We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, relaxing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Northfield B&B and Inns
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, relaxing getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing weekend getaway. Centennial House really fit the bill....the room was spacious, very clean and had a wonderful fireplace! The owners, Joan and Steve, were pleasant, welcoming and accomodating in every respect. The entire house had a warm, welcoming feel to it. There were some wonderful shops in the area as well. I have to mention Joan's unbelievable breakfasts, mango sconces, apple tarts, fruit and pecan waffles....yum. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdbert6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    13
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

Wonderful warm welcome by Joan and Steve and their Corgi, Hamish - afternoon tea and homemade chocolate chip cookies were perfect for a cold, rainy afternoon. (Wish the fireplace were going in the Tavern room!) The Deerfield Suite was perfect for our birthday weekend with my 85 yr. old mother. Breakfast was excellent - only complaint was the cold - esp. the dining room at breakfast. The beds were extremely comfortable and my husband appreciated the tv in the room! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenanFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

We stayed at Centennial House for two nights. Joan suggested the combination of the Northfield and Emily rooms so our teen daughter would have her own space and TV. As a picky person when it comes to cleanliness, I was delighted to see that the rooms and especially bathroom were spotlessly clean. The rooms were wonderful, with comfortable beds, cable televisions, fireplace, and loads of storage space in closets and dressers. Several common rooms offered comfortable spaces for reading and relaxing, and our daughter loved the wood paneled great room with the wood stove and nearby window seat.

Joan and Steve were gracious hosts, and the breakfasts were especially delicious and abundant. Both mornings featured fresh fruit, a homemade coffee cake or pastry, and a main dish - banana bread french toast one morning, and eggs cooked in french bread the next, with bacon as a side dish. The rustic tart served as the breakfast pastry was divine! Several varieties of teas, plus coffee, juice, cereal, and toast were available as well.

The location turned out to be the perfect central spot for exploring southeastern Vermont, southwestern New Hampshire, and the entire Five College/Pioneer Valley area of Massachusetts. Culture, hiking, and restaurants were all an easy drive through scenic countryside. Joan made reservations for us at a fairly new restaurant in Gill which was marvelous. The grounds of the B&B were also lovely, with a nice view of the mountains out back.

We had a very relaxing weekend and felt abundantly pampered!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2008

We stayed at the inn over the Fourth of July weekend. The bedrooms are charming and comfortable, and the air conditioners functional. We used the common rooms for reading, the yard for yoga, and Joan found and arranged for lap swim at a local pool. There is also wireless internet for your laptop! Breakfasts were great if you're used to diners, but average for a B&B. There is a local grocery store about a block away if you need any sundries or snacks, and a farm stand a bit further down the road. All in all a great place to stay, especially because of the hospitality and service.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank LSfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2008

I had a great little mini vacation at The Centennial House and out and about in Northfield and surroundings. Thank you for a pleasant stay and for the beautiful and bountiful breakfasts.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank sunkenmeadowresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2008

Several large common rooms on the main floor for relaxing in. Beautiful big home build in 1811 with lots of history. Clean, well maintained bedrooms with everything you need but not overly "prettied up" which I like. Home cooked, made to order, big breakfast, best of any B&B I have stayed in. Very accommodating, friendly owners who still love what they do and it shows. If you are planning a trip to this area I can't imagine a better place to call home.

  • Liked — The owners dedication to service.
  • Disliked — Not a thing.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DavidMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2007

My wife and I enjoyed a very relaxing evening at the Centennial House while picking our son up from a summer program at nearby Northfield School. Despite very hot Connecticut Valley weather, we enjoyed our second floor room which was air-conditioned, our bed which was roomy and comfortable, and our hosts who were very pleasant and made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived.

We are not big breakfast people, and Joan kindly cut back on what would have been a full breakfast to satisfy our desires. Instead of pancakes or eggs, we enjoyed fruit, yogurt and banana bread in a lovely setting overlooking their grounds complete with a gazebo for outdoor functions and the distant Berkshires. However, we managed to enjoy the homemade chocolate chip cookies the night before, and I very much appreciated their local beer, sipping it in their central room under the watchful eye of Hamish, their Corgi, who I think really runs the place.

Joan and Steve did all they could to insure that we had a good time. Northfield is a half-hour from Amherst, Brattleboro, and even closer to Greenfield in the central part of New England. It would be ideal for foliage peepers, winter getaways, and college parents visiting.

We hope to get back again.

  • Liked — graciousness of our innkeepers
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticket2ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northfield
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
13.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
12.9 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
#1 of 1 in Bernardston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
10.5 mi away
Brandt House
Brandt House
#2 of 4 in Greenfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 94 Main St, Northfield, MA 01360-1022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Northfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Northfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B with spacious guest rooms and suites minutes Greenfield and Deerfield, colleges and Pioneer Valley attractions to the south, and north to Brattleboro or Keene. Pillow top beds, cable TV, WiFi and ample country breakfasts in an historic New England village. Enjoy hearth side breakfast in winter, or spectacular views in the Sun Room in warmer weather. Relax in a gazebo overlooking distant hills; there's electricity and WiFi out there too so you can use your laptop. Weddings, meetings and other events. Off I-91 and Mohawk Trail, near attractions, hiking the New England Trail, x-c skiing, shopping and fine dining. Open all year. Romantic and family-friendly suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Centennial House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing