We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #5 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I have never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast place before and I would absolutely recommend this one. I went away with 3 of my childhood girlfriends and did not know what to expect but it was a wonderful experience especially with the treatment of the owners. Kathleen and Frank were the best hosts with the most delicious breakfast each morning The rooms were spotless and any thing that we needed all we had to do is ask. I will go back with my husband so he can meet them and see how great the place was.

Room Tip: ask for room over the garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMPNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing,beautiful clean place to stay you have found it. Kathleen's Kottage is the best of both worlds close to shopping,restaurants and the Oak Bluffs harbor! (it is an 8 minute walk) It is also peaceful and quiet. Kathleen is very warm and inviting has the best breakfast in town!! I have been coming to the Vineyard for years and would never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islandgirl20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I would highly recommend Kathleen's Kottage. The location is ideal. It is far enough from town to be quiet, yet close enough to be convenient. We did not have a car, yet could easily get around the island. It is a ten to fifteen minute walk to town and buses. The beach is right down the street. Our room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and spacious. The hosts, Kathleen and Frank are awesome and did everything possible to make us feel at home. They provided excellent suggestions, breakfasts and conversation. I could not imagine staying anyplace else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salbanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

If you want to truly experience the Vineyard, there is no better place to stay than at Kathleen's Kottage. Kathleen and Frank are amazing hosts, welcoming you like long lost family. They know the Vineyard well and are a great source of suggestions and insider information. In fact, one morning, Kathleen kindly took us quahogging or clam gathering. Afterwards, she made a wonderful feast of cherrystone clams on the half shell and larger clams steamed in wine and garlic. Kathleen is an inventive cook and baker -- supplying you with delicious homemade cookies and scones. And her breakfasts are amazing -- different each day, gourmet in quality, made from scratch and wholesome ingredients. Plenty of coffee, muffins, fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade granola etc. followed by a hot breakfast ranging from Portuguese sweet bread French toast to Danish aebleskiver and chorizo frittatas. If you tell her in advance, she will tailor your breakfast to accommodate any food sensitivities, allergies, or preferences. The Kottage is within walking distance to Oak Bluffs commercial center, the Gingerbread cottages, and the ocean beach. Bike trails are easily accessible and there is a place to store your bikes if you desire. The rooms are clean, beautiful and very comfortable. You are free to come and go according to your own schedule (while of course being considerate of other guests). From here it is easy to explore all corners of the island, and then return for a cozy night. But my favorite part was getting to know Kathleen and Frank -- both extraordinary people who offer stimulating conversation, insights into island life, and a warm welcome to a beautiful place to visit.

Room Tip: The twin room has twin beds -- but they can be pushed together to make a single bed if desired. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Congratulations Kathy and Frank, you run an amazing B&B. We were Three fishermen desperately seeking a place to lay our weary bodies at the end of hours on the water and were not expecting much. Kathleen's Kottage was an unexpected gem on Martha's Vineyard. I was a pleasure meeting both of you. My wife and I have been vacationing on the Vineyard for more than 30 years and wish that we had met you long ago. We will return again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Fabulous stay at Kathleen's Kottage; an exceptionally nice b & b and innkeeper! Booked in the "Millie", a large room with king bed, flat screen tv, dresser, robes, bathroom with double sinks, and huge shower. Bed was extremely comfortable; nice linens too. Room and cottage were extremely clean and comfortable, kind of a sea cottage decor, and are located in a very quiet area with an easy walk to town. There's a lovely deck area and table outside or chairs on the front porch too. Breakfast was excellent, homemade by Kathleen, and we had yummy chocolate chip cookies warm from the oven on arrival. Kathleen and her husband Frank make you feel immediately at ease, are knowledgeable about the island, and offered valuable suggestions. Kathleen is extremely welcoming, and repeatedly went out of her way to help. Every time we discussed something or had a question, she offered resources or assistance. Have met few other innkeepers with such a natural aptitude with people and for customer service. Read no further; book this property. K & F, thanks for a great stay; we'll be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alltravellvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this Inn on the Vineyard and it was amazing. The Inn owners Kathy and Frank were extremely friendly, welcoming and provided valuable information regarding the island. The property is very clean and beautifully maintained inside and out. The breakfast was outstanding and homemade by Kathy. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to We look forward to returning again soon...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda_d_1346111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
4.9 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard

Property: Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard
Address: 59 Naushon Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathleen's Kottage is a 'Host Home' style B&B, quaint and friendly with limited guest rooms. The 2 suites come with fully private baths. The 3rd room (The Twins) has a private bath located downstairs. Small pets are welcome. Conveniently located close to downtown, the beach, walking and bike trails, and the golf course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kathleen's Kottage On Martha's Vineyard Oak Bluffs, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing