We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved The Dockside Inn!”
Review of The Dockside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dockside Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
1 review
“We loved The Dockside Inn!”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My husband and I wanted to spend a few days (one night) on Martha's Vineyard after a few days on the Cape and I started doing some research for a hotel on the island. I hadn't heard of The Dockside Inn but am so glad I found it! We were in Room 35 which is a private suite over the Beach Gear/Ice Machine room- it was perfect for my husband and I and our 6 year old! The renovations are beautiful, the Solarium provided some good snacks and coffee and the hot tub & outdoor shower are fantastic! We loved how easy it was to make the Inn our home base while we explored the rest of the island and the convenience to the HyLine Ferry couldn't be beat! Great accommodations and the staff were absolutely wonderful. It's a definite YES.

Room Tip: Room 35 is a private suite- excellent for a romantic or family stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    78
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
129
253
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had an awesome time at this hotel ,awesome room,central location and super friendly staff,they have thought of everything to make your stay the finest ,we had room 35 fantastic,i will def be staying there on my trips to the vineyard ,special thanks to all the staff Johnny Tiff and Cathy,you guys so rock ,we will be back to see you soon,
Barry and Cathy flynn

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Our stay at the Dockside Inn was fantastic. It is centrally located with bars, shopping, and dining all around. Our room was very clean and very well appointed. The amenities are great. The staff was super friendly and helpful, including Loomis which helped us figure everything out. The homemade cookies are the best we've ever had. Tiffany (the redhead) is very cool!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Our stay at the Dockside inn was very enjoyable. We have made reservations for next year. The staff really made this the perfect place to stay while vesting Martha's Vineyard.
It has been over fifteen years since i have been to the Vineyard. I have always looked forward to bringing my family here. I finally had the opportunity this summer to make it happen. Our stay at the Dockside inn made this special vacation truly memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrjdea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksideInn02557, Manager at The Dockside Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
It was lovely to have you all at the property....so nice to hear when people really enjoy not only their time on our beloved island but also appreciate and recognize all the hard work we put into the place!

Can't wait to see you next year!

The Dockside Inn Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband and I who have been the owners of a travel business for 38 years, had the opportunity to stay at the Dockside Inn from August 19-22, 2012. We were in Martha's Vineyard to help our daughter with her wedding planning. We were welcomed very warmly by Kathy who greeted us with friendliness, cookies and a ton of information. She gave us our keys and off we went to our beautifully situated room #20. It is a rather small room, but fresh and clean, with a lovely view of the harbor. The shades were open exposing a large picture window , so the room appeared more spacious. We spent two nights in this room and all was fine. When we made our reservation, room 20 had already been booked for August 21, thus we had booked room 35 for that night. We packed up before we left for the day and by 9:30am, left our luggage at the front desk. We were told that our room would not be ready until at least 12:30pm and that was fine for us as we were planning on being out for most of the day. Upon our return in the late afternoon, we met the same woman, the manager Tiffany who was there in the morning when we left. She was very different from Kathy. No more warm and friendly attitude, rather very businesslike. That's OK as everyone has different personalities. When we arrived in the separate small buliing in the back of the resort that was room #35, we were very dissappointed. It was a building that was part storage, part hotel room. The room had no closet-just a pole jutting out from the middle wall, no tub, a large EXIT sign, that was illuminated in red as you would find in large buildings, a view of garbage outside an old building, slanted ceilings, a small black mini fridge sitting on the floor, no full length mirror... and on top of all that, we had to pay $20 more per night to stay in this substandard room than we had paid in room 20. In addition, the chairs and tables where people sit, eat, and, socialize are immediately outside the door of this back building, making it rather noisy. When I calmly and quietly tried to discuss this with Tiffany, so that perhaps feedback would go back to the owners, and they would consider what we experienced, she became flushed, angry and said that I was the only one who ever complained about the room. It seems to me that if you are in a service business, you should care what the people you are serving think and what kind of expereince they have had with your product. There is a breakfast bar which is basically open all day. It is great to have coffee, tea, granola bars and fruit available all day from 8am-10pm, and we appreciated it. However, breakfast consisted of a few pieces of cake and the same granola bars, apples and a couple of bananas. A suggestion for the future would be add cold cereal which is easy and I am sure would be much appreciated. I would consider returning if I was able to stay in room 20, but I would warn others to stay away from room 35.

Room Tip: room # 20(20-24 are all good) NOT room #35
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksideInn02557, Manager at The Dockside Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Hey There -

We very much appreciate your candor and willingness to share information and feedback with us. Being that Trip Advisor is a public forum and those who may be reading this could be unfairly swayed away from a room that has many redeeming qualities we'd like to offer some clarifying points. An honest feedback system does any business well but just as in any case of reflection it is also just as important to note those features, elements, or amenities of the room that were a delight and might therefore be seen in others eyes has more important those things that you found disappointing. Elements of the room not mentioned in your review that might be helpful to make public about Room 35:

-the only room on the property with it's own four walls, making it very private and almost your own getaway
-the largest and most high quality TV on the property
-the newest shower and bathroom, with thousands of dollars of designer tile
-A room that can accommodate 3 with a memory foam, brand new, pull out sofa.
-A large picture window
-A larger room in terms of square footage than most room on the property except for suites
-A comfortable sitting area to watch TV (where all other rooms contain a chair because of space restrictions)

You are correct on some things you noted - there is an EXIT sign (we are bound by the law to keep in in the room) and there is not closet this year (we do have a hanging arm for clothes and plans to construct a closet in the room this winter). But like I mentioned before it sends a very false message to only relay those features of the room that didn't attend to your fancy.

And Tiffany's response was a quite honest one just for future record. We have never ever heard anything but praise for room 35 - we are consistently told what an awesome thing it is to have a room that sleeps three, how nice it is to have the privacy of your own walls, a massive TV and a shower that is high quality with a state-the-art shower head and bench. Tiffany was merely stating a point in her reply. Oddly after we received your review the next three guests in that room came down raving....unsolicited.

We hope you maybe will step back and see the glass as half full instead of half empty. Room 35 is fully of lovely accents and we are just sad to hear you could only comment on those few things that you didn't love.

At the end of the day a room's price is a direct function of how many people can reasonably and comfortably sleep in the room (never mind in room 35's case all the other perks and amenities). We are quite confident that $20 more for room 35 is quite fair and maybe underpriced for what is offered.

Again, though, we'd ask you to maybe change your view and see what it is from our perspective that dictates that stated cost and perceived value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The Dockside Inn was a terrific place. My wife and I enjoyed the clean and modern rooms, which have recently been renovated according to the website. The Inn is steps away from the "main drag" of Oak Bluffs, which has bars, restaruants, movie theaters, arcades, etc. best of all, the Inn is a short walk from a public beach and provides you with beach towels, chairs, and toys. We really liked our stay here and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TylerD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We just left the DocksideInn...Very disappointed with being awakened every morning for 3 mornings to loud garbage trucks..At 6:30 mind you!We felt as though it really is not a kid friendly Inn.It is more for couples..Was happy to have a coffee bar area..but it didn't open until 8:00am.Kathy who works at the front desk was amazing..She was so helpful and happy ALL the time..We will miss you Kathy..On the other hand was very disappointed by the manager Tiffany who seemed very stressed and not happy.I felt as though we were bothering her every time we had a question..Did not get that warm fuzzy feeling at all from her..And we were not the only ones to complain about her either that stayed there.It is a convenient place to stay..You are near everything.Probably will not return to the Inn...Again not really kid friendly!Kids can be loud and want to have fun..We were spoken to rudely ...us and another couple with kids by Tiffany.If Kathy is there full time we will be back..She made it feel as though kids were welcomed.

Room Tip: Do not choose room # 3
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dockside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dockside Inn

Property: The Dockside Inn
Address: 9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Away & Play. The Dockside Inn is Oak Bluffs hospitality & elegance at its best - built in 1989, the hotel has the conveniences of a new modern facility including 22 regular guest rooms. All rooms have Queen beds - some with two. All feature air conditioning, cable TV, in-room refrigerators, and free WiFi. All rooms are comfortably furnished for your vacation. Our location on the Oak Bluffs Harbor is just steps from restaurants, boutiques, beaches, boating, ferries, buses and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dockside Hotel Oak Bluffs
The Dockside Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing