We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch & Convenient”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #5 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Maynard, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top Notch & Convenient”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Kathleen's Kottage is everything you'd want in a B&B. It's well-run by Kathleen herself, who is a very professional yet warm & friendly host. She is an excellent cook and her frittata with chorizo is not to be forgotten. The homemade blueberry muffins are also a treat. The place is very clean and beautifully decorated. You feel like you're breathing in fresh air when you arrive in the new yet classic "Mary" suite. The indoor shower is spacious and new, but the outdoor shower is the real treat. It's a must for anyone staying on the Cape or Islands. Blue sky overhead and fresh breezes, but hot water pouring down and don't worry, nobody can see you. She provides beach chairs to borrow, an important thing when you don't want to lug your own from home to the Vineyard. Also in the back is a bike storage rack.

Room Tip: You can't beat the Mary room. It's a nice 2-room suite with a big double-sink bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyMaynard_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We usually stay at the Oak Bluffs Inn but they didn't have a vacancy so we were happy to find a last minute room at Kathleen's Kottage just down the road. This is everything you expect a B&B to be. Quaint little spot with country beach decor. The Millie room was large and clean with every amenity including AC and in-room television. Kathleen was such as lovely woman, we spent time chatting with her as she cooked us a full breakfast of cinnamon French toast and sausage. We also enjoyed Greek yogurt, scones, biscotti and fresh baked banana muffins. She allowed us to store our things before and after check in and even let us use the outdoor shower after check out so we could clean off from the beach before heading back on the ferry later that afternoon. Great value and hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5STARz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

WONDEFUL experience! I recommend selecting Kathleen's Kottage for a Martha's Vineyard getaway!! It's walking distance to the shopping areas, docks and beach. The house is quaint and cozy. AND, breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We had been to the Vineyard for day trips but never overnight. We opted to try Kathleen's Kottage after reading another reviewer say they couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. They are spot on. We initially booked 3 nights and thankfully our room was open for another so we added a 4th. We stayed in the Millie - on the 2nd floor of the main house - queen bed and an oversized bathroom with twin sinks and lovely tiled bench shower. Kathleen and Frank are amazing hosts - you'll instantly take to them as they are so cordial and easy to get along with. Both know the island so well and can offer many recommendations for recreation and dining. Kathleen has a number of relationships with island businesses and she uses them to your advantage. If you want to rent a car, Kathleen calls and negotiates the best possible rate for you and then arranges for the car to be delivered. Breakfast is always a treat with a daily hot entree such as Portuguese sweetbread french toast, Frittata, or eggs benny. Make sure she makes her ebelskivers - a Danish, filled mini-pancake. Deelish!! The Kottage is small - 3 rooms total - so book early ... and often!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ccninports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed in the 2 room suite detached from the house with friends. Wonderful, private, and close to town. Kathleen and her husband were so friendly and kind. Kathleen a perfect hostess and excellent cook. What I also liked about the place was you could either stay at the property and enjoy the beautiful yard, or you could walk into town.

Room Tip: Detached suite is very private and has it's own entrance ...great for families or group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Babsluvstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Birthday Club of MA stayed on the Vineyard in July and we made the right choice! I cannot wait to bring my fiance and daughter here. Beautiful decor, fantastic food, wonderful hosts!
Just LOVED it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I have never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast place before and I would absolutely recommend this one. I went away with 3 of my childhood girlfriends and did not know what to expect but it was a wonderful experience especially with the treatment of the owners. Kathleen and Frank were the best hosts with the most delicious breakfast each morning The rooms were spotless and any thing that we needed all we had to do is ask. I will go back with my husband so he can meet them and see how great the place was.

Room Tip: ask for room over the garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMPNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
788 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
933 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard

Property: Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard
Address: 59 Naushon Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathleen's Kottage is a 'Host Home' style B&B, quaint and friendly with limited guest rooms. The 2 suites come with fully private baths. The 3rd room (The Twins) has a private bath located downstairs. Small pets are welcome. Conveniently located close to downtown, the beach, walking and bike trails, and the golf course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kathleen's Kottage On Martha's Vineyard Oak Bluffs, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing