We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Getaway”
Review of Nashua House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nashua House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Getaway”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Location is very convenient. Rooms and bathrooms are Immaculately clean. Room 1 is roomy. Bottled water and snacks are complimentary. Towels and toiletries are replaced frequently. For the cost of $69 per night is reasonable accommodation in Martha's Vineyard. With cable and internet service. My suggestion is to have at least a microwave and a small refrigerator in the reception area. Off season visit thus majority of the establishments and attractions are closed. Places to eat that are great and reasonably priced which are opened for the season are: Linda Jean's (breakfast), O-Sun Asian Restaurant, Thai cuisine, Menemsha market owned by the Larsen's (clam chowder, lobster, a slab of swordfish). Sharky's Cantina served Mexican cuisine that sucks!!! We had some bite of sweets in Mudrick's Fudge at Edgartown, a little pricey yet great. We bought 3 days pass for $15 valid from Nov. 21 til Nov. 24. Too bad no bus service during Thanksgiving Day when it was sunny compared to previous days which were not conducive to visit upper island town because of bad weather either rainy or windy. As a whole, we still enjoyed the visit to Martha's Vineyard.

Room Tip: Conveniently located to bus stop where MVTA picks up and drops off passengers. Choose room number 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGorgeousGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    103
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
40
169
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Right in the heart of it all. Walking distance to everythin that is wonderful about Martha's Vineyard! No car necessary!
Walk to the beach, or the bus stop with all island access.
Walk to several local restaurants,including one that is an annual stop for the president!
Do NOT miss seeing the Tabernacle and the campground. Bring your camera to capture the Victorian beauty.
Sadly, this hotel is not for everyone, the immaculate bathrooms are all shared, and there are stairs to climb.

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chilypepah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Hotel location good. Close to restaurants, shops and supermarkets. Room #1 is comfy, clean with partial view of ocean and access to outside deck, quaint and lovely. Bathroom is clean and relatively roomy, and shower works like a dream. Management is friendly and very helpful. Will highly recommend hotel.

Room Tip: Room #1 is great, especially for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WS2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Wonderful clean, nice hotel. Nice little touches in the rooms like bottled water and snacks. All rooms are nicely decorated, colorful and light.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerikeKiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My friend and I stopped by at Nashua House for 2 nights on our New England Road Trip.
We can only recommend this inexpensive, conveniently located hotel.

Our room was tastefully furnished and we felt just like home. Shampoo and towels were provided in a wooden basket on the beds.

The bathrooms were superclean and in their turquoise color also had a homey feel to it.

The staff was supernice and turned the heating on in our room as it was only the beginning of the cold/fall season.

If you should ever vacation on Martha´s Vineyard, Nashua House Hotel is the place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chziak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We booked room 2 which has balcony access and shares the bathroom with room 1. The room is small but comfortable and the overall stay was just what we wanted...a view, comfortable, clean, friendly and great value on the island. The staff is welcoming and the location is ideal, quick walk to stores, post office, restaurants, beach and the gingerbread house campground. Don't miss this place during your next visit to the island!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debster992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The location is great--very close to ferry, bus stop, shops & restaurants. The folks who work here are wonderful--they were accommodating about all our needs, read maps for us that we coudn't interpret & were friendly & fun to talk to--even rushed out the door to say goodbye when we left. I've stayed in a few expensive places & not received such service. The rooms are adorable--sort of beach/Cape Cod/Victorian. It can be a little noisy at night, but we all slept well. If that bothers you, get a 2nd or 3rd floor room. You will not find anything cheaper on MV. Nothing negative to say about this place--we'll be back!

Room Tip: Some 2nd floor rooms have balconies--check their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beignetmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madison Inn
Madison Inn
#3 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashua House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashua House Hotel

Property: Nashua House Hotel
Address: 9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nashua House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super charming and very affordable 15 room Victorian era inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Cozy rooms, cottage style furnishings, quality linens, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, just one block from the ferry and beach. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, public transportation, bike and car rentals, historic sights. Always the lowest price on Martha's Vineyard. Shared bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Nashua House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nashua Hotel Oak Bluffs
Nashua House Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing