We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply lovely”
Review of Inn on Onset Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on Onset Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Onset B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Clean, comfortable and cozy room. Comfortable bed with nice sheets. Clean bathroom (super important to me). Lovely courtyard for enjoying a quit evening, also has a grill. Inn keeper is accommodating and very knowledgeable about the area. Romantic setting; hubbie and I took moonlit walk on the beach. Small beach right across the street and a short walk from the clean, sand-bottom town beach. We went for a family wedding and my cousins' young children had a blast collecting hermit crabs and chasing minots. Recommend the Fire House Cafe for coffee and breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugarmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having stayed here before on a new years eve, was wonderful! Snowy but Serene. Had the opportunity to watch my New years Eve morn sunrise!! Was something you all should have the chance to enjoy. We just stayed here the past few days and enjoyed the summer breeze on our wonderful porch view if the beach! I have to say Cheryl and Abe are great people. We will be coming back in a few weeks to celebrate my birthday! :) I am looking forward to another wonderful stay. Thanks Cheryl and Abe and will see you soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here because we had a wedding in the area. The Inn is beautiful and the location – nestled right on a lovely bay – couldn't be better.

The owner, Cheryl, went above and beyond the call of duty in making us feel at home. We accidentally left some clothes behind, and she generously boxed them up and mailed them to us.

We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillytraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innononsetbay, Managing Partner at Inn on Onset Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, that everything worked out and that your clothes made it back to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We found this place by accident and now we try and come back every 4th of July and hopefully more often in the future! Very nice, clean rooms with good showers. Short walk to a free, very clean beach where the water is very warm and inviting! At least 4 excellent restaurants within walking distance make the stay more enjoyable. The innkeepers are always very nice. very familiar with the whole area and very helpful. Extremely quite at night ensures a very good night's sleep. Can't wait to come back again!

Room Tip: Liked all the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innononsetbay, Manager at Inn on Onset Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn on Onset Bay.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you and your wife again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Right next to the beach, this newly renovated hotel is in the perfect location.
The rooms have been designed with clean, simple decor which we loved. Plenty space to put away clothing and a desk/dressing table for all our gadgets and papers.
Great kitchenette and fridge, this area was more than adequate for our needs.
Opposite the beach and the kayak rentals, the owners of this hotel offer the loan of beach chairs and towels if you need them. The beach is beautiful and safe for families to play and swim in. Only a short walk to the local town the Inn has plenty parking spaces so you can leave the car behind.
We stayed for 3 days as we were at a wedding in the area, we also returned after checking out as we needed another night, we got a different room and that was of the same high standard, clean and comfortable.
The owners Cheryl and Abe were available at all times and never made us feel anything other than welcome, they were super helpful and so accommodating it made our visit here a real pleasure.
I did notice that there are some rooms adapted for people who need to use wheelchairs and other mobility issues also. And some rooms have beach views and others overlook the court yard, don't get hung up on tending a view- your on the beach anyway.
The only down side is that we had to leave!
Don't even bother looking elsewhere for your trip - you've found the right place.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Xtinabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innononsetbay, Owner at Inn on Onset Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for the great review!!!!! You were such a fun couple to host!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed for one night for a wedding up the street. Great location for shops, places to eat, and bay and park across the street. Our room was just redone and in the front overlooking the bay. Room 206.....spacious and clean. Ceiling fan and AC was great. Shower big and clean. I don't think I would have enjoyed my stay as much if room was without view or in the back. Some street noise (cars) late at night but didn't bother us. Owners are very pleasant.

Room Tip: Get room in the front over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisa22Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innononsetbay, Owner at Inn on Onset Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed the renovated room (206) and thank you for taking the time to review the Inn on Onset Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I loved this place. Crisp clean linens and spa like colors were very soothing. The bedroom had a small kitchenette and a newly renovated bathroom. It also had a beautiful view of the bay and beach and was within easy walking distance to restaurants and shops. Cheryl, the innkeeper, was warm and friendly and provided me with good suggestions for dining as well as where I could get a massage that was running a special!! This place had everything. I will definitely return and highly recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Was given an option to choose between the room I picked, 303, or the Princess room which had an espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innononsetbay, Owner at Inn on Onset Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the positive feedback regarding the renovations on the third floor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Inn on Onset Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Onset Bay

Address: 181 Onset Avenue, Onset, MA 02558
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Onset
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Onset
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Onset Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Onset Bay sits atop the bluffs in the village of Onset, a seaside community nestled on the west end of the Cape Cod Canal. Once a popular vacation destination for travelers the world over, Onset has become one of Cape Cod's "hidden treasures" with beautiful views, breathtaking sunrises and a place where serene beaches and quiet nights welcome visitors to step back in time. All of our rooms have private baths, air conditioning, flat screen tv's, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards. Many have kitchenettes with compact refrigerators, and microwaves. Please note that we DO NOT allow any cooking. We offer coffee and tea in the morning and a barbecue grill for use in our court yard. Onset is a pedestrian friendly village so you can choose to not get back in your car until departure if rest and relaxation is your goal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn on Onset Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Onset Bay Hotel Onset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing