We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iroquios House was perfect!”
Review of Narragansett House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Narragansett House
Ranked #6 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Owned by and across the street from the Narragansett House, the Iroquois House is a step up from the Narragansett House. This historic house was beautifully renovated and exquisitely maintained. Large, nicely appointed, clean rooms, comfortable beds, updated bathrooms, and every room with AC, ceiling fan and a private porch. Communal refrigerator was very convenient. Continental breakfast was always out early with OJ, coffee/tea and home made muffins and coffee cake (not great for those who are gluten intolerant). Staff was always friendly and helpful. Location is a few blocks away from "downtown" Oak Bluffs though very quiet. Gardens were lovely. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms not on street side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GleanerGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week for 3 nights. The place was clean and the owner was a sweetheart. She was always willing to help with advice or even an umbrella during the rain.....which it did for 3 days. Location was great, walking distance from the center of town but not so close that you heard the noise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We planned a quick trip to Martha's Vineyard to see our son who is playing baseball on the island. and was celebrating his birthday. Jane was extremely accommodating with the short notice and was able to provide a lovely, comfy room for our family of three. All amenities were clean and well appointed (and the bed was VERY comfortable!) We were in the Iroquois house which has been painstakingly restored. WHEN we return, we'll come back to the Narragansett House!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

This place was altogether too cute. Staff were friendly, rooms quaint and in a great location. Sure, things are a little compact but I wouldn't have booked a B&B if I wanted spacious, open-plan accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I've spent two days at Narragansett House middle of Sept. That was a very good choice! Position is good, close both to the beach and Oak Bluffs city center. The B&B itself is nice, rooms are nice too, andclean, average in size. Welcome from staff was warm, they were also helpful in giving directions and explaining the island a little. What else? Oh, muffins at breakfast were good too! Adviced.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
Thank Seadream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Ours has been an end of season retreat to the island (first time visit) and this property was selected out of necessity based on availability of rooms at the last minute. Be that as it may, I was a little weary before we arrived but became pleasantly surprised upon check in. We stayed in the Iroquois House and our room was very comfortable for this type of house. The owners have done a magnificent job of restoring the properties.

Jane, the proprietor, was very nice and helpful while we were checking in and give us the nickel tour of the island from the ariel photo hanging at the front desk.

This was a very nice stay and I would have no reservations about staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewj2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend. We were in room 11, which is a nice big corner room with lots of windows, a screen door and a kitchenette. It was just right for us. The owner was very helpful wih advice about where to get bikes (we got a $5 discount because we were staying there) and where to pick up the bus for our trip to Aquinnah. The breakfast was fine - several types of muffins, coifee cake, juice - but I would have liked a lower fat alternative like maybe oatmeal or English muffins. Regarding the low ratings in tripadvisor, notice that the 3 "terrible" review were logged in the same week, possibly by the same set of travelers, and please take that into account. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.3 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madison Inn
Madison Inn
#3 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Martha's Vineyard Surfside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narragansett House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narragansett House

Address: 46 Narragansett Ave., PO Box 2478, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: £132 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Narragansett House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Narragansett House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narragansett House Hotel Oak Bluffs
Narragansett House Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing