We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent chowder!”

Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: BEST CHOWDER IN NEW ENGLAND FROM YANKEE MAGAZINE, BEST CHOWDER 2015 from CAPE & ISLANDS MAGAZINE, MV MAGAZINE and winner of the 2015 MV CHOWDER CONTEST!! - Copper and mahogany grace our nautically chic dining room creating a casual-fine dining atmosphere. Fresh, local when available seafood, pasture raised steaks, all-natural chicken, craft cocktails, 15 beers on tap and of course the best award winning chowder in the country are waiting for your visit to our beautiful island. Play a game in our 5000 Sq Ft 21+ game room 'LoFT' upstairs (Which features 6 pool tables, darts, foosball, Shuffleboard tables, ping pong, full bar, jukebox & more) or entertain yourself in our large, comfortable bar and enjoy an authentic Martha's Vineyard experience while being catered to by the most attentive staff in New England. Welcome to the Martha's VIneyard Chowder Company!
Coeburn
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent chowder!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

All I tried was the clam chowder because I have to eat gluten free, but it was GREAT! They also had gluten free cider. The service was great, we ate outside at the bar on the deck and it was a wonderful experience. Will definitely return!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gfreegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    188
    59
    20
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I return to the Vineyard multiple times a year and I never miss the opportunity to dine at the Chowder Co. The chowder really is the best I've ever had (and that's saying something). Last time I had oysters and little necks on the half shell (yummy), a cup of the chowder, and the lobster salad on a warm potato cake appetizer - perfect amount of food, and tasted amazing. The service is outstanding - really truly, don't miss it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MannHillBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really liked this spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Food was well done and reasonably priced (for MV). Service was great. Location is easy to access and right in town of OB. We will return here and would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank juliehgrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A "Must Eat At" Destination!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

They say the clam chowder served up at the Chowder Co. is the best in New England. Being the clam chowder fans we are, we pretty much agree! The chowder is one of those extremely flavorful thin soups that is just loaded with all sorts of tasty goodness. It's nice to enjoy a clam chowder that isn't 90% potatoes. We'd rate it a 9 on a scale of 10 - or better!

But that's not all. The lunch menu offers a nice selection of items, mostly seafood. My wife selected the Sauteéd Crab Cakes with Lemon Pepper Salad and Red Pepper Romesco Sauce. She thought the sauce was a little too much for her taste, but the crab cakes were delicious. I went for the Fried Oysters and Banana Hot Peppers with Spicy Remoulade. It was fantastic! The oysters were tender and delicious, cooked just right. What surprised me was that the banana peppers were breaded and deep fried along with the oysters. Dipping it all in the Remoulade gave it a bite that was much to me liking. It was not your typical fried oyster dinner. It was a cut above!

By all means, give this place a try. The ambience is very nice, the waitstaff attentive and pleasant, and there is a full bar along with some craft beers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TVMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Third time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very good food and setting, Well stocked bar, Excellent seafood and raw bar. Service is very but not overly attentive. Third time here, taking friends here, do I say more?

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Martha's Vineyard Chowder Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing