We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Weekend”
Review of Nashua House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nashua House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Neither of us ever thought we would get to Martha's Vineyard let alone find somewhere to stay that was priced so reasonably in a great location and offered so much. Rooms are exactly as advertised, clean and well maintained. From check in to check out nothing is too much trouble and we appreciated recommendations for dining/drinking and help with ferry departure times and locations. We were in Room 1 and the view over Nantucket Sound was to die for. Thanks for having us on one of our "Dream Locations".

Danie and Denise

Room Tip: If available Number 1 has everything, especially the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Terrific service, clean and good value.....always try to stay here when on island. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay on Martha's Vineyard. Location is central to Oak Bluffs and rooms are very nice. Sharing bathrooms is easy and without privacy concerns for those new to this experience,,,,overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradleyBarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We went to stay for a quick weekend on the Vineyard. The location was great. Right off of the ferry in Oak Bluffs. We didn't bring a car, so it was super convenient. We went at the end of September, so the area was pretty quiet, but there was enough open to have a great visit. The rooms at the Nashua house were comfortable and clean, and very welcoming. There was no problem sharing bathrooms since there were two on our floor, and a couple on the floor beneath ours. The bathrooms were super clean and very nice. The staff was great. They let us keep our luggage there before we checked in and after we checked out while we continued to tour the island. They also gave us access to a small garage to lock up our bikes that we brought so we didn't have to leave them on the street overnight. We had a wonderful time and will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We always go to Martha's Vineyard off season to miss the crowd, but apparently Sept/Oct is wedding time there, so it was still a challenge to find two rooms within several weeks of arrival. We ended up at Nashua House because many other places were sold out, but it was a very nice stay and a very nice price. The staff was very pleasant, the property was very clean, and it gave a nice taste of the Vineyard. Shared bath was not a big deal, there were several on each floor so it was never an issue. Although I like it's sister property right around the corner, the Madison, better, this was totally fine...and a very good value.

Room Tip: The hotel's center-of-town location brings noise, it's right in the center of town which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeWPomCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great town, warm and friendly staff, clean rooms. It is what it is for a place to stay on the Vineyard. You won't find full service hotels on the island so this is basically the best you get. Rooms were small but decorated nicely. Beds were comfortable. Linens fresh. Cable and Internet were not working while we stayed there. Fresh coffee, tea, fruit, and cookies available 24/7 in the lobby. Biscuits in town is the best breakfast and one of the only breakfast spots.

Room Tip: Room #1 is the best with view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have stayed at the Nashua House twice over the years, both times after Labor Day when we felt like we needed one last weekend on Martha's Vineyard. The price is very reasonable and the location is perfect (right across the street from the Offshore Ale House where the celebrated Hop Goddess is brewed and the food is good), and close to everything you could want in Oak Bluffs. The rooms are very clean and cozy, and the shared bathrooms are immaculate. The inn keepers take pains to keep the vibe quiet which is why they do not encourage families with very young children to stay with them. The front desk always has cookies, good coffee, fruit and candy available. The inn keepers are also super accommodating about allowing travelers to stash their back packs in the lobby before and after check in/check out which is very helpful for those who are on foot,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I was very very pleased with my stay. The location was perfect: close to the ferry and the wedding I was attending this weekend. Nashua House was the best deal I could find; so, I was not sure what I was going to find when I arrived. I was so pleasantly surprised with my room. The rooms and bathrooms were well-maintained and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. It was great to wake up in the AM and be able to make myself a cup of coffee and grab a piece of fruit at the lobby. Very happy...and plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarzana68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nashua House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nashua House Hotel

Address: 9 Healy Way, PO Box 803, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: £74 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nashua House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super charming and very affordable 15 room Victorian era inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Cozy rooms, cottage style furnishings, quality linens, spotlessly clean, free Wi-Fi, just one block from the ferry and beach. Within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants, public transportation, bike and car rentals, historic sights. Always the lowest price on Martha's Vineyard. Shared bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Nashua House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nashua Hotel Oak Bluffs
Nashua House Hotel Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing