We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hospitality& Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dockside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dockside Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful Hospitality& Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We would like to thank all at Dockside Inn for your wonderful hospitality during our stay. Vicki was most helpful & knowledgeable when we called for reservations. She was able to provide the best and most reasonably priced ferry to board from the mainland.

Our room had a beautiful view of the harbor. It was spotless, and well maintained. The little kitchenette down stairs was constantly stocked with freshly made Danish & cookies, along with coffee, water, yogurt, fresh fruit & oatmeal. This was included with the reasonably priced room rate.

Dockside Inn is perfectly located a block from the steam ship authority dock. There are quaint stores - including a liquor store, tickets for Island tours, car / bike/ moped rentals, restaurant & ice cream stand all within the same block as The Dockside Inn.

Our special thanks to Susan who provided the exceptional room care & information of the cheap public transportation of VTA buses that cost $2 from one town to the next. You simply can not beat it!!

Room Tip: view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kr050501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    77
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
125
244
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Fabulous Inn, Fabulous location, Fabulous service, FANTASTIC visit, sorry we couldn't stay the whole summer....but we shall return soon. Arrived early, we were able to store our luggage. Left on time, but we sere still able to store our luggage. Coffee, fresh fruit, continental breakfast, cookies, ice cream, candy, all offered in a lovely, airy,well lighted guest room with tables and chairs. Kind Thanks, H & K F

Room Tip: We loved # 35
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluffs68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We booked a room at the Dockside for our 1-year anniversary this past week (we were married in Oak Bluffs a year ago). The lobby was exceptional, the room was great, the location is perfect for all that Oak Bluffs has to offer, and the service we received was exemplary. Our anniversary dinner was planned for a restaurant in Vineyard Haven and when we made our reservations a few months back, the owner mentioned a ride to our dinner in the Dockside's classic Rolls Royce. The day of our dinner, the owner was not around when we asked about the ride to VH. The front desk called him and he dropped everything to drive over to OB, pick us up, then drive us to our dinner in the Rolls...talk about customer service! Overall, we had an incredible time in Oak Bluffs and particularly enjoyed our nearly week-long stay at the Dockside. There is a great continental breakfast, a wonderful outdoor shower, the rooms are perfect, and the location can't be beat. We will be back and highly recommend the Dockside to anyone staying in Oak Bluffs.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 2nd floor: 20, 21, 22, 23, or 24 for a great view of the Oak Bluffs harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritch W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect for ages anywhere from 21 to 101 from the restaurants and shopping to the bars and beaches. The staff is welcoming and willing and to do anything to make you feel at home, while the rooms are perfectly clean and roomy. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the DockSide Inn and will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillianbrotchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Had a family wedding to attend in West Tisbury on Memorial Day weekend and was late to the party for getting a room as rooms are tough to come by that weekend. Called the Dockside after a couple of other places and they were able to accommodate a 2-night stay as most places are 3-night minimum. We needed to get to West Tisbury after checking-in and Leann who was at the front desk offered to personally drive us (thanks Leann! hope I'm spelling your name right). The great experience didn't stop there as they have a coffee room with snacks throughout the day, bakery items in the morning, nice and modern rooms and a great location within walking distance of the ferry, restaurants, bars, shopping, etc but off the main drag so it's nice and quiet at night. Great place. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hill099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

The weather was not especially cooperative, but that had absolutely no effect on the warm and family feeling my wife Marianne and I experienced at the DOCKSIDE INN!!!! Our room was cozy, with many innovative touches, one that was especially fine was the wide shower heads, along with a Cafe Room, well supplied with: coffee, tea, hot chocolate, Toll House Cookies, Apple Fritter Cake, hot cereal, and a MALTI-BALL dispenser machine; not seen by me since I was a Kid growing up in Brooklyn, NY!!!! The location of the Dockside Inn is within walking distance, not only to the ferry, but Pubs, and fine restaurants for all age groups. (We did very well with the Golden Age group and my son, Daughter-in-law, along with Granddaughter, found other establishments that really ROCKED.) We brought our car over, on the ferry and motored to Edgarstown, Menemsha Harbor, and Gay Head. My wife O.D'd, on Lobster Rolls, and I thoroughly enjoyed the Raw Bars, and Seared Scallops. The weather broke on numerous occasions to take some memorable pictures.
DOCKSIDE INN IS A MUST!!!
Abby Mayer

Room Tip: Second floor was good for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We spent last weekend at the Dockside Inn and it far exceeded our expectations. If your looking for a resort this is not the place for you. If your looking for a clean room in a great location with lots of little perks then this is the place for you. Kathy greeted us at the front desk and showed us around the inn. She is friendly and informative and always had a smile. They have beach chairs, towels, coolers and sand toys you can borrow for a trip to the beach and if that's not enough you can get coffee, tea, water and a host of snacks from the coffee room. Our room had a great view of the harbor. We are definitely going back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 147729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
5.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#3 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dockside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dockside Inn

Property: The Dockside Inn
Address: 9 Circuit Ave Extension, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get Away & Play. The Dockside Inn is Oak Bluffs hospitality & elegance at its best - built in 1989, the hotel has the conveniences of a new modern facility including 22 regular guest rooms. All rooms have Queen beds - some with two. All feature air conditioning, cable TV, in-room refrigerators, and free WiFi. All rooms are comfortably furnished for your vacation. Our location on the Oak Bluffs Harbor is just steps from restaurants, boutiques, beaches, boating, ferries, buses and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Dockside Hotel Oak Bluffs
The Dockside Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing