We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Perfect stay!”
Review of Madison Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madison Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We just got back from a stay in Oak Bluffs at the Madison Inn. We read reviews on TripAdvisor and were really picking from a needle in a haystack never having been to Martha's Vineyard before. We were not disappointed. The location was great! Right off of Circuit Ave, and close to the beach, restaurants and bus. The room was clean and a good size. We were in room 9, a family of 4. They had beach chairs, coolers and beach towels for us to use for free! I would definitely recommend this place to friends. The staff was very nice too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachiem0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
There are newer reviews for Madison Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2010

This is a very conveniently located historic property right in Oak Bluffs Center. Our party arrived on MV much too early for checkin (about 8:30 AM) but the manager/owner lady got us started by showing us where we could store our luggage (both an unsecured room and a secured room for valuables), and finding us a taxi service to Vineyard Haven (where we ate breakfast) that is apparently one of the few taxi companies on MV that does not gouge you for having multiple people in the van. (I know this is true because on the return trip we had to flag one on the street, and for the exact same ride the other company charged us $10 more). The good taxi company, by the way, is "Your Taxi." She also found out which rooms we were scheduled to stay in, and marked those for expedited cleaning so we might be able to check in earlier than the usual 3pm.

After a day exploring MV, I returned to check in. The rooms come with "free snacks" and bottled water, although they don't feature mini-fridges. The bed is perfectly comfortable, although I thought the pillows weren't so great. The shower and bathroom are fine and the room is spacious. There's a 24-hour "snack bar" that features a coffee machine, fresh fruit, granola bars, etc. just off the main hallway. The room has a window A/C. And they take 1 night stays in high season (July). I found free wifi, but I don't know if it came from the inn or a neighbor. :)

There are no real downsides. The benefit of being right in Oak Bluffs Center is you're right in Oak Bluffs Center; the downside is that street noise begins around 7:30 AM (trucks, etc.), so it might not be good for really late sleepers. This would work fine for someone who wants to walk to the beach - you are just a few minutes' walk from the beach, as well as anything else in Oak Bluffs (including the ferry). I did not have an issue with noise from bars or whatever, but this was a Wednesday night.

For those looking for a daytime activity, I recommend biking to Edgartown. Once there, follow the bike path signs all the way to the Chappy Ferry, then keep going (i.e. not to the ferry) until you pass the lighthouse on your right, then follow the curve around. When you've sort got the lighthouse behind you, you'll find yourself in a quiet, fancy, residential neighborhood, and then a narrow path to a public beach (marked on maps but don't know the name) that for some reason has nobody there despite water like a lake and good sand. On the way back, be careful to get back on the Oak Bluffs bike path, not the Vineyard Haven bike path.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bli_shem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I made the reservation without much time for research so I was a bit nervous. I was delighted with the decision. This is an excellent choice if you want to be close to everything in Oak Bluffs. We didn't need a car. Great restaurants, historical sites and beach within a very short walk. Rooms are VERY clean, comfy bed, good air conditioner, good shower and towels, easy and secure access. Only (slight) disappointment was the apple fritters showed up late in the morning. However, we ARE early risers so maybe fritters after 8:30 worked for the other guests. Overall, I would HIGHLY recommend the Madison.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nupilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The friendliest service. Coffee and frest pastries and fruit greeted us early in the a.m. and was available throughout the day and night. Our room was very clean and we were quite comfortable on the hot summer nights. They let us keep our bags after we checked out so we could spend more time before our Ferry left. Very enjoyable stay. This was our second time at the Madison Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZBKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The Madison Inn is located within the heart of Oak Bluffs! Everything was within walking distance including the Ferry! They made items available for the beach and complimentary snacks within the room . Everything was clean and most of all their beds were comfortable!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelodyLaranjeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Location: Perfect; the hotel is in walking distance of the best that Oak Bluffs has to offer. Cleanliness: Very clean room. Service: Outstanding and with a smile. Value: Very low price for great location. Sleep Quality: Excellent. Rooms: the shower did not work, but the main faucet did work so we could take a bath, the water pressure was good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodtimesgoodtimes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at the Madison Inn on the Vineyard and this time I brought along my sister and my mother. This Inn is small but recently redecorated and all the furnishings and decorations are adorable. It is also incredibly convenient. You literally walk up the hill from the Island Queen or down the dock from the Woods Hole Ferry Docks and the Inn is right there. We stayed in room 1 which has a porch that overlooks Circuit Ave. My one year old had fun hanging out with his dad out there watching all the people walk by. There are endless options for eating or drinking within a stones throw of the hotel. You are also about a 5 minute walk from the beach in Oak Bluffs. The hotel has towels, coolers, beach chairs, beach toys, and boogie boards that you can use free of charge (they might also have bikes but I would call about that.) If you don't like the Oak Bluff's beach the bus stop is also right around the corner and can take you pretty much anywhere on the island. The larger state beach is a short trip down the road (towards Edgartown.) It is 2 miles long and very pretty plus they have a great Slush stand there which can be refreshing on a hot day.

Another bonus - they have a luggage room to store your items if your room isn't ready or on the day you are leaving. They also have a refrigerator you can store items in which was handy with a little one. There is also access to a Keurig coffee machine all day long, as well as fruit and nutrigrain bars. I'm not sure if they do this every morning but both mornings we were there they also put out an apple fritter from a nearby bakery which was so delicious words cannot even describe it.

The staff is very nice and helpful and very accomodating.
If this is your first time travelling to the Vineyard this is a great centrally located location. If you are looking for a quite place in a more rural area this is not for you. Oak Bluffs is busy and crowded and can be loud at night. However for the price you are paying there is no better value on the island.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
Thank frugalnhmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
0.1 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
361 reviews
5.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Inn

Address: 18 Kennebec Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: £80 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madison Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely charming and thoroughly affordable 15 room inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Always the Vineyard's best value! In town location is convenient to everything. Beautifully restored property, lovely linens and furnishings, all private baths, super friendly staff. One block from the beach and ferry. Free Wi-Fi, complimentary snacks and bottled water, flat screen TV. In-room heat and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Madison Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Oak Bluffs
Madison Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing