We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, Charming and Relaxing while close to shopping”
Review of Madison Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madison Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Avon, CT, USA
1 review
“Delightful, Charming and Relaxing while close to shopping”
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Staff was courteous and flexible when we had to change move out our reservations by one day due to a drop in wedding invitation which allowed us to fully enjoy our weekend on the Vineyard.

Location is close to shopping, restaurants and activities while a stone's throw to the beach. Rooms were updated and clean, We left the laptops at home so we did not use the wireless internet. Plenty of towels which was very nice, We did not bring a car but rented bikes and used the Madison's "bike room" to store them overnight. In the morning the coffee bar was delicious and we enjoyed coffee out on the sunny patio. The Madison Inn helped make our first trip to Martha's Vineyard a pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohninAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    115
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
191
242
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Blanche went out of her ways to help us find golf courses, flower bouquet, any information we needed in Martha's Vineyard. The room and lobby areas are tastefully decorated with pictures of plants, mathching lamps, all in perfect colour coordination.
Madison Inn is only 7 minutes walk from Oak Bluffs ferry and close to the main street,yet quiet.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanbikinoneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

It was a short walk, even with our overnight bags, from the ferry in Oak Bluffs to Madison Inn. We were able to walk to everything in town and the beach very easily. The room was small but adequate (we were in #7). We were given 2 bottled waters, 2 NutriGrain bars, and 2 snack bags of chips in our room - a very nice touch! There is a small bar with coffee, tea, apples, oranges, and bananas laid out at all times. The fruit did not look appetizing at all. I was going to have one but none of them really looked edible. In the morning, there was a huge apple fritter cut up into pieces. It is definitely not breakfast, which they never claimed to provide. Honestly, we were waiting for our friends to meet us for breakfast so we had a piece to take the edge off our hunger before going out. My husband wanted to take a bath, but he couldn't get the water to fill the bath instead of running the shower so didn't get to use that.

The one BIG negative. We were awakened at 7am by big trucks parked across the street. They left the engines on as they sat there for literally hours loading and unloading the trucks. They were banging down the ramp and the engines were SO loud. It woke us up and we never could get back to sleep. I can't believe that in a little vacation town like that, there isn't an ordinance to not make noise or start work before at least 8am. This is the only reason I might not stay here again if we were to return. There's nothing Madison Inn can do about it, but it certainly affected our night's sleep.

Blanche was available at the front desk for advice, and she had plenty of it! When we told her we were going to go to the beach, she gave us beach towels and wine glasses to take with us. She knew all the restaurants. She recommended Sidecar Restaurant, which is literally right next door. We were skeptical as we figured it was just a neighborly thing to recommend, but their food was amazing! The scallops were the best we had anywhere and we ordered scallops just about every night in Boston. The lobster mac & cheese was good, but definitely overpriced at $20 for really just a small bowl. We also tried Ben and Bill's ice cream shop. In fact, we walked in just as they were closing and they had mercy on us and let us in. That was really good too. We ate breakfast at Linda Jean's. Blueberry pancakes were wonderful and the meat scramble omelet was good too. I would recommend all three of those places to eat. The shopping is town isn't very exciting. We did have a great time walking around the gingerbread cottages and the little church.

Our other dilemma was the bus system. Trying to read the maps was more difficult than it should be! Seriously confusing! We really wanted to get to Menemsha to see the sunset and eat at Larsen's Fish Market, both highly recommended in everything I read. We arrived the Thurs of Memorial Day weekend so the season was technically underway. By bus, it would have taken us 2 hours to get down there, connecting on 3 different buses with at least one hour wait at one stop. We purposefully took the 2:30pm ferry so we could make it by sunset. We were at the first bus stop and ready to leave by 4pm. However, Larsen's closed at 6pm so we couldn't have made it down there in time for dinner anyway. Then the last bus left Menemsha at 7pm so we wouldn't have been able to see the sunset either. Taxi costs $50 each way and over $100 to rent a car, not counting gas, insurance, etc. So if you are not bringing your own car, it is more difficult to get to the other side of the island that everyone leads you to believe. This was my biggest disappointment of our entire Boston/Martha's Vineyard trip was missing out on this highly acclaimed evening. This is not the fault of Madison Inn of course, but I wanted to provide the info in case someone else was thinking of making this trip. Unless you bring your own car (which is also expensive - about $150 RT on the ferry) or want to pay the exorbitant taxi, it really is impossible.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaMandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Traveling with our 4 year makes convenience, quiet, and roominess key. We got all of those things at The Madison Inn. It was a short walk from the ferries. It was close to good restaurants (Sidecar for dinner, Linda Jean's for breakfast), America's oldest carousel, the bus stop, and the beautiful Gingerbread houses of Oak Bluffs. We were in room 6 which is L shaped and gave our little one enough privacy that we could read or watch tv without disturbing her sleep. The bathrrom was also large. The lighting was a little dim but overall a great room. There was some outside noise from loud folks on the patio or a nearby house but that was remedied by running the AC which was needed anyway. The front desk was very helpful with all sorts of recommendations. There were beach towels etc available for the dismal town beach although our 4 year old loved it so there was no need for us to venture anywhere else. We took a tour of the island thru MV sightseeing and again that was great to do with the 4 year old. Left MV on the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend and that was good timing as the island was getting crushed with visitors. We were so glad to have made the visit while it was still fairly quiet.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandnewmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

This was our second time staying at the Madison Inn. We love the location - it's a short walk from the ferrry, to the restaurants/shops and to the beach. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The service was great. You can check out in the morning and still store your stuff there for the rest of the day, which worked out perfect for us because we wanted to spend more time on the island before boarding the afternoon ferry.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citychick111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I traveled with my mother and sister for a quick overnight trip during the off season and on a weekday. We enjoyed it so much. They provided coffee and tea and other assorted goodies. They also had a refrigerator near the front desk for guests to share. The rooms were clean but the beds were a bit soft. Although they advertised wifi, we weren't able to connect to it, but we were able to connect to the public Oak Bluffs one just fine. It was raining slightly the day we were going to leave and we were worried about getting trapped in the rain while waiting for our bus to take us back to the ferry. The woman at the front desk offered to bring us there if it started to rain harder -- although we made it to the bus stop on our own, it was so nice of her to have offered! We definitely plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liux0156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, MA
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2010

My husband and I had a 2-day getaway on Martha's Vineyard this May with two of our friends. This was our first time on Martha's Vineyard and we used Trip Advisor to select the Inn. We chose Madison Inn and were very glad that we did. The Inn is located right in the center of Oak Bluffs, very close to all the restaurants and the shopping area, as well as the bus stop (in case you are planning to use public transportation). The ocean is within a walking distance as well. The hotel itself is recently renovated, very clean and cute :) Each room has a private bathroom. The staff was extremely helpful with all of our questions about getting around, places to eat, etc. On the second day we decided to go to Menemsha and Gayhead, so Blanche was kind enough to pack some beach towels and wine glasses for us. We had a great time and hope to go back at some point later this year!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
347 reviews
5.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
947 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Inn

Property: Madison Inn
Address: 18 Kennebec Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madison Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely charming and thoroughly affordable 15 room inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Always the Vineyard's best value! In town location is convenient to everything. Beautifully restored property, lovely linens and furnishings, all private baths, super friendly staff. One block from the beach and ferry. Free Wi-Fi, complimentary snacks and bottled water, flat screen TV. In-room heat and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Madison Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Oak Bluffs
Madison Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing