We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent View and Good Food”
Review of Lookout Tavern

Lookout Tavern
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Called Lookout Tavern for a reason, the establishment has one of THE best water views on Martha's Vineyard! Overlooking the Nantucket Sound, the Lookout Tavern caters to both sea and land lovers alike. Known for it's amazing sushi, raw bar and seafood, Lookout also offers diners great sandwiches and burgers.
Oil City, PA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent View and Good Food”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We ate at Lookout Tavern after a long day of sightseeing on the island. The food was good, the view was outstanding. My only criticism is that by the time we got there, the bar scene was in full swing, and it was LOUD. I prefer to dine in a more peaceful location, but the view and the food made up for the noise.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevencorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    174
    51
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Tisbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Forced to leave”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My family has been to this restaurant several times and yes the wait is long and yes the food is fair to good. The draw is the view. This year, however, we were treated very disrespectfully by a waitress/hostess. We were seated by the person who initially took our name. We then put in our drink order. Then another person told us that we couldn't stay at the table because it was a table for 5 and we had 4. She said that she would put us back on the waiting list. We were so disturbed that we got up and left. Very disappointed by this unfair treatment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank foodiemvpghnpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Lobster tacos---who would have thought of that?”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very meaty tacos that had perfectly prepared lobster. Forget the slaw that was served with it...pretty ordinary. The fried oysters, cajun style were really tasty, but share an order, or be set for indigestion, as they are a bit hot....cajun, not mexican.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank skiNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place was always packed!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It took us four tries before we were able to get in. For the most part, the food was good. The warm lobster roll was amazing; however, I would pass on the fish and chips -- too much batter.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Good Food, Overcrowded, Long Wait”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

As a family we enjoyed our meals at the Lookout - the seafood was all fresh and delicious, albeit a bit on the expensive side. We ate outdoors on a picnic table with a great view of the Harbor, so in that sense it was a pleasant way to start our vacation. Unfortunately, we got caught in a long line, and even after being seated we waited for a waitress, then even longer for the food. We had traveled all day to get to the island, and were tired and hungry, so this was not a high point of our day - but eventually the food came and we were all pleased with our meals. Perhaps a bit short-staffed on this day? But if this is the norm, don't go there hungry!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lookout Tavern also viewed

 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Lookout Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing