We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Treat!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ben and Bill's Chocolate Emporium

Ben and Bill's Chocolate Emporium
Ranked #1 of 8 Shopping in Oak Bluffs
Attraction details
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
516 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“What a Treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped for a cone here on a warm summers day in Oak Bluffs. This was one of the best impulse things I did all day!!

Caveat Emptor!! The kids size is plenty big! It is a bit expensive at over $4, but the unique flavors make the purchase worth it. I had Triple Chocolate, which consisted of a creamy chocolate ice cream with chocolate fudge and chocolate chips. Yum! If it is a warm day, you will need to work hard at licking the cone or it will be hard to keep the drips from landing on your clothes or in your car!
Two scoops are only 50 cents more, but I did not witness any brave enough to take this on!

Worth a stop for sure!

Helpful?
Thank 1lacrosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream Hands Down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Skip every where else and just come here. The ice cream is crazy creative and decadent. They have some wild favors like lobster or buttered popcorn as well as some more traditional ones like cotton candy - that aren't just pink or blue dyed junk but real vanilla ice cream with real cotton candy. The mocha chip is out of this world. A must do treat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LucyGio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

There are ice cream palces every 5 feet in Oak Bluffs and especially down Circuit Ave. this is the one my husband kept wanting to go back to. We ate too much ice cream and loved every bite. Fresh, delicious and even the small was almost too much to eat!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jostergren61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
229 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Try to get ice cream like this in NY...go ahead, I'll wait.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

You can't.

Lots of excellent ice cream, at a value price, in tons of flavors. Not to be had in NY, at least in Westchester. Too bad Ben or Bill doesn't open a place here.

Don't bother with the other ice cream places in Martha's Vineyard - I tried them all - Ben and Bill's is the best.

But..........I finally got to try the lobster ice cream, and........meh.

No matter, there are 998 zillion other flavors (exaggerating just a bit), so I'm happy. Sadly, I have to wait a year before indulging again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dee dee d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma city
Level Contributor
340 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Classic ice cream/candy parlor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

When you walk in, it's like going back in time. On the left, there's something like 50 flavors of homemade ice cream. On the right, there's a wall of chocolate and candy.

The ice cream was very good. We had the vanilla with heath bar. We sampled the mocha which was really good except we didn't want the coffee so late at night. I also tried the lobster (yes, real lobster). It tastes like ice cream with chunks of lobster in it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank redningja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ben and Bill's Chocolate Emporium also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Ben and Bill's Chocolate Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing