We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bakery around!!”
Review of Back Door Donuts

Back Door Donuts
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$5
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Cash Only, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best bakery around!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We came here last year and the baked goods were very yummy. This year we came back and had the best apple fritters and raspberry pie on the island and the other donuts were the best! Each year that we come back for vacation we are definitely coming here. It is now a family tradition. The staff are super friendly too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carriegirly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    133
    40
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty, Quality Doughnuts”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Back Door Doughnuts was a charming, old fashioned bakery with fantastic, flavorful doughnuts that taste like they come from a bakery and not a factory.....excellent local flair, a must stop destination

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We happened upon this shop which is on the side street andwe got a lot of things for breakfast the next morning. Heated them up and they wer just as delicious as the day before!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jostergren61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quite a surprise!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We went on a whim having heard about the place from a local. It opens at 7 pm and we went at 7 10 with only one person in front of us. The cinnamon donut, warm from the oven was absolutely delicious. I speak as someone who never eats donuts. Never. If that hadn't have been our last night I might well have gone there every night for my dessert! Do try it for yourself.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dyann66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hot n Fresh nightly”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

don't miss this place ! Great Doughnuts and More !!! Been an in-town favorite for years !! They are wonderful and I gain 10 lbs just thinking bout them ! :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Back Door Donuts also viewed

 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Back Door Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing