We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”
Review of The Dockside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dockside Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short stay”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I had a great stay the room was clean and ready when i arrived, the staff was friendly and helpful gave great tips on where to go. The only bad thing was the weather, The only predictable thing about weather in New England is it's unpredictable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsherma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    81
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
135
268
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millis, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I went for 2 nights Columbus Day weekend to celebrate our anniversary and had an amazing time at The Dockside Inn. From the time we checked in until the time we left the island we felt like we were at home with family. Kathy was so friendly and helpful, she made our trip the best. The hotel was newly renovated inside and out. We stayed in room #34, a suite on the third floor, every room had a water view. I would highly recommend this room to everyone who stays there. They have a hot tub in the back and a beach house with chairs, beach toys, water bottles, etc. Every day the kitchen and all season glass room in the back is open from 8 am until 10 pm with coffee, tea, fruit, water, granola bars, apple fritters and muffins and popsicles, fudgicles, and ice cream bars. They also had fresh cookies at the front desk. Whatever you needed they provided. Whether it was info on buses, restaurants, things to do and see, or umbrellas in the rain. We can't wait to go back again. You will not be disappointed at The Dockside Inn.

Room Tip: Room 34 on the top has the best water views ever!!! If you do not want a suite, I would recommend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The inn is sitting right in front of the Oak Bluffs harbor, can't beat that! It is only a minute walk away from the famous Nancy's (lobster roll is a must try). Rooms are fresh and clean, I was given a room with two beds so it is fairly big with a very spacious bathroom. The receptionist Kathy deserves a gold medal for having the best customer service skills in the island. She was cheerful, accommodating and well informed about MV. We received nothing but superb excellent service from her, from the day we arrived up to the day we leave. There was just one incident with another misguided employee, which I brought up to the management. Manager was very accommodating, very professional and handled the situation very well (though totally standing behind the employee by justifying the actions he/she made). Overall, this place is highly recommended, great for family, friends and couples.

Room Tip: Choose the room with two beds, a few dollars more than a standard room but you get more space and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTravelRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksideInn02557, Manager at The Dockside Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
We're just as in love with our location as you are! Isn't it fantastic? Nothing like the morning harbor breeze. Thank you for your kind words about Kathy - she's a total gem and we're blessed to have her on board. All that happiness, knowledge and gentleness you experience is 100% authentic - she's lovely. Glad to know also that Tiffany our manager was able to help you with your concerns. Can't wait to have you back and let us know when you're coming and we'll do our best to get you that spacious room with the two beds - those are lovely rooms.

Cheers to a healthy & happy fall and winter!

-The Dockside Inn Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Went to M.V. with a group of friends for the weekend of 9/28-9/30/12. We knew in advance that the weather was not going to cooperate, which is uncharacteristic for our area at the end of September. But - we didn't let the weather stop us and truly enjoyed our stay at Dockside Inn in Oak Bluffs Harbor. The inn was under renovation the last time we visited the island in April and the glimpse of what was underway could not do the finished product justice! The lobby is beautiful and very welcoming - moreso in the afternoon when fresh baked cookies are there for the taking. The rooms are a bit small but well appointed and with mini fridges, which is helpful for those who 'bring their bar with them'! We travel with coolers and it was helpful to have that extra room. When we arrived on Friday, it was well before check-in time but there was one room available out of the three we reserved, so we were able to unload our luggage and plan our day. The guys separated from the girls and we did some bar hopping and shopping. By the time the rain started mid-afternoon, we had our cups full and were sitting out on the back covered deck on the second floor in front of one of our rooms. The rain didn't stop several from using the hot tub and shower in the back yard - both of which were very clean. After a great dinner at M.V. Chower Company (definitely recommend), we retired relatively early and had a great night's sleep on very comfortable beds. The inn was quiet and from what I understand, fully booked - so I guess we lucked out and weren't kept awake by loud guests. In the morning, coffee and muffins are available, which is nice - but it doesn't open until 8. Didn't matter to me, but I travel with a couple of early risers and I think an earlier open would've appealed to them. But - there is no charge for the offerings and it's a nice option if you aren't the 'full breakfast' type.

We spent Saturday walking around Edgartown and grabbed lunch at The Net Result in Vineyard Haven on the way back to Oak Bluffs. Nice spot to stop, although there is no outside seating. Thankfully the rain held off on Saturday. Dinner was at the Ocean View, which is on the opposite side of Oak Bluffs Harbor (from where Dockside Inn is located). That was a recommendation from one of the Dockside owners, which we appreciated. The Dockside staff in general is very accommodating, which is really helpful for someone not very familiar with the island. Dockside Inn also has an on-line concierge (dubbed 'Loomis') who you communicate with via text only. Really cool option and you can ask anything island-related and get a response in a timely manner.

Although it was raining buckets when we left on Sunday and we were glad for an early ferry departure, all-in-all our trip was enjoyable and we're planning to head back in the Spring. We'll definitely book again at Dockside and look forward to hopefully a sunnier trip next time around!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieD62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We are currently staying at Dockside and it has been a pleasant experience from the emails we exchanged prior to our arrival to check-in and the remainder of our stay. Whoever answered our emails about dinner and activity recommendations did so with such graciousness-very willing to help! Upon arrival there were fresh cookies and a very fast check-in. Our room is modern, clean and has all the amenities you'd ever need, plus snacks and waters at no charge. From 8am on they have a room with all different flavors of K cups, fresh pastries, granola bars and fresh fruit which is more than enough for us for breakfast. There's an awesome Rolls Royce courtesy car which would take you somewhere if needed. The staff at reception is very kind and welcoming and know the area well. They will help you plan your days! It was our first time in MV and when we return, we will def stay at The Dockside Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taccoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Dockside Inn, which is well-located for access to shops, restaurants, and sight-seeing in Oak Bluffs. The staff was extra friendly and very knowledgeable about the area and made good recommendations for restaurants and other activities. The Inn was very clean and in excellent condition, with a small refrigerator in our room. There is a nice common area in the back - an outside area and an inside area with chairs, tables, coffee, and snacks. If you are lucky, you may be able to get a ride from the airport in the Inn's antique Rolls Royce.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Being our first time to Martha's Vineyard, I wanted to find a place to crash that was conveniently located and wasn't over priced. After searching the internet, the Dockside Inn was the clear winner. We were pleasantly surprised by the charm of the inn and modernization of the rooms. From the pictures, everything looked very nice, but in person, even better (and so clean). We stayed in Room #20 which has a fabulous view and is situated perfectly in the corner on the 2nd floor. The room was a tad small, but for a night or two, it was perfect. The bed was SO comfortable and the linens soft. I was also impressed by the iPhone dock - didn't have to mess with my charger - nice! The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and made us feel welcomed. Last but not least, the home baked cookies in the afternoon were a delicious surprise! The location couldn't have been better as well. The Dockside is literally located directly across from the ferry dock and is within walking distance to the stores, tours and restaurants. Overall, the Dockside Inn exceeded our expectations, and we would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
959 reviews
4.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dockside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dockside Inn

Property: The Dockside Inn
Address: 9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Away & Play. The Dockside Inn is Oak Bluffs hospitality & elegance at its best - built in 1989, the hotel has the conveniences of a new modern facility including 22 regular guest rooms. All rooms have Queen beds - some with two. All feature air conditioning, cable TV, in-room refrigerators, and free WiFi. All rooms are comfortably furnished for your vacation. Our location on the Oak Bluffs Harbor is just steps from restaurants, boutiques, beaches, boating, ferries, buses and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dockside Hotel Oak Bluffs
The Dockside Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing