We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL SERVICE”
Review of Sand Bar & Grille

Sand Bar & Grille
Ranked #34 of 52 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWFUL SERVICE”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I don't think it takes much to understand proper serving etiquette, but it seems the Sand Bar & Grille might actually go out of their way to employ only those that do the exact opposite of proper serving. Each time I've gone the service was terrible. The only thing that brought me back a second time was the delicious food. Only the food was inconsistent. The first time it was phenomenal, second-go-round I ordered the same exact thing and it wasn't even close to the "same exact" thing. Because the service is so terrible, a venture that should have taken an hour maximum (that's with leeway) took nearly two and half hours. I would not suggest this place, nor will I be going back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Islandgirl0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    20
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a late night bite!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had just got in off the ferry and were absolutely famished when we came upon the Sand Bar & Grille. We sat at one of the outside tables in the sand which was a fun atmosphere. It was a little loud but we were looking for something lively anyway.

The service was very fast and the food was very tasty. The lobster mac n' cheese was a hit and the fried clams were to die for. The sushi was also very good. We'll definitely stop back here for another late night snack next time we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FleetwoodJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north attleboro, ma
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We went here for appetizers and drinks. It was a fun place right on the docks. The kids enjoyed sitting at a table with feet in the sand.

Helpful?
Thank pschu420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Found this place on a day trip to Martha's Vineyard while waiting for the ferry back to Hyannis. It was great, like being at the beach with sand on the ground! As promised on the menu, had a wicked grilled cheese sandwich with home made potato chips, still warm, & a much needed ice cold beer. Great service by friendly staff. Nothing special, just great food in a great place. Give it a try!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“LOVE the Sand Bar!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I LOVE the Sand Bar! The sushi is really great (if not the best on the Island) and the atmosphere and location cannot be beat. You can eat inside or outside in the sand-covering-the-ground area. The bartenders are always kind and make awesome drinks! Late nights, sitting at the bar watching sports or games on TV is really the best. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sand Bar & Grille also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Sand Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing