We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in OB”

Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: BEST CHOWDER IN NEW ENGLAND FROM YANKEE MAGAZINE, BEST CHOWDER 2015 from CAPE & ISLANDS MAGAZINE, MV MAGAZINE and winner of the 2015 MV CHOWDER CONTEST!! - Copper and mahogany grace our nautically chic dining room creating a casual-fine dining atmosphere. Fresh, local when available seafood, pasture raised steaks, all-natural chicken, craft cocktails, 15 beers on tap and of course the best award winning chowder in the country are waiting for your visit to our beautiful island. Play a game in our 5000 Sq Ft 21+ game room 'LoFT' upstairs (Which features 6 pool tables, darts, foosball, Shuffleboard tables, ping pong, full bar, jukebox & more) or entertain yourself in our large, comfortable bar and enjoy an authentic Martha's Vineyard experience while being catered to by the most attentive staff in New England. Welcome to the Martha's VIneyard Chowder Company!
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in OB”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

OB is not known for its fine dining. "ChoCo" is probably the best meal in OB. Don't expect anything exceptional or really high end but it is a nice upscale modern pub-like feel that has decent food. I think it has fallen a notch down since it opened but it is still good. It is right near the harbor and can be busy and noisy during peak season. The prices are not too bad for MV but are still high by mainland standards. I eat here probably 6-8x per year. Good place to have dinner if you are staying on your boat in the harbor...right up the street on the left. Probably the best you can do without driving anyplace. Nice bar, rawbar and aps.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    200
    64
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great chowder and more!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Everything we heard about this place was true. The chowder was some of the best we have ever eaten, that includes Nantucket, and the best restaurants on Cape Cod!
In case you are not a chowder lover, their entire menu is also wonderful. When we visited, my wife ordered a lobstah roll. She talked abbout it for the entire week. WE plan to vist there every time we return to the vineyard. We suggest you place this on your "must visit" list!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeithLauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DE
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a great meal”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We visited on a cold March evening and found the MVCC packed with a definite locals crowd ... they definitely know a good thing and probably want to keep it secret! Great food, very good service and a lively, casual ambience. Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hockessinstorm43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
105 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I went here with a friend for dinner. This is the second year and things are very much the same (In good ways). I found the service to be great and attentive. The food was prepared fresh and creatively. You can see the kitchen through a window (a cool detail I've learned to like). The portions are large though so bring some appetite with you. I of course had to try the chowder, which was good (the best? I don't know but worth it). The atmosphere is very nice and everything is kept clean. There is a large bar area if you're passing through and just want to get a bite.
I would go here again easily. Two years in a row and two consistent great meals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RhodyPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our most elegant and delicious dining experience during the week we spent on the island. Well worth the brief wait. Chowder is great, the rest of our meal was too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank missgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing