We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it and Can't wait to Come back”
Review of Nashua House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nashua House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

They were very nice and accommodating. Also, we were very close to everything in town. I had a great experience and plan to stay there next time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenBanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

The name of the game in Martha's Vineyard was "actitud". The locals call it August burn, but you know, it was not our fault that we where there in October. We had really bad luck on the first 2 places we stay, but finally we decide to move to Oak Bluffs and we had a great time there. Nice details, nice stuff, beautiful room, and even when the bath is shared, it was always impecable. The cost/value is excellent. With the difference on the price from the more expensive places full of actitud and bad service and this one, we rented 2 bikes and enjoyed the island biking everywhere, we even took a bus to the very west point and get back biking visiting several small towns on the way. Not that we will be back any time soon to the island, but if we had to, we know where to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BohemiaViajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I had the pleasure of staying in this quaint little gem in the heart of Oak Bluffs. I walked in a was greeted by the innkeeper (her name escapes me at the moment) and instantly felt like this was a place that has been truly loved.
She produced us with the keys to our room. As I entered room 6 at the top of the stairs, I instantly fell in love with the original bead board walls and the touches that truly make it a home away from home. Room 6 overlooks one of the main roads in Oak Bluffs and while some might see this as a drawback, I saw it as an opportunity to scope out the scene below. The waft of backdoor donuts in the late evening can lure even the most avid dieter down for a tasty treat along the water. I will definitely stay here again during my future excursions to the Vineyard.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megs3482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We give the Nashua House 5 stars but would give it 10 if we could!

We have stayed at the Nashua House several times now and in different rooms. All the rooms are very clean and the beds are great. Although we are not big fans of sharing a bathroom at the Nashua House its not a problem at all. The bathrooms are so clean and the staff stays rght on top of keeping them that way.

MaryBeth and Lori that run the hotel are the greatest people on the island. They are so helpful and accomadating and make you feel so welcome. We will always make the Nashua House our first choice on the Vineyard because the rates are reasonable and the place is in a great location (we also go off season and the rates are even better!)

Also, the best part of all is it is right next door to "Back Door Doughnuts" so be sure to ask MaryBeth and Lori about that hidden secret!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryRob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

After much research my husband and I booked our trip to the Nashua house for our 5 year anniversary. We arrived at the Nashua house and were able to leave our luggage in the hotel lobby until we could check-in at 3. Now You may be hesitant to do so, But the great thing about the Hotel is that you need a key to open the front door, as well as your room!!! I felt so safe. We rented bikes and the hotel also had an offsite bike storage room. Stayed in room 2 which had a balcony, which was awesome to hang out on before heading off to dinner. The staff was super friendly, and we felt like we were at home. They made our trip special and enjoyable. It is in the heart of a busy town, but with the AC on we didnt hear a thing!!! Definately recommending Nashua house to friends and family, and WILL stay again!!.....

Room Tip: Any with a balcony, Room 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melanie1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We felt so relax and the owner and manager were so friendly and feel like if we are family.

They were so generous and Suggest must go there.

Thank you... We will never that moment our vacation were worth!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zalisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The Nashua House was the most reasonably priced accomodation we could find on Martha's Vineyard (not including hostels), and as a result we weren't expecting the highest standard. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in Room 9 ($109 per night). It was very cute, clean and had plenty of light. Although the rooms share bathrooms, this wasn't a problem at all - Despite it being a 'full house' during our stay, we never once had to wait for the bathroom.

We were very impressed by the helpfulness of the House manager. My boyfriend had quite badly injured his foot the day before arrival. The House manager not only provided us with crutches, but was also proactive in providing us with other medical supplies, such as antiseptic.

The only negative for us was that the street below our room was quite busy, and there was a lot of yelling and loud vehicles driving past into the early hours of the morning. Unfortunately this affected our sleep quality; but I guess that is a consequence of the great central location of Nashua House. It would also be good if there were computers with internet, as the closest location for this is the public library which is about a 20 minute walk away.

Overall, we were extremely happy with the Nashua House, and will definitely stay there again if we return to Oak Bluffs.

Room Tip: Go for Room 9 or 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEThomas2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
1,003 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.1 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashua House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashua House Hotel

Address: 9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: £49 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nashua House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super charming and very affordable 15 room Victorian era inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Cozy rooms, cottage style furnishings, quality linens, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, just one block from the ferry and beach. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, public transportation, bike and car rentals, historic sights. Always the lowest price on Martha's Vineyard. Shared bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Nashua House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nashua Hotel Oak Bluffs
Nashua House Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing