We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quick and tasty food”
Review of Nancy's Restaurant

Nancy's Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Maine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“quick and tasty food”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Service was fast and friendly...i had the cinnamon swirl french toast and my partner had the multigrain friend toast. Very tasty and cooked to perfection. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maddymaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    271
    101
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice view, good food, high prices”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The food was good, not great, certainly not worth the high prices although most things are overpriced on the island. Food is a little high brow so not the place to go with a picky child or for a fast and easy meal. The staff was nice and the service was good. I would certainly recommend for a nice and longer sit down lunch or dinner, just be prepared for the bill at the end.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Watters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancysRestaurant, Manager at Nancy's Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Nancy's. I am disappointed to hear you didn't receive the value you were looking for. We are very competitively priced on Martha's Vineyard and in fact lower than most of our neighbors. It looks like you visited after our Snack Bar closed downstairs which could have been a great alternative, especially if you have young children. Upstairs we do offer a children menu(cheeseburger, chicken fingers, hot dog, pasta with butter or marinara, fish and chips, cheese quesadilla). We also many traditional menu items with classic new england fried seafood, buffalo chicken wraps, etc... Hopefully it wasn't a mistake on our part for communicating the menu better. I truly believe we offer a great quality meal for a great value. Please consider trying us again. Thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just the best Lobster Roll ever”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Beautiful day trip to Martha's Vinyard was completed by a last minute lunch at Nancy's Restaurant. We just ordered the Lobster Roll with salad and a couple of beers. The roll was just the best we had during our two week stay on Cape Cod, huge amount of lobster not too over-dressed in mayo and in a warm roll. The salad dressing was light and delicious and there was a lot of it. It was a gorgeous sunny day and we sat out on the veranda overlooking the marina - just perfect. A lovely end to our day out. Extra treat - it was advertised at $20 dollars each but lunchtime special mid-week of $15 - excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErikaHorsham_WSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

They are right on the water overlooking Oak Bluffs harbor on the second floor. We decided to have a drink at their really nice outdoor bar to enjoy the view and then went inside for dinner. Although there weren't many people there, the hostess took us right to an inside table. We had to ask to sit by the window. The food was good but service was slow on a not-to-busy weekday night. I would go back again but not with anything more than average expectations.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newyorktraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Since1960, Manager at Nancy's Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for dining with us at Nancy's. I would like to apologize that we didn't exceed your expectations. I'm not sure if food service was slow or service overall but I will address both. Our kitchen is one of the most clean, efficient, quality driven kitchens around. We consistently produce great food with amazing ticket times. Customer service is also very important to us. Staff is trained and constantly monitored to be the best of the best and I'm sorry if this was not the case. I hope you give us the opportunity again to exceed your expectations. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No, thanks!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My friends and I just came from a 3-hour full island tour and were, to say the very least, famished. Although we planned on having lunch at the MV Chowder Company, we decided to go to Nancy's instead because first, it was recommended by our tour guide and, second, it was just a few steps away from where the tour bus dropped us off. A decision we regretted. The indoor dining area was almost empty and we asked one of the employees if she could accommodate all ten of us in one table. She said no. We asked if she could put 2-3 tables together so we can all be seated together; she said she could not do that. So we ended up splitting into two groups. The staff was grouchy, the clam chowder left much to be desired. The calamari and fried clams are nothing to rave about. Not coming back, for sure! .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marichu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Since1960, Manager at Nancy's Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
I am very sorry to hear about your experience at Nancy's. We regularly sit parties of 10 or more all season long. There are some tables that we can not pull together because it creates a fire hazard and blocks the walking aisle too much. If this was the case we failed in communicating that to you in a better manner. Our fried seafood and chowder is the freshest around and customer favorites all season. If there was an issue with quality of your food I wish you had alerted the server or a manager so we could have fixed the problem. In regards to your perception of the staff being grouchy, I apologize. Customer service is priority number one being in the service industry requires a welcoming and friendly attitude at all times. We train all our staff to attentive and polite. I will look into this matter and address it. Please give us the opportunity to change your mind if you make it back to MV. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nancy's Restaurant also viewed

 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Nancy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing