We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard
Ranked #5 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is my last day here at Kathleen's Kottage and it's been truly an amazing experience travelling alone. Kathleen's Kottage is truly a home away from home. I love my room, "The Twin Room" It is so comfortable, homey, inviting, super clean and accommodating. I don't normally eat breakfast but I will miss her amazing and delicious breakfast. I had my first waffles here and my first aebleskiver (Danish pancake) and let's not forget the bread pudding she made for breakfast this morning, that was so deliciousssoooo.....Kathleen is one super nice and classy lady and let's not forget Frank, he is just as nice as Kathleen. They are the perfect hosts and engaging in a conversation with Kathleen after breakfast is a plus. She is so comfortable to talk to, like a close friend or a mother. I will come back to Kathleen's Kottage again. Kathleen thank you for the recipe tip. Love you guys. You guys are the best!!!!!!!!!!!

Donna (Canada)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna4667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plaistow, NH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our annual trip to the Vineyard. We stayed in the Mary suite. The room was gorgeous! Perfectly clean and comfortable...truly a home away from home experience. Kathleen's breakfasts were amazing! I especially enjoyed her home made goodies, and the portuguese french toast :) We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Mary Suite is perfect for those looking for extra privacy. It has its own entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosya86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhode island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Kathleen and Frank were consummate hosts... Staying with them in their 'home' was so relaxing... Exactly what the proverbial doctor ordered... The rooms were neat as a pin... Comfortable and inviting for the perfect respite from the mainland craziness ....Kathleen's breakfasts were delicious .. With a cup of joe to get one's engine revved up for a day of island fun...it was very hard to leave them and this idyllic venue... PS.. The backyard is beautiful..flowers abloom, birds galore, and if you see Henry and Sandy... Give them a head rub from us.....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcmsox2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Frank and Kathleen were wonderful hosts and engaging in great conversation. The breakfast was excellent with a variety of sweets and fruits. The room was comfortable and accommodating. Wish we could have stayed longer. The location away from city center was a plus. They were very helpful for allowing us to keep our luggage while we were out even early checking and check out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Spent a really nice weekend with my wife and my 4-year old son at Kathleen's Cottage. Kathleen (and her husband Frank) are genuinely nice, friendly people who accommodated and/or anticipated our every need. Kathleen runs her B&B like a well-oiled machine but treats every person there as a special guest. Highlights for us were her amazing breakfasts (ebelskivers!! -- look it up) and the pristine Little League ballpark across the street that our son woke up early to play upon. Added bonus: we got to know some of other lovely and interesting people who were also kathleen's guests that weekend. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markskatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Kathleen and Frank are great hosts. They know the area extremely well and have great recommendations. The breakfast was superb! The room we had "Mary" is fantastic! The shower is HUGE! I didn't want to leave! If you go to MV, this is the place!

Room Tip: MARY! It is a "suite"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acushnet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

So happy to have found a treasure of a place to stay on my recent visit to Martha's Vineyard with some friends. Kathleen is beyond hospitable and a seasoned Vineyarder having spent many summers on the Island growing up. Her knowledge of where to go & what to see is invaluable. You will not find a better breakfast on the Island having an array of home cooked items served to you. The rooms were neat, clean & comfortable and her place has a cozy charm about it. If you want a warm, intimate experience on the Island, this is the place to stay! Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
4.9 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard

Property: Kathleen's Kottage on Martha's Vineyard
Address: 59 Naushon Ave, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kathleen's Kottage is a 'Host Home' style B&B, quaint and friendly with limited guest rooms. The 2 suites come with fully private baths. The 3rd room (The Twins) has a private bath located downstairs. Small pets are welcome. Conveniently located close to downtown, the beach, walking and bike trails, and the golf course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kathleen's Kottage On Martha's Vineyard Oak Bluffs, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing