We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it here”

Sugar Maple Trailside Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sugar Maple Trailside Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Northampton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Family has stayed here and it is extremely comfortable and friendly . . . for what it is -- a wonderfully restored home, at a perfect location by the rail-trail, just outside Northampton. Definitely not a full-service hotel if that's what one expects. I do like Marriot's yes, but for a nice-change of pace at a unique location (it's right on the rail trail for an invigorating 10 minute ride to or from downtown Northampton), the Sugar Maple is a special treat.

Craig and Kathy welcomed us like family and attended to our needs while supporting our visit and local explorations. A great way to stay near Northampton, ride bikes and enjoy one's visit to this lovely part of the world.

Room Tip: Just tell Craig and Cathy what you need and give them some notice and they will do their best to acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marriott_Devotee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

This wonderfully restored historic home could double as a musem with railroad maps and memorabilia. Hosts Craig and Kathy were warm and welcoming and highly knowledgeable about things to see and places to go in Northhampton and vicinity. The bedroom and bathroom were impeccably clean, bed comfortable and our breakfast featured local produce. If you're looking for a huge bedroom, you will be disappointed, but the room is cozy and comfortable. I like that the inn offers bikes that can be used to get around on miles of safe and convemnient rail trail. Downtown Northampton offering cool shops and great restaurants is just a couple of miles to the south and other eateries in Florence are a short walk around the corner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This B&B is right next to the first "Rails-to-Trails" path in Massachusetts; the host also works to promote "Rails-to-Trails" development around the US. My room was comfortable, clean and cozy, the breakfast was great, and I could have talked to the hosts all day long! I was only able to stay one night, but I'm looking forward to my next visit, and plan to bring my bike to enjoy cycling opportunities in Northampton. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnDG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The location is perfect if you come to bike. The room was very small and the bathroom needs a thorough cleaning, perhaps a renovations in the shower. Lighting is quite poor up to the second floor, as you cannot turn on a light from the bottom to the top floor. Not really the type of house for a b and b, as one needs to walk through the family room and dining room every time you enter or depart. One of the hosts could not read cues that we simply were not interested in all the intimate details he was willing to share. Breakfasts were perfunctory. If you are a biker, this space in right on the trail. Given the modest accommodations, the price should be significantly reduced.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Twotrainsrunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
railtrail, Owner at Sugar Maple Trailside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

I’m sorry you were disappointed. The floor plan for the house is prominently displayed on the website and the light switches for the staircase are do glow in the dark as an indicator that they are there. We’ll be upgrading though to an automatic sensor system to come on when people are present. Once again, sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

While the room was fine (if a trifle "cozy"), we were disappointed in the lack of anything resembling the usual B&B services and amenities. When we returned from a day in Northampton, the hosts were in their living room awaiting the delivery of the pizza they had ordered for dinner; meanwhile our bed had not been made, and the wet towels had not been removed. There was no shampoo. The bathroom was tiny; barely enough room to move around. The host talked about himself too much, and barely asked about our reasons for visiting the area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lovbbandbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

In the past, I've been disappointed to book a stay at a hospitable-sounding B&B lovingly created by a fascinating individual or couple--only to arrive and discover that individual or couple is rarely (or never) on the premises. Imagine you are invited for a weekend at the White House, only to arrive and learn that the First Family is off at Camp David. It's nice, but... something's missing.

Such is not the case at the Sugar Maple Trailside Inn. Craig and Kathy (you'll soon be on a first-name basis, too) are the Inn and the Inn is Craig and Kathy. With only two guest rooms, a stay at the Inn feels much more like visiting your friends, Craig and Kathy, in their home. Make sure you get them to relate the history of the house and it's restoration. Kathy combines the renovator's vision with the innkeeper's charm. Craig is a font of information on the history of the house; of Florence, Mass (who knew?); of local railroads; and of the conversion of abandoned railroads into bike/ped trails all over New England. If you're into biking, Craig can give you some great suggestions for your next trip.

My wife and I have stayed here on several occasions, in different seasons, over the years and find it a perfect "base camp" for accessing the Pioneer Valley's combination of recreation, culture, dining and history. After tanking up on Kathy's breakfast, we grab our bikes or our boots and explore the ever-expanding network of bike/ped trails in the region. (It's all of 8 feet from the Inn to the trail.) If it rains, there's always some museum, performance or event at one of the nearby Five Colleges to substitute pedagogy for pedaling.

Late afternoon finds us relaxing back at the Inn. In the summer, we gravitate toward the patio; in the fall, to the sun porch; and at night or in the winter to the cozy living room.

While the gustatory charms of Northampton are a scant two miles away and Amherst is not much farther, try to have at least one meal at the nearby (two blocks) Miss Florence Diner. "Miss Flo's" as she is known, is a classic institution that has been slingin' hash at the same location for decades. (Don't miss the pies.)

Now, a couple of caveats: the Inn was built as a house in the 1850s and reflects the smaller scale of that era. As other reviewers have noted, the guest rooms are not huge. One person's "cozy" could well be another person's "cramped." Since my wife and I do little more than sleep and shower in the guest rooms, it's never been an issue for us. Second, since Smith College is quite close, the Inn is often sold out. If your stay is in conjunction with some event at Smith, book well in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Evoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

The bedrooms are really small. The queen bed has a mattress pad that has a plastic backing. I took it off because of the noise it made and discovered it was not very clean and had hair all over it. Bad lighting in Queen bedrom. The baths were redone in 2001 but have a very unclean feeling in stall shower. The bathroom rug hadn't been washed in a while.
The owner Craig is overbearing and actually took my bagel from my plate to cut it and place it in the toaster. I don't like people touching my food. He talks too much.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ckgirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
2.2 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 4 in Northampton
456 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 4 in Northampton
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
893 reviews
5.4 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
925 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Maple Trailside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Maple Trailside Inn

Address: 62 Chestnut St, Northampton, MA 01062-1405
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Northampton
Price Range: £43 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Maple Trailside Inn, a bed and breakfast near Smith College approximately 2 miles west of downtown Northampton. Renovated to offer modern comforts, our two air-conditioned guest rooms feature, private bathrooms with showers, quiet surroundings, antique furnishings, large closets, and pleasant views of the adjacent bike path. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing