We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and tasty, if quirky”

Great Wall Restaurant
Ranked #82 of 145 Restaurants in Northampton
Restaurant details
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and tasty, if quirky”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Warm, hearty dishes! Strange atmosphere but wonderful service. Don't be fooled by the awkward strip-mall location; you'll have a delicious homestyle meal here. Great for sharing and for Chinese New Year!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    7
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, MA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We have been going to Great Wall for years and enjoy their food. We order off the smaller white menu and have not been disappointed. The vegetables are fresh from farms in the surrounding area and are not overcooked. The sauces are delicious and not overly sweet. Although they are located in a strip mall, do not miss this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montdur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western mass
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Turned from Great to Awful”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We hadn't been to this restaurant in some time and what a huge disappointment this latest visit was! The food was bordering on inedible. We ordered a specialty soup which we had had here before and it was just delicious then. This time, there was no resemblance to its former glory and the bowl of grey tasteless water with tasteless ingredients presented to us this time. We did not eat it, and, although we complained to the server, asking him to inform the management, there was no appearance by the management, no apology, no "would you like something else?", nothing. We were, of couse, charged the outrageous price of $8.95 for this upappetizing, inedible dish. In addition, we found the young men who were serving to be unkempt and "unappetizing," fitting in with the unappetizing ambience of the entire restaurant. We will not return .... we miss the old Great Wall which served up wonderful dishes beautifully served. Don't bother going there now... waste of time and money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Urther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mostly mediocre”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

The Great Wall is walking distance from our house so I was delighted when it first opened. However, the quality of both the food and the service is very inconsistent. I've had a few good meals but several mediocre ones, and at least one meal that was dreadful. Some of my friends have had better luck and like to go there, but others, like me, have been disappointed often enough that we will not go back again. Perhaps the worst experience was when I ordered "amazing chicken" for take-out and when I got home I found that the dish contained one -- yes, 1 -- slice of chicken floating in a pool of oily liquid. I wish I could recommend this restaurant but, if you want decent Chinese food in Northampton, go to Teapot, not to the Great Wall.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Steffi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food overwhelms atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Like others I was suspicious of the strip mall location, but in an area filled with great Asian cuisine, this is a standout. Check the special menu for authentic dishes not found in standard American Chinese restaurants. My 7 year old loves stuffed tofu and bok choy. Dim sum on weekends!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrvineNoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Wall Restaurant also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Great Wall Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing