We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place to visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Northampton

Historic Northampton
Ranked #4 of 26 things to do in Northampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Haven, ct
Level Contributor
152 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“nice place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Been going to Northampton for YEARS. The diversity there is great and there is a homey feel to this city. Thornes 'mall', is a place i always like to stop at and poke around in. Sometimes you can find some trendy things in there. FACES is one of my all time fave stores...lots to look at in there for sure! There are also SEVERAL restaurants, sweet shops, and coffee shops throughout this entire city. That being said, it isnt quite like the way it was when i first started going there in the 90's. Lots of stores have closed down, they removed all the park benches on the streets so there is nowhere to sit, street performers have left because there is nowhere for anyone to sit and listen anymore....a shame.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    30
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lively Saturday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

A group of dancers were performing in front of a Main St. church and the audience joined in. Faces is the most amazing an fun store. Herrell's for ice cream is a favorite. And the shop "Oh My" has very helpful staff. Also, the farmers' market introduced us to 2 delicious new foods--ground cherries and lion' s mane mushroom.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyXV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“happy town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

this is a real find on my historical research in the us. i have been met by some of the kindest people the is,mellow,polite people who are relaxed and helpful. i cannot recommend the town enough.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonTourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A quirky and interesting town with a big heart.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

All I am going to say is explore and enjoy for round every corner there will be a wonderful surprise that you will enjoy. No multiple department stores here, just little shops packed with all sorts of interesting and local products in many cases.
Just go and fall in love with Northampton.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank The Ferengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It is Unique & Has Great Shops & more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

It has so many restaurants to choose from. you can have a diverse amount of foods here. The shops are so unique & one of a kind. I like "Faces" personally. I also like Deals & Steals for cheaper than your average grocery store for spices, teas, coffees, coconut water, etc. There is always an entertainer or a few on the streets. Quite talented at that. Thornes Market is a great place. On Tuesdays there is a Farmer's market from 1pm to 6pm with organic foods. On Friday nights there is a concert in Pulaski Park for free, it's from 6pm to until 8pm. The sidewalk sales that last a week are the best! They are in the 3rd week of July. There are so many pubs although I don't drink. The Acadmey of Music charges a small fee for broadway type shows. Calvin theater has some great venues. Hungry Ghost for bread is awesome it's located on State Street. It's a small city filled with shops, galleries, pubs, places to dine, farmer's markets. It is a unique experience going in & out of the shops. It's not far to walk up one side of Main St down the next & also the side streets offer a diverse experience as well. One thing to point out is the panhandlers that take up a full bench with signs. I ignore them.. Up the hwy on exit 24 is the Yankee Candle you can spend 2 days in. Down the road from that is Magic Wings ( I found a bit pricey for a small conservatory) but loved it The community gardens located about 1 mile from downtown is a great place to walk around, there was a rare butterfly spotted there last summer. It's quite relaxing & sometimes you will find a lovely gardener to cut you some cross bred flowers to take home. There is so much history in Northampton alone. You can go to the spray park at Look Park to cool off. It is simply historical, unique, & charming.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Stormy013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Northampton also viewed

Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Northampton, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 

Been to Historic Northampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing