We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Northfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Beautiful inn with lots of warm, cozy common areas. We had a beautifully furnished bedroom. Hot coffee/tea/cocoa with home made cookies always available. Breakfasts exceptional. Joan very friendly and helpful with good ideas for dining out and activities. It was rather off-season, but we did enjoy touring all the neighboring towns and ended up reading about and seeing a lot of the Mt. Herman/Northfield campuses. Even went off to see the Schell Bridge once we had read about it. Recommend the Inn highly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan33988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

The proprietors Joan and Steve are seasoned B&B professionals. We stayed in the king suite for two nights. Lot of space, huge perfect jacuzzi bath tub. So comfortable, so clean. Excellent ideas for recreation. Cross country ski up to a doable 1000 foot summit on Mount Northfield 4 miles away. I am an espresso drinker perfect one block away cozy bookstore with amazing coffee!! Fire place in the breakfast room while eating home made comfort food breakfast. Small town, quiet, beautifully surrounded by foot hills. We stayed an unexpected extra night simply because it was so awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finny202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Let me begin by saying this was such an unbelievable experience. Joan was the most gracious and welcoming host. Caty, Steve.and Barb were also great and so friendly. At one point, my boyfriend and I, who were celebrating our anniversary, felt like we were right at home. The breakfast is delicious. Joan is so knowledgeable of the history nearby and we sure enjoyed listening all about it! So many activities to do nearby..hiking, museums, wineries! We will definitely return in the summer and look forward to an amazing stay. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Joan and Steve were wonderful hosts who did everything to make us feel welcomed and assist us to get what we wanted from out stay. They were especially helpful with directing us to the best local activities and restaurants, and Steve was a repository of some great local history. Breakfasts were just superb! A real treat and a wonderful respite.
The house is decorated in colonial fashion befitting the period in which it was built. Wallpaper, furniture, wall hangings and misc nick-nacks gave it a nice touch. A romantic setting with a relaxed atmosphere all around.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sturbridge Room. A very nice queen poster bed. It is an older house however, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkw321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed one night and had a wonderful experience. You can't beat the price for the stay. Extremely nice people that care about the property and your stay. The house was in impeccable order. The breakfast was better than advertised. An extremely relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Joan and Steve were friendly and welcoming hosts to this very attractive B&B. Very attentive to our needs and making sure that we were comfortable. Also very knowledgeable regarding the local area and shared local lore.

Breakfasts were delicious both mornings. It was obvious that significant effort went into the preparation ... it was not simple fare, and again it was delicious.

The room was furnished nicely, and the bed quite comfortable.

Overall, a B&B which will be on our list of return destinations.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We recently spent a night at The Centennial House and found it to be a really enjoyable stay. Steve and Joan made us feel really welcome and were happy to stop and chat at length which was great ! The room was atmospheric and had a large comfy bed . Breakfast was a real treat amd the best we had throughout our stay in New England! There is a lot to see and do around the area and we hope to return and would thoroughly recommend anyone to stay .

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road can be slightly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whizzkid_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 94 Main St, Northfield, MA 01360-1022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Northfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Northfield
Price Range: £126 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B with spacious guest rooms and suites at the junction of three states--MA, VT and NH. We are minutes Greenfield, Deerfield, Keene and Brattleboro. Close to schools, colleges and Pioneer Valley attractions to the south, and north. Pillow top beds, cable TV, WiFi and ample country breakfasts in an historic New England village. Enjoy hearth side breakfast in winter, or spectacular views in the Sun Room in warm weather. Relax in a gazebo overlooking distant hills; there's electricity and WiFi out there too so you can use your laptop. Weddings, meetings and other events. Off I-91 and Mohawk Trail, near attractions, hiking the New England Trail, x-c skiing, shopping and fine dining. Open all year. Romantic and family-friendly suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing