We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views of Vineyard sound from the front porch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samoset On The Sound

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Samoset On The Sound
Ranked #15 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of Vineyard sound from the front porch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This B and B has 8 rooms. The location is right across the street from the beach and within walking distance of everything that OB has to offer. The hosts were great. House is a typical MV cottage on the beach, so if you are expecting 5 star pampering, this is not for you. Perfect beach vacation spot for anyone looking for a real island experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandmarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I will first say that the location is fantastic. Steps from the beach in OB and not even five minutes from the town center. Other than that this place is horrible. Like many in MV for the summer it isnt cheap. The furnishings are old, like dusty and threadbare old, and the place feels like you dont want to sit anywhere. The staff are rude, and being family, they argue in true family fashion in front of guests! I was told upon arriving that breakfast is available 7am-11am, and who ever is up first has to make the coffee. Seriously?! Considering the older than dirt inn keeper didnt rise till about ten it was indeed me. We were there for the fireworks this year and there were no kidding about twenty people crowding the inn's front yard and porch..many of them clearly not 21 and drinking heavily. My husband and I who paid over $230 a night to stay wanted to bring drinks back and sit on the porch ourselves and couldnt find space! A main selling point of this inn is the widow walk on the roof..okay if you dont kill yourself getting up there you can enjoy what? No chair, no nothing, and room for maybe four people at the most. We ended up checking out a day early and they didnt even ask. No 'everything okay?' nothing. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: If you have to do it take the Pagoda room. We had this one..its near the bathroom but doesnt share a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moynihana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oak Bluffs hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I'm from Brazil and I've had the opportunity and privledge to spend many nights and years on the vineyard. each time spending a few nights in The Samoset. Its sort of like coming home. a place that never changes but is always waiting. There is a different authentic rhythm about it. most importantly in all the corners, rooms and views you find a part of the island. The owner and caretaker is full of stories.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HocoCoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Wonderful location with beautiful views. The coziness of your grandma's home. Quick walk to all the shops and restaurants.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

This less expensive inn is a great value if you have some adventure in your soul. It's not for the patron who wants everything 'just so' and is appalled by some dust in the corners. If you're like that, please don't come to this charming inn and ruin it for other folks.

That warning aside, this was a wonderful inn with a lot of character. It's like the big cottage that your great aunt owns. She's not the best housekeeper, but it's clean and sanitary and unfussy, and loaded with quirky details like the overly loud piano and the wind-up victrola. It also has a winding staircase to the widow's walk that allows you to look over the rooftops for many blocks. There's a relaxing public porch downstairs, and a few of the rooms have private porches. Ours overlooked the beach, and was wonderful.

The breakfast is spare. The ceiling are incredibly high with open rafters, like other reviewers have said. There are shared baths--one roomy, one small. We loved it, but it's not for everyone. Do some self-selection here, and you may be very happy. Visiting MV was wonderful, and this place as a comfortable place to stay while doing it.

Room Tip: Most rooms are small. If you want a larger room, get one of the suites. (Ours had an extra twin in i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

It is not easy to get along with the owner. You will feel as if you were a subordinate of her.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tak H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

PROS:
-Fantastic location. You're literally across the street from the beach and a five-seven minute walk from Circuit Avenue. Can't beat that.
-Rooms are not overly kitchy. I do not like lots of flowers and lace so this was nice for me. I stayed in the Apricot room, and it was clean, light, and airy, with minimal lace. (It was kind of pinkish, but then again, it was the apricot room.)
-Ceilings are high and while the smaller rooms are small, they're not cramped, and the high ceilings kind of make you feel like you're in a treehouse. I loved that feeling.
-There is wifi.
-The owners and everyone staffing the B&B were very nice, warm, and welcoming. I have stayed at some B&Bs were it was just kind of awkward, and this one was not like that. They were genuinely pleasant.
-They make it clear on the website that the rooms don't have AC, but do have fans. Honestly, we barely needed the fans-- the house stays fairly cool, and so did our room, even though we were on the second floor.
-My parents were there at the same time we were, and their room had a little balcony overlooking the beach, which was awesome.
-The beds were EXTREMELY comfortable. Definitely as good as top of the line hotels that I have stayed in. And a ton better than many budget hotels.

CONS:
-It's an old house. Floors creak, walls are thin, etc. If you're the kind of person who avoids rooms near the elevator in a standard hotel, beware. You will hear people walking around periodically. It didn't bother me, but I thought it was worth mentioning.
-I would describe the style of the house (not the rooms) as older. Not kitchy in the way that someone deliberately tried to make things overly floral, but in the way that it's full of older pieces and antiques from someone's life. Not my style, but I made good use of the rocking chairs on the front porch and was quite content that way.
-Breakfast is not full style breakfast, but continental (toast, jam, tea, etc). Again, this is something that's clear on the website, but if you're looking for the traditional hot breakfast of many B&Bs, this is not your place.

Room Tip: The porch room has (surprise surprise) a porch! it was wonderful to sit out there and look at the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank stalkingsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
0.4 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samoset On The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samoset On The Sound

Property: The Samoset On The Sound
Address: 65 Sea View Avenue, Corner of Samoset & Seaview Avenues, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557 (Formerly Arend's Samoset-on-the-Sound)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Samoset On The Sound Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing