn. For the price and the location, I will certainly stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citizen_of_Amherst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
187 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
0.8 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Hadley
179 reviews
4.1 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autumn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autumn Inn

Address: 259 Elm St, Northampton, MA 01060-2801
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range: £90 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Autumn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property located at the edge of Smith College campus and within walking distance to downtown Northampton. With its colonial style, charm, and furnishings, the Autumn Inn is the perfect location for rest, relaxation and renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Autumn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autumn Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing