We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oak Bluffs Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Bluffs Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“Perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I was looking for a quick getaway for my wife's 30th birthday and thought going to the Vineyard would be a nice change of pace and a good surprise since she hadn't been there before. I had always stayed with friends with cars in either Edgartown or West Tisbury when I visited 'pre-wife' but wanted to stay somewhere close to restaurants and shops so I could leave the car in Falmouth. Using my normal Google maps -> Tripadvisor search method I stumbled on the Oak Bluffs Inn. My wife and I have done enough B&Bs to know that calling ahead to get a feel for the inn keeper is a good idea and, after talking with Erik for few minutes and booking the room, I was fairly sure we would be in good hands...or at least not be cornered into having an awkward discussion on the political merits of food stamps or religious advantages to abstinence at the breakfast table.

The morning of our arrival, while we were still en route to the island, Erik gave a call just to make sure we were all set with directions, to confirm our estimates time of arrival, and to see if we needed a lift to the inn. Once we got to the inn, we got the prefect length introduction to the grounds. Long enough to know where the beach chairs, bike rack, coffee and room is but not too long where you learn that historical attributes of the property dating back to the civil war. Since we got in right around lunch, our gracious host was quick with food and activity suggestions to busy us as our room was readied. The room itself was the perfect size with crisp linens and plenty of light. Breakfast the first morning had all the standard continental fare but there was also fresh baked banana bread which was a nice surprise and very good. The coffee, usually hit or miss in my experience despite its clear importance, was also just right. The best surprise, though, came the second evening when Erik offered to take us and some other guests out to have a beach fire and watch the sunset. To take the time, and use his vehicle, was very kind and the sunset was spectacular. The second morning's breakfast surprise was fresh berries and bread pudding which sadly came in a blink.

Location, comfort, quality and a wonderful host, you will not be disappointed with your stay at the Oak Bluffs Inn. My wife and I will definitely have an easy time choosing where we stay when we go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSquahog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    51
    7
    8
    3
See reviews for
71
337
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hackettstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Erik's amazing Inn for a long weekend getaway. This was not our first time on MV, however it was our first time at the Oak Bluffs Inn....but certainly not our last!!! From the initial phone call to sadly handing in our keys...it was a wonderful and stress free experience. Erik's attention to detail is impeciable and his effortless hospitality was so natural. You truly feel as though he has known you for years. He plays multiple roles so well...he is an innkeeper first and foremost, never neglecting his priorities, but he takes the time to socially interact with everyone as well....and it's not intrusive, so even if you are looking for a private getaway.... this is the place!!! Coffee in the morning, snacks in the afternoon, or drinks in the evening on the front porch is a must.

As far as the Inn itself.... PERFECTION! The location, the cleanliness, the service, breakfast, even down to the afternoon snacks...which by the way, I miss... were wonderful. The rooms were very clean and updated....very attractive which truly matters in selecting a place to stay. Erik is great host and does not miss a detail. He provides everything you could imagine to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. I am looking forward to our next trip to MV which will include a stay at the Oak Bluffs Inn!! All of this review writing is making me want to go back...right now! It's truly a wonderful place....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Oak Bluffs Inn is in a perfect location. Just a step away from everything but yet miles away. Eric thinks of everything, so you feel like you are right at home. The property is immacualte and every detail is thought of. The rooms are comfortable and clean. You feel as if you are stepping into a magazine. Eric enjoys bringing he Island alive for his guests, make sure catch a sunset down at the water. Eric's lemonade as you watch main street passby is amazing, also. Overall a great place run by great people taking pride in providing a great escape. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask Eric!!He is there to help!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We booked the Oak Bluffs Inn based on research we had done and the reviews we read. The inn is on the main street in OB and provides a short walk to everything. Everything was right on including the freshly made lemonade and delicious cookies in the afternoon to the breakfast in the AM. It was our 1st visit to MV and certainly not our last! The inn itself is beautiful and clean. It's bright and very welcoming. We had room 2 which I believe is the smallest room, but perfect as we had beautiful weather and spent no additional time in the room other than when we slept. The owners, Rhonda & Eric, do a fabulous job and it shows in all the details. They are very welcoming and we even spent additional time when Eric asked us to join him to watch the sunset and enjoy a nice fire. Our stay was perfect and as I titled this, it truly was a little slice of heaven. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Staying at the Oak Bluffs Inn felt more like staying with old friends than like staying at a traditional hotel accommodation. Erik and Rhondha treated us with the same hospitality that we would offer to our own family. And with the prime location and historic feel of the Victorian house, we definitely plan to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaycas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This was our first B&B ever to stay in so we really weren't sure what to expect. I must say Erik blew us away. We arrived really early on the island and our room wasn't ready, which we didn't expect it to be. So we called the Inn and Erik told us to come anyway. We took a taxi over which was literally a 2 minute drive from the port, and immediately Erik showed us where we could put our bags until the room was ready, invited us in for snacks and some drinks he had laid out. He showed us around the property, told us about the band he had playing the night before, and basically maid us feel right at home. He suggested where we could eat for lunch and where to go first. we walked around and found some really great deals on rentals. We used Erik as our Muse the whole trip, we almost ran back to the Inn to ask him if the price we were quoted for a mini convertible Turbo cooper was a good deal, the words out of his mouth... "own it." So we did! Couldn't have been a better decision, we got the car and saw the whole island, originally we had budgeted for a bike. But this was much much better. That night Erik took us and another couple to the beach were we had an awesome fire, ate some food, and warmed us up by heating up rocks and handing them to us ladies! (And then my boyfriend, now Fiance' took them all.) quite chivalrous! ;-)

The next day my fiance went to Erik for places on the island that would be good for a proposal, erik whipped out a map and started circling and staring a whole bunch of places. Long story short we got engaged that day, and along the way during the day my fiance called erik to make sure we weren't breaking any island laws by going down private roads or parking in random places. Trust me it was quite the adventure and I loved it! We went the second weekend in September so it wasn't busy at all.

People as us about our engagement story and I never thought mine would have have such an awesome inn keeper, and a very adventurous story.

You probably want to know about the Inn, it is clean, amazing food, snacks and drink almost all the time. They have beach chairs, blankets, towels, coolers. All the great stuff for a beach day, books, a refrigerator. There aren't TV's in the rooms but let me tell you there isn't enough time to watch TV!!! and if there is something you want to watch there is a living area where there is one. The different rooms are amazing! Erik showed us almost all of them including the suite on the top floor and then the top canopy where you can see pretty much the whole island!

Basically this place was amazing, Erik was a tour guide, a muse, photographer, and most importantly a grateful dead fan! :-) Before we left we made plans to come back same time in 2012. We won't go anywhere else!

Thanks for all the wonderful memories!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were wonderful! we had the green room and loved that it was off to the side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Countriebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Staying at the Oak Bluffs Inn really made our trip. The owner, Eric, was incredibly nice and attentive.
He upgraded us to the top-floor suite since no other guests had booked it and this was a special birthday trip. The room had snacks and drinks, comfy furniture, a clawfoot tub, and two balconies! There was also a ladder leading up from the hallway to an octagonal turret with a view of Oak Bluffs.
In addition to the morning breakfast spread (which usually included a pan filled with some home-baked breakfast treat) they put out an afternoon snack with cookies, and there was a small fridge of sodas and other drinks available 24/7 downstairs. The decanter of port on the sideboard was very civilized and a lovely way to cap off the evening, sitting on the porch or balcony by candlelight.
They had beach towels, chairs, and umbrellas available for guests to borrow downstairs. Feel free to ask Eric for recommendations on places to go and places to dine -- we really loved his suggestions that were not in our guidebook, such as the Field Gallery and the highest point on the island, which is unmarked.
Eric even friended us on Facebook at the end of the trip, so now we can watch with envy as he posts his photos of kayaking in the sunset and relaxing by bonfires on the island.

Room Tip: The top-floor suite was pretty amazing. It was like the size of a small apartment with two balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LBug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
767 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bluffs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bluffs Inn

Property: Oak Bluffs Inn
Address: 64 Circuit Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Bluffs Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Oak Bluffs Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Bluffs Hotel Oak Bluffs
Oak Bluffs Inn MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing