We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dockside Inn
Nearby Hotels
Pequot Hotel(Oak Bluffs)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summercamp Hotel(Oak Bluffs)(Great Value!)
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansion House(Vineyard Haven)(Great Value!)
US$355
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor View Hotel(Edgartown)(Great Value!)
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seaside Inn(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falmouth Heights Motor Lodge(Falmouth)(Great Value!)
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nashua House Hotel(Oak Bluffs)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
495
83
13
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
495
83
13
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubvirtual conciergerolls royceice creambeach gearthe ownergreat locationyogurtmartha's vineyardbreakfast snackgranola barsfree snacksnice bonuswithin walking distanceplace to staycookiessand toys
Filter
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We came to Dockside for three nights for our honeymoon. It was very convenient being right across from the ferry - we didn't have to carry our bags very far. The two ladies who worked at the reception were very nice and informative. Being that it was the off-season, we were the only guests staying at the Inn so we had the coffee room and the hot tub all to ourselves! The Inn was clean and I loved the wall paper - nicely decorated. We definitely recommend Dockside Inn and plan to return in the future.

Room Tip: All of the rooms in the front have a view of the harbor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We only stopped two nights at this Inn but I highly recommend it. It has recently been refurbished and it is tastefully done. Everyone is friendly and helpful at the Inn. The ferry docks one minute from the hotel and you can see the hotel as the ferry pulls in. Very handy.

Room Tip: There is not a lift so if you have a problem with stairs request a downstairs room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabellaRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I was initially concerned about staying in such a busy area but room was nice and quiet at night. Since I was there at the end of the season, not sure what it would be like in summer. Many stay here if you don't have a car because you can walk to it from ferry. I had a car and parking can be a challenge. But staff very nice, good breakfast, and easy to walk around Oak Bluffs from Inn. The only thing is that they don't serve juice in the morning. When I asked about it, staff just said owner owns other inns and never has provided oj. It was missed.

Room Tip: Garden side because noise harbor side might be too much.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divscu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Was somewhat disappointed having read such glowing reviews tho the inn is adequate for a short stay. The rooms are very small and tho fresh and clean, are somewhat sterile in decor. The basket w/ chips and bottled water was a thoughtful touch. There is very little exterior property so patio furniture is crowded in close outdoor quarters.....virtually no scenic views. Don't count on much of a continental breakfast besides coffee and packaged snack bars. The stairs were inches outside our 2nd floor room, so it was a bit noisy in he a.m. The most outrageous aspect of our stay was a guest who gunned his Harley for a good 15 minutes right under the rooms and was totally unconcerned when I addressed him....several other guests thanked me, but the front desk did not seem particularly concerned. Will stay elsewhere next visit.....probably the more lovely Madison Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valtravelCapeCodMa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We were pretty disappointed by the Dockside after seeing so many positive Yelp and Tripadvisor reviews. Their website also does a good job deceiving you into thinking this is an upscale place. However, it looks like an old motel that got a fresh coat of paint and some new carpets.

Our room smelled a bit musty, the TV was tiny, and there was no phone in the room. The biggest problem with the room was that our heating/AC unit smelled like a skunk. When I told the the front desk about this I was told "Well, we do have skunks on the island."

A maintenance person did come out shortly thereafter and mostly solved the issue, but I couldn't believe the reaction of the girl on duty. Afterwards, the front desk person did leave a nice bottle of wine in our room apologizing for the poor customer service, which was nice.

We were pretty psyched about their hot tub, but found it was pretty small and also the cover smelled very moldy.

Also, their front desk closes at 10pm and the only method of contact after that is a text-message based concierge system. I did use it and it got me what I needed, but it doesn't exactly leave you feeling comforted not having someone to call. And what if I were an old person who doesn't know how to text? ;)

One very important thing to note is that they do not have guaranteed parking, though their website leads you to believe they might. They only 6 or so parking spots for about 30 rooms. We had paid to take our car over on the ferry and when we found this out were pretty upset since if we wanted to keep our parking spot we basically couldn't take the car around much. There is overnight offstreet parking nearby, but you have to move your car by 8am. Lame.

We'll be trying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caleb_Caldwell, Owner at The Dockside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

We're sorry that this guest did not have the same excellent experience at the Dockside Inn that the great majority of our guests have. We can't diplomatically respond to his reference of the Dockside Inn as an "old hotel"; it is anything but. Perhaps he's confusing us with someplace else that he stayed. We appreciate that he acknowledged that we resolved his musty smelling air conditioning unit promptly, and gave him a nice bottle of wine for the inconvenience. Our hot tub is a standard sized 8-person tub, it is installed outside under the sun and stars, and it is enjoyed by many. We do not have an in-room telephone system, but we do post a telephone number with which our guests can contact our 24-hour concierge service called Loomis, and we do prominently post an after hours phone number both in our guest rooms and at each of our 2 lobby doors with which a guest can contact the on-site Manager 24 hours a day.. Our web site does not suggest that we have guaranteed parking. We do have six parking spaces on our property that are offered on a first-come basis, and we have six parking passes that allow six additional guest to park on-street without concern for getting a parking ticket. We have 21 rooms, not 30, and less than half of our guests bring a vehicle. As evidenced by the tremendous number of very positive guest reviews that the Dockside Inn receives, we provide excellent accommodations to our guests. We welcome anyone considering a stay at the Dockside Inn to call us anytime to discuss this guest's experience, or to confirm any of the other great features of our inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews