We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot close to Smith” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Woods Hole
Level Contributor
218 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great spot close to Smith”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Aug 16, 2013 we stayed 2 nights with one daughter to attend graduation of other daughter at Smith. This was our first here and turned out to be as good as a Hampton Inn in terms of the beds, linens, bathroom fixtures, shower etc and breakfast. In fact it is a motel version of a Hampton Inn Hotel. It is convenient for parking, distance to the campus and eateries. It is by itself so you have to drive to eat but this is a lot cheaper than the intown hotel. The staff are terrific, eager to be helpful and well trained. No highway noise but it is very near route 91 (2 tenths of a mile).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    65
    49
    12
    13
See reviews for
56
45
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

At this hotel I felt like staying in a motel, where you park right in front of the room doors and people walk past your room window. This was kind of disappointing considering the rates of this hotel. Well, the room I had (on the second floor) was a bit run-down and felt like it needs some renovation somehow. The coffee machine wasn't working after I checked in which fit into this picture, but that was taken care of the next day while I was not there. The swimming pool is really a joke. One stroke and you're through. The same goes for the "fitness room". I think these are just alibis so that the hotel can say "we have a pool and fitness room". Both are way too small to be really useful and the three (or was it four?) fitness devices were totally outdated and not good. When I saw this I thought that this money should rather have been spent to beautify the rooms. Breakfast on the other hand was really good, with a modest selection of food, and staff was very friendly and welcoming. All in all however, also in light of the rates of this hotel and the feeling that I had just checked in a motel on the road, I found this hotel only average. For one or two nights it is OK but I didn't want to stay longer and actually moved to a different hotel in Amherst. I was here on leisure to visit different places in the area. Had lived here 20 years ago.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank einstein009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel desperately needs a makeover. The front desk staff was friendly and our room was clean, but the place feels tired and neglected. The faucets and fixtures in our bathroom had come detached, the room smelled musty, and the halls and hotel exterior look like they haven't been repaired in some time. Not a terrible place, but not worth the price I paid ($135/night) -- although it was one of the cheaper options in the area during the time of my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoulderDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed in the 3-story part of the hotel with interior corridors. Our twin queen room for 2 adults & 2 kids was perfectly comfortable and nicely appointed. Everything seemed clean and well-kept, and the empty fridge and mini-kitchen area was appreciated. There's nothing particularly special about the property, except that it's reasonably quiet and convenient. The free breakfast is typical chain motel fare - hard boiled eggs, waffles, baked goods, sausage & eggs, juice & coffee. It was a great jumping-off point to explore Northampton and Amherst.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloPundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed at this property based solely on the recent TripAdvisor review and ratings, I wish I would have done a bit more research into other options. I paid $159.00, definitely not worth anywhere near that rate.

The front desk staff was nice, good people working here but sadly the rooms are not up to par. I had too large insects living in the bathroom on the ceiling, wall paper was separating off the wall on one wall yet brand new wall paper on another. The room had a odd and foul stench to it. The pillows were decent but the mattress was very cheap and you sank right into them. This is a very old hotel that has had a recent going over and if you are a casual traveler who enjoys budget motels you may like this property.

I am business traveler and would never go back, I would check the much newer Hampton Inn in Hadley, one exit up I-91 from Northampton

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalP0ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherryville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This Quality Inn really is one of quality. Room is good sized, and very clean and well appointed. Desk staff was very friendly - she even recommended an excellent Chinese restaurant. Hotel is located very close to the Interstate - but not so close that you hear the traffic. Northampton is a college town, so there are many nice restaurants and shops here, and very close to the hotel. A really great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpfwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Friendly, cooperative staff. Nice clean room. Pool area was also nice and clean. Convenient to the downtown area and DIVA's Night Club. The breakfast was very decent, also.
We were there 3 days and the housekeepers kept our room spotless :) .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank edkingcortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
0.7 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
2.9 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 117 Conz St, Northampton, MA 01060-3883
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites of Northampton, where your comfort is our top priority.The Quality Inn & Suites™ hotel is conveniently located in Northampton's arts and entertainment district. Smith College is less than one mile away, and the University of Massachusetts Amherst (UMass Amherst), Hampshire College and Amherst College are all less than 10 minutes from us. With a short walk to downtown Northampton you will find a wide variety of locally owned and operated restaurants and eclectic shops. Our recently upgraded property offers a wide variety of amenities to please both leisure and business travelers. All registered guests have access to our Indoor Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center, Complimentary Wireless Internet and a delicious Hot Breakfast including Eggs, Sausage, Bacon and Waffles! In addition all of our rooms are equipped with microwave and refrigerators, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards and flat screen televisions. Some of our rooms are also equipped with fireplaces, 2 bathrooms and kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Northampton
Quality Inn Northampton
Best Western Northampton
Northampton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing