We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and right by the beach”
Review of Inn on Onset Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on Onset Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Onset B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2010

The female owner (i think her name was cheryl) was great. we were not happy with our original room due to a variety of reasons and so she moved us to a nicer room saying that she wanted us to enjoy our trip. She also waited until she saw us the next morning to make a fresh pot of coffee and said she had been waiting for us to wake up to do so. The inn is right across the street from the beach- which was perfect for us. Onset can get boring, so be sure to drive to check out other places. But for our purposes- 1 day on the beach it was perfect.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ilanadebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2010

We found the Inn online and didn't know what to expect - but were looking for an inexpensive getaway on the ocean. We had a second floor room with a view of the bay. The ocean breeze on a warm day was exaclty what we were hoping for.

It was clean, the A/C new and so was the carpet. The bathroom was fine with a few outdated fixtures and the bed very comfortable. The front desk was infromative and freindly, the coffee and muffins excellent, and best of all the price a little more than a motel without a view.

It is a short walk to everything in this small village: the beach, a small park, a few good restaurants, shops, breakfast, lunch and ice cream shops. Best of all we didn't have to fight the Cape Cod traffic for hours.

Sure, you can find better, and certainly spend a lot more.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 005Mustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I stayed with my boyfriend this past weekend and was pleasantly surprised by the accommodations, great owners and cute town. The inn is walking distance to everything and the owners gave a great recommendation for dinner which was a fabulous bistro just down the street. The room was a decent size for us and perfect for what we needed. Knowing we wouldn't be in the room much, the accommodations of a 4 star place were not necessary. And not what you will get here. It is a shore town so the dampness and beach smell were expected as was the New England charm. less the upgraded furniture and bedding. We were happy with the Inn and plan to be back. As my boyfriend wrote in the guest book. The triathlon brought us here but Onset will bring us back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

A friend and I were in town for a triathlon and this couldn't have been a better place to stay. The beach is mere steps away, as well as restaurants, shops, etc, The owners made us feel very cozy and at-home. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trapezeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I would never reccomend this "Inn" to anyone else. Apparently the new owners have only been running it for a year and they obviously need some good advice. First, our reservation was made and an email confirmation sent over a month ago yet when we got to the inn they couldn't find our reservation. Also, a friend who was staying as well and they "lost" her reservation as well as few weeks ago blaming it on their young daughter. Our room was ok more like a cheap motel 6 thank goodness we only pain $100 instead of the $140. Then come to find out our friend and her fiancee paid $140 for their room which was much smaller, very smelly (like must and mold) and spiders all over the bathroon. Mind you she is 7 months pregnant and had to deal with the smell and the mold. Horrible place would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niddy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innononsetbay, Manager at Inn on Onset Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2010

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Although it feels challenging to respond to a guests concerns after the fact, we do appreciate your feedback. We are available 24 hours a day if a guest has a need or is uncomfortable in anyway during their visit.
We are a 21 room older inn built in the late 1800's and because all of our rooms are different, (larger, panoramic views of the bay, smaller, facing the courtyard) we can cater to our guests budgets and indivudual tastes and therefore we do have different prices for different rooms. We are on the beach so we are always looking for ways to deal with the challenges of being close to the beach in a very old building.
Our property is unique an certainly not for everybody: Certainly if a guest checks in and our inn is not what they expected, we will do everything we can to accomodate there needs, even if that is that they decide to leave and go elsewhere.
We supervise our cleaners when we are not the ones doing the actual cleaning and inspect the rooms before a guests arrival and to my knowledge, spiders are also a part of being on the beach and not a reflection on cleanliness.
This is a family run business and we thank you for pointing out that we need to be more careful when taking reservations. We have now put a new procedure in place and are confident that this will not happen again.
Many of our guests become like friends, and many have started to become frequent guests because of our "above and beyond" attitude.
We are sorry that this was not your experience but are confident that this is not the norm at the Inn on Onset Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I had a wonderful experience! I booked the hotel over the phone and received excellent customer service. Was even more pleased with the room itself when I arrived. It was on the second floor with a huge bay window overlooking the ocean. The towels could use some updating, but it was easily the best value of all the friends we knew, attending a wedding, who stayed in the area. I would definately go back!!!!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank travelsCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I was a little leary about this place due to the mediocre reviews here, but it was the closest place to our event with enough rooms available. Pleasantly surprised when we arrived - great location, rooms were clean and the front desk people were very helpful with questions about the area, etc. They were also very on top of having our requested cots and extra towels in the room.
Apparently they had a switch in management the day we arrived so not sure what it was like a month ago but the new people seem to know what they're doing!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Inn on Onset Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Onset Bay

Address: 181 Onset Avenue, Onset, MA 02558
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Onset
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Onset
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Onset Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Onset Bay sits atop the bluffs in the village of Onset, a seaside community nestled on the west end of the Cape Cod Canal. Once a popular vacation destination for travelers the world over, Onset has become one of Cape Cod's "hidden treasures" with beautiful views, breathtaking sunrises and a place where serene beaches and quiet nights welcome visitors to step back in time. All of our rooms have private baths, air conditioning, flat screen tv's, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards. Many have kitchenettes with compact refrigerators, and microwaves. Please note that we DO NOT allow any cooking. We offer coffee and tea in the morning and a barbecue grill for use in our court yard. Onset is a pedestrian friendly village so you can choose to not get back in your car until departure if rest and relaxation is your goal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn on Onset Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Onset Bay Hotel Onset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing