We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm, friendly place”
Review of Autumn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Autumn Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Northampton B&B and Inns
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“warm, friendly place”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed on 2/22/14, went with friends, we were all from out of state. Found the hotel online, great price, a short walking distance from the center of town. Free parking available. Service was friendly, large fireplace in the living room, where you were able to have a seat to enjoy the fire and/or get a hot or cold drink anytime. The rooms were very clean and neat; our room had two double beds; it was very large and had a couch, it was on the corner on the bottom floor, very homey. Hot water, hair dryer, room safe, small fridge, everything you'd want or need. You could easily adjust the temperature in the room with no trouble or alot of noise. Yes the decor and fixtures were dated, but everything worked very well and again was very clean. Continential breakfast, alot of variety, everything looked fresh and there was someone there always restocking. We were really happy with everything. We will stay there again and I would reccomend it.

Room Tip: floor room with double bed on corner was huge and had a couch
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    57
    44
    17
    15
See reviews for
48
34
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Autumn Inn was cozy with a friendly staff to boot. Rooms were larger than your average hotel room. It was close enough to town to walk. Loved the dining room with fireplace.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 531debbieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had a really nice visit meeting up with some family for a long weekend. It's a little place with friendly service. Our room was large and had a safe, although the decor is a little dated. The bathroom fixtures are also a little dated, but perfectly fine. Breakfast was mostly continental, with a lot of variety, but also includes hot waffles. Plenty of parking. My favorite feature is the large fireplace in the dining room. So cozy!

We always visit in the winter but they do have a large pool out back - would be nice in the summer.

The bottom level is motel like. If it's winter, try to get a room upstairs so that it's interior.

The Inn is also less than a mile walk to the center of Northampton. The Inn is also not too far from the highway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The Autumn Inn is a nice and cozy hotel very close to downtown Northampton, Massachusetts. The price is very reasonable. The rooms are clean and offer everything you would need. The dining room has a very comfortable seating area with a huge old hearth. The staff nudge the fire round the clock. Oh yes, the staff - friendly and helpful. I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have stayed at the Autumn Inn several times while visiting family in Northampton. The rooms are clean and quiet. The staff is very accommodating and professional. The staff is also knowledgeable and appreciative of the unique offerings in Northampton.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1longstrangetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was a very nice place to stay especially for the price. The main building has a huge fireplace and places to sit and eat. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was your basic continental breakfast. Close to downtown. Plenty of parking. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen03038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here twice in the last month. The first visit was during the middle of the week, when there were few guests. The second visit was on a Sat. night, when the inn was fairly crowded. I was given the same room on both occasions, a second-floor room with one queen-sized bed, that was accessed via a stairway off the lobby.
Pros: The room and bathroom were very clean on both occasions. The furniture is older and the nightstands had some water rings on them, but that's because they're actual wood, not the usual "polyester" furniture you'd get in a chain motel. The bed was very comfortable, and the heating system was responsive and quiet. The front desk staff and people in the dining room were excellent. The breakfast was nothing fancy but absolutely fine. The all-day fire in the fireplace was wonderful.
Cons: On the second visit, when the inn had a high number of guests, I experienced some of the noise that other reviews have noted. I liked that the doors to the rooms were wooden and didn't close with a heavy metallic bang like those in chain motels, but the plumbing system is indeed loud. Someone took a shower at 1:00 AM and it was indeed loud. I believe that this occurred in the room adjacent to mine, however. On my first visit, I wasn't aware that the rooms next to me were occupied and experienced no noise whatsoever. Finally, for some reason, the internet is slower than dial-up during the evenings, but works just fine in the morning.
Conclusion: In spite of the cons, I would stay here again. Not only is the place clean and friendly, an added plus is that it feels very safe for women traveling alone.

Room Tip: Request a room that is at the end of a corridor, on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachwalker431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Northampton
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
4.1 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
803 reviews
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Autumn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Autumn Inn

Property: Autumn Inn
Address: 259 Elm St, Northampton, MA 01060-2801
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Autumn Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property located at the edge of Smith College campus and within walking distance to downtown Northampton. With its colonial style, charm, and furnishings, the Autumn Inn is the perfect location for rest, relaxation and renewal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Autumn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Autumn Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing