We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great customer service!”

Not Your Average Joe's
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Norwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 53
Hanson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food, great customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We were a party of six for dinner. Had a great little table in the bar area. Drinks and food were all great. Experienced a slight problem with my meal (Margherita pizza). Everyone elses food came but mine. They brought it out (after we pointed out the problem) in about 10 minutes. The restaurant manager, the waiter, and the server all apologizing! The manager said it would be on the house. Really? It was no big deal! Plus the pizza was delicious! So in the end, the food, the drinks, and the customer service were all top-notch!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1979Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    48
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

My boyfriend and I stop in and have lunch or dinner at NYAJ's on a regular basis. The food is always really good and we have our "usual" meal selections (mustard crusted chicken and rosemary skewered scollops - delicious) but we also like to choose off the specials menu that is always chock full of interesting seasonal meals, beers from local breweries, and drink specials. The server starts off by putting on the table freshly baked ciabatta bread with oil, garlic and parmesan cheese on the side and the experience just gets better from there.

The Norwell restaurant has a spacious patio open on nice days either off the main dining room or in front of the restaurant off of the bar area that overlooks a lake (if you look past the parking lot and road). The staff is always really friendly and accommodating. If you don't like something in the meal or want to substitute it out all the meals are made when you order so they will be able to do that no problem.

Tip: Join their email club and they will send you a free entree and desert for your birthday (you have two weeks to take advantage of the coupon).

I highly recommend stopping in and trying NYAJ's. It will be a pleasant experience for everyone involved.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“fun place with a good reliable meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I usually do not like chain restaurants. But, I really enjoy Joe's. They have specials that use local food sourcing and these items are a good pick. Staff is always very nice and attentive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mae4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
354 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Always creative...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed another great evening at this reliable spot. The menu offers regular "standbys" but we appreciate the creative fare of their "specials" menu. They are always changing things around and this place is never boring. We also appreciate their use of local farms, craft breweries and interesting vineyards. The ambience is terrific. The service is friendly and attentive. On this occasion, our server, Carolin E., was exceptional... She embodied "personalty plus" and she made our evening that much more interesting, relaxing and enjoyable.

Helpful?
Thank ThinkingOutLoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

not only does the restaurant have a unique menu they are using fresh ingredients and made a menu to go around what is fresh. we haven't been disappointed by food or staff. when u go to the bar ask for Kevin-he'll make u feel at home and will see to all ur needs. also the bread-they make it fresh and they make a home made dipping sauce. U can lick it off the spoon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilljudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Not Your Average Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing