We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst Experience, Terrible, Please avoid” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Samoset On The Sound

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Bluffs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Samoset On The Sound
Ranked #15 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
NYC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The worst Experience, Terrible, Please avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed this place and it was absolutely the worst experience ever. The Inn was a run-down place but it was almost only one place left in the peak season. We read several very bad reviews, including those warning of attitude of inn-keepers but we thought it might be a subjective judgement. It was really a mistake.

The Inn was operated by an old woman and her relative, niece, both were incredibly rude and could not believe. I should said that the location is not bad, right across a public beach. But all attitude of in-keeper of this place gave us a real nightmare. We had a very small room (much smaller than we thought) and had a constant noise of toilet, shower, walking etc, and I could not sleep at all. The old women constantly told us what we should not do (e.g. our way to hung a towel is bad, none of her business). We complained the room size, noise, breakfast time and quality but they did not listen, instead insulting us verbally and by e-mails. My family members also complained but stated we should provide very honest and objective reviews of this place which would be the best response to their treatment (and they did). We keep all communications with them and would like to share with anyone who would think to stay in this place. As the below review says, I can not recommend this place even to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: First of all, not to choose this place, but if you still go, not to take any rooms next to the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doranobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a place to stay in MV that was close to the ferry, as we were traveling by bike with beach chairs and provisions for a couple days. We were happy with the Samoset. We have stayed at B & B's and know they each have their quirks. The substitute innkeeper was friendly and accommodating. We got nothing less than we expected. The area was a little noisy but it is on a main street. I would be weary if super hot weather was to be expected because there is no A/C. The bathrooms leave a lot to be desired. All in all it's a good place to stay to see the island. The VTA ( bus system) is very good. Eat at the Ocean View.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank microx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This B&B was all I'd hoped for in a getaway on MV. The house mother "Velgrad" is hilarious and ensures that you're well-taken care of, even offering her personal umbrella of it rains.

The location is lovely, just steps away from the beach and the sunset view from the porch is stunning. Top it off with a Portugese Muffin and apricot jam (house special) and you're golden. The rocking chairs and dusk over the shore makes you feel as though you are far, far away--which is just what I was looking for. (With WI-FI of course.)

Velgrad's niece is also very helpful, ready to offer up directions and great spots to eat as needed. All in all, I'd recommend this place if you'd like to experience MV like it was in the movies...the good, old ones.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamika g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Location location location! Samoset On the Sound was the perfect place for my husband and I. We felt very comfortable there. It was like staying with family. We were not looking for a fancy place just a comfortable bed to sleep in with a nice view and close to everything. You absolutely cannot stay in a better location for the price! The view is amazing and you can walk everywhere. We stayed in the porch room which was really neat to wake up and see the sun rise. It included a small fridge which was great. We did have to share a bathroom with other guests but it honestly wasn't a problem. Everything was clean and only had to wait a few minutes one morning for a shower. Breakfasts were simple. Included fresh baked bread, port muffins, cereal and hot coffee and tea. No frills but just what you need to be comfortable. Val and Marlene were so nice. Definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: the porch room! get the porch room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rchambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

This B and B has 8 rooms. The location is right across the street from the beach and within walking distance of everything that OB has to offer. The hosts were great. House is a typical MV cottage on the beach, so if you are expecting 5 star pampering, this is not for you. Perfect beach vacation spot for anyone looking for a real island experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandmarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I will first say that the location is fantastic. Steps from the beach in OB and not even five minutes from the town center. Other than that this place is horrible. Like many in MV for the summer it isnt cheap. The furnishings are old, like dusty and threadbare old, and the place feels like you dont want to sit anywhere. The staff are rude, and being family, they argue in true family fashion in front of guests! I was told upon arriving that breakfast is available 7am-11am, and who ever is up first has to make the coffee. Seriously?! Considering the older than dirt inn keeper didnt rise till about ten it was indeed me. We were there for the fireworks this year and there were no kidding about twenty people crowding the inn's front yard and porch..many of them clearly not 21 and drinking heavily. My husband and I who paid over $230 a night to stay wanted to bring drinks back and sit on the porch ourselves and couldnt find space! A main selling point of this inn is the widow walk on the roof..okay if you dont kill yourself getting up there you can enjoy what? No chair, no nothing, and room for maybe four people at the most. We ended up checking out a day early and they didnt even ask. No 'everything okay?' nothing. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: If you have to do it take the Pagoda room. We had this one..its near the bathroom but doesnt share a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moynihana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oak Bluffs hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I'm from Brazil and I've had the opportunity and privledge to spend many nights and years on the vineyard. each time spending a few nights in The Samoset. Its sort of like coming home. a place that never changes but is always waiting. There is a different authentic rhythm about it. most importantly in all the corners, rooms and views you find a part of the island. The owner and caretaker is full of stories.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HocoCoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
0.4 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.9 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Samoset On The Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Samoset On The Sound

Property: The Samoset On The Sound
Address: 65 Sea View Avenue, Corner of Samoset & Seaview Avenues, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557 (Formerly Arend's Samoset-on-the-Sound)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Samoset On The Sound Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing