We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Windmill Motel(Bernardston)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Econo Lodge(Brattleboro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Greenfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Latchis Hotel(Brattleboro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deerfield Inn(Deerfield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn(Orange)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
97
14
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
14
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bnew englandbaked applestep stoolgracious hostsfour poster bedquichebreakfast was deliciousfresh fruitpopoverslovely homehome friestwo nightswe loved our staynext morningnight stayeach morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2008

I had a great little mini vacation at The Centennial House and out and about in Northfield and surroundings. Thank you for a pleasant stay and for the beautiful and bountiful breakfasts.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank sunkenmeadowresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2008

Several large common rooms on the main floor for relaxing in. Beautiful big home build in 1811 with lots of history. Clean, well maintained bedrooms with everything you need but not overly "prettied up" which I like. Home cooked, made to order, big breakfast, best of any B&B I have stayed in. Very accommodating, friendly owners who still love what they do and it shows. If you are planning a trip to this area I can't imagine a better place to call home.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DavidMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

My wife and I enjoyed a very relaxing evening at the Centennial House while picking our son up from a summer program at nearby Northfield School. Despite very hot Connecticut Valley weather, we enjoyed our second floor room which was air-conditioned, our bed which was roomy and comfortable, and our hosts who were very pleasant and made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived.

We are not big breakfast people, and Joan kindly cut back on what would have been a full breakfast to satisfy our desires. Instead of pancakes or eggs, we enjoyed fruit, yogurt and banana bread in a lovely setting overlooking their grounds complete with a gazebo for outdoor functions and the distant Berkshires. However, we managed to enjoy the homemade chocolate chip cookies the night before, and I very much appreciated their local beer, sipping it in their central room under the watchful eye of Hamish, their Corgi, who I think really runs the place.

Joan and Steve did all they could to insure that we had a good time. Northfield is a half-hour from Amherst, Brattleboro, and even closer to Greenfield in the central part of New England. It would be ideal for foliage peepers, winter getaways, and college parents visiting.

We hope to get back again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ticket2ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

Large, beautiful colonial retreat located near the foothills of the Berkshire Mountains in Western Massachusetts, the Centennial Inn, in the picturesque New England town of Northfield, is located near many local college campuses. All guest rooms are exquisitely decorated and very comfortable. Grounds are wonderfully manicured with charming gardens and a large gazebo--great to sit with a glass of wine and watch the sunset. Breakfast is a special treat, with freshly homemade goodies like blueberry pancakes, waffles and other delicious confections. Fresh fruit is also served, along with juices, milk, hot coffee and a fine selection of teas. Haimish, the resident Welsh Corgi is sweet and friendly, and enjoys greeting guests of the inn. Innkeepers Steve and Joan Stoia are the perfect hosts, always anxious to please and see to their guests' every need or comfort. We have stayed with them three times in the course of one year, and are already planning to return. The Centennial Inn is a warm and welcome rest at the end of a long journey.

Stayed: June 2007
Thank SavannahJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2006

This inn in quiet Northfield, MA, was a delight. The innkeepers were extremely accomodating. A special complimentary Connecticut River Cruise was certainly a serendipity. Great beds, wonderful, large old home, and great breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews