We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirt, dirt, everywhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Massachusetts
1 review
“Dirt, dirt, everywhere.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

This hotel was the dirtiest place I've ever stayed. The carpets were stained and filthy, the bathroom smelled when we got there, and it was no better after housekeeping came through. One hinge on our toilet seat was broken, too. Also, because our room was in the same wing as the pool, the hallways and our room smelled of chlorine, and were damp and humid like a sauna. The fire alarm went off twice one morning so we had to wait outside in the parking lot for firemen to come through each hotel room and check the smoke alarms. If I could do it over again, I'd either pay the extra $40-$50 to stay at the Hotel Northampton, or go outside of town to Hadley or Amherst so as to avoid this horrible hotel. STAY ANYWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    65
    51
    13
    13
See reviews for
58
45
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

Made a reservation with mixed emotions. Had seen good and back reviews. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was clean, comfortable and had a microwave and refrig. The continental breakfast was very nice. It included hard boiled eggs which we like and granola bars.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teddyballgame24
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

Hey, it's a Quality Inn so expectations weren't that high to begin with. It was adequate, in a decent location right off the highway, and affordable. we stayed here in August when our friends got marrried in Florence, MA. This place was ok. It was suitable for our needs, someplace to hang your hat after a night of partying. It wasn't the cleanest place, but it wasn't too bad. If you want a 4* hotel your best bet is W.Springfield or Springfield. What do you expect from anaffordable mid level chain hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddyballgame24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

This hostel need a lot renovation and to be clean. The room smell bad and it was noisy.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Northampton hotels

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

The location of this hotel was the main plus, since--unlike most of the "local" hotels in Hadley--this QI is a walkable distance from the heart of NoHo. Started out badly. Got there and the young female clerk typed away on the desk computer, pointedly ignoring us, for a full four minutes. The room smelled musty and I found bits of chips and a crushed water bottle next to the bed. I picked up the bottle and put it in the trash, but the chip bits were still there when we checked out two days later. So cleanliness was not great here, but the room was serviceable and the wireless internet worked well without a lot of fuss. And I guess you could say the chambermaids are honest--but not necessarily bright. I left a five dollar bill on the desk (as a tip) after the first night, and it was still there after the room was "cleaned."

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleBirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

We stayed here while touring colleges and I thought the room was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated and the staff helpful. When I thought the iron wasn't working the manager gave me a new iron with no questions asked (it turned out the first one was fine) - the bed was especially comfy with four soft, really nice pillows. Breakfast was good, especially those waffles which are a big hit with kids and adults alike. I felt like the staff is working hard to make this an attractive place for those visiting Northamptom, and I'm not sure why others had a difference experience!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maranat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to downtown Northampton.
I was immediately dissapointed by how rundown the place was. Very shabby, but I thought it would be okay for one night.
After we checked in and went to our room, the desk clerk called & said someone complained about noise. He thought my 7-year old son was responsible. I said it wasn't us, my son was sitting in a chair playing his Nintendo DS. He said the person complaining was *not* directly below us& the noise probably came from elsewhere. We then went to the pool for 45 minutes. Upon returning the clerk called &said he was getting more complaints. I said we hadn't even been in the room! He agreed again that it was not us making the noise. He called again 1/2 hour later while we were eating dinner. This time he said if we did not stop making noise he would move us. Again I told him my son was eating & sitting quietly in a chair! He said my son was the only child in the hotel, so must be making the noise. Not true! We saw at least 3 other families with kids that night. 15 minutes later he called & insisted we move. We were in pajamas and unpacked! He insisted we pack immediately. He came over and gave us a key. He didn't even help move our bags.
There are several hotels in the area for about the same price. Do yourself a favor and choose another one. The one bright spot at this hotel was a very friendly and knowledgable young woman who works the desk during the day. Unfortunately, she's not enough to make us go back

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattycakes726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
0.7 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 7 in Hadley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
2.9 mi away
D. Hotel & Suites
D. Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Holyoke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 117 Conz St, Northampton, MA 01060-3883
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Northampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Northampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites of Northampton, where your comfort is our top priority.The Quality Inn & Suites™ hotel is conveniently located in Northampton's arts and entertainment district. Smith College is less than one mile away, and the University of Massachusetts Amherst (UMass Amherst), Hampshire College and Amherst College are all less than 10 minutes from us. With a short walk to downtown Northampton you will find a wide variety of locally owned and operated restaurants and eclectic shops. Our recently upgraded property offers a wide variety of amenities to please both leisure and business travelers. All registered guests have access to our Indoor Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center, Complimentary Wireless Internet and a delicious Hot Breakfast including Eggs, Sausage, Bacon and Waffles! In addition all of our rooms are equipped with microwave and refrigerators, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards and flat screen televisions. Some of our rooms are also equipped with fireplaces, 2 bathrooms and kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Northampton
Quality Inn Northampton
Best Western Northampton
Northampton Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing