We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, great value, best location!”
Review of The Dockside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dockside Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We are currently staying at Dockside and it has been a pleasant experience from the emails we exchanged prior to our arrival to check-in and the remainder of our stay. Whoever answered our emails about dinner and activity recommendations did so with such graciousness-very willing to help! Upon arrival there were fresh cookies and a very fast check-in. Our room is modern, clean and has all the amenities you'd ever need, plus snacks and waters at no charge. From 8am on they have a room with all different flavors of K cups, fresh pastries, granola bars and fresh fruit which is more than enough for us for breakfast. There's an awesome Rolls Royce courtesy car which would take you somewhere if needed. The staff at reception is very kind and welcoming and know the area well. They will help you plan your days! It was our first time in MV and when we return, we will def stay at The Dockside Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taccoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Dockside Inn, which is well-located for access to shops, restaurants, and sight-seeing in Oak Bluffs. The staff was extra friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and made good recommendations for restaurants and other activities. The Inn was very clean and in excellent condition, with a small refrigerator in our room. There is a nice common area in the back - an outside area and an inside area with chairs, tables, coffee, and snacks. If you are lucky, you may be able to get a ride from the airport in the Inn's antique Rolls Royce.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Being our first time to Martha's Vineyard, I wanted to find a place to crash that was conveniently located and wasn't over priced. After searching the internet, the Dockside Inn was the clear winner. We were pleasantly surprised by the charm of the inn and modernization of the rooms. From the pictures, everything looked very nice, but in person, even better (and so clean). We stayed in Room #20 which has a fabulous view and is situated perfectly in the corner on the 2nd floor. The room was a tad small, but for a night or two, it was perfect. The bed was SO comfortable and the linens soft. I was also impressed by the iPhone dock - didn't have to mess with my charger - nice! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and made us feel welcomed. Last but not least, the home baked cookies in the afternoon were a delicious surprise! The location couldn't have been better as well. The Dockside is literally located directly across from the ferry dock and is within walking distance to the stores, tours and restaurants. Overall, the Dockside Inn exceeded our expectations, and we would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The Dockside has charm. Each room is different and special. It's a cross between a nice a hotel and a B&B. The staff are beyond friendly and accommodating. I felt like I was in my neighborhood. The owner is an LSU alum, so the flag is flies high above the front of the inn. We had a chance to chat with him, which added to the pleasant vibe.

They have a guy on staff that you can Tweet for restaurant recommendations/directions while you're on the vineyard. How cool is that? A great place to stay. Book early because the word is out about how great this place is.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed here three nights and found it a bargain for Martha's Vineyard. The innkeepers and receptionists are friendly and helpful. The room we had (5) was super small, but for the rates it was fine and if you are only sleeping there it is not a problem. We were on the back side of the inn so it faces the lovely patio and is very quiet. If you prefer the view and bustle of the town, choose a room on the front. We sat in the patio a lot and there are chairs in front of the rooms so you can enjoy the good weather. The location is prime, right across from the Hyline ferry and in the middle of town. The lounge is open from 8am until 10pm so you can get tea, coffee, and granola bars all day. In the morning, fresh donuts or muffins are added for breakfast. If you want a full breakfast, there are great breakfast places all around. A great location with very reasonable rates,

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms sizes and location. The second and third floors may be difficult for some as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Great, friendly staff only added to a most enjoyable stay on Martha's Vineyard. Everything provided (beach chairs, well stocked coffee/snack room, fresh cookies daily) was for the comfort and convenience of those staying in the inn. Location ideal for experiencing all of Oak Bluffs and the beautiful harbor. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The only negative was not with respect to the inn itself-- because it is close to the harbor and other businesses, it was noisy in the morning when trash was being picked up, deliveries made, etc.

Room Tip: Back of inn to avoid the noise but then no view of the harbor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jatarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

If you want to feel welcome, stay at the Dockside. It is centrally located and the staff treats you as you would if your best friend visited you. Comfy beds, updated rooms, yummy cookies each afternoon and always a friendly smile ready to help. We will be back

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
5.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
628 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dockside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dockside Inn

Address: 9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: £71 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Away & Play. The Dockside Inn is Oak Bluffs hospitality & elegance at its best - built in 1989, the hotel has the conveniences of a new modern facility including 22 regular guest rooms. All rooms have Queen beds - some with two. All feature air conditioning, cable TV, in-room refrigerators, and free WiFi. All rooms are comfortably furnished for your vacation. Our location on the Oak Bluffs Harbor is just steps from restaurants, boutiques, beaches, boating, ferries, buses and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dockside Hotel Oak Bluffs
The Dockside Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing