We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit shabby” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travel Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orange
Nethy Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bit shabby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Chose to stay here based purely on price. $50 is a good price and about two-thirds the price of the big chains. You get a safe secure room, a reasonable selection of tv channels, a fridge and a microwave. Soap and towels in the bathroom and clean sheets on the bed. Yes the rooms are shabby and showing their age but everything works. If you're on a budget it's a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nethyman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
6
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, MA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in October.
First the good things:
The receptionist was friendly and welcoming.
The room was clean and adequate.
Now the bad things:
There were live and dead bugs in every corner of both the bathroom and the bedroom.
There were stains on the ceilings.
The room had a funky smell.
I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

The motel is quite basic, but for the price its an excellent place to sleep for a night or two. The room is quite spacious, has huge TV and refrigerator, the decor is a bit dated, but adequate. The lady on reception was extremely friendly and welcoming, this was really nice, and I was also offered a coffee in the morning. Overall, would recommend if you only need a bed for a night. Its just off Route 2 as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ddartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This little motel is run by a husband-wife team who are friendly, personable, and service-oriented. The room was small and decor outdated, but it was clean and the bed comfortable. Microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer. Shower was small but everything worked and we only paid $55 on a Saturday night. Recommend this place to cost-conscious travelers. Don't expect 3-star accommodations and you won't be disappointed. Right off Route 2 on Route 202, minutes from the Athol Hannaford, plenty of gas stations and mini-marts around too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I wasn't sure whether to give three or four stars for this motel. While not what you might consider a four-star hotel, it's good value for the money -- about $50 a night for us. We had wanted to stay in Greenfield but almost everything within a 15-mile radius was booked for the weekend, so we stayed at this little family-run place.

Travel Inn is one of those old-time, V-shaped motels where you can park right at your door. The rate includes free cable and Internet and a room with a small fridge and microwave, comfortable bed, large closet and small bathroom (small stand-up shower, no tub). There's plenty of drawer space, two night tables, a small dining table and two chairs; no separate, comfy chair for relaxing. The room's big enough for sleeping and watching TV, not one of those rooms you see at more expensive places with a small living room and desk. Walls are a bit thin, as you might expect, although this wasn't a big problem.

While it says breakfast is included, we ate elsewhere, so I can't comment on that aspect. I did notice a coffee pot in the customer area of the office. There's a 24-hour gas station and convenience store, including a Dunkin' Donuts, across the street.

The friendly clerk/manager greeted us warmly even though we arrived around midnight. I think the strong points of the place are friendly service, very good price and value, and relative convenience.

While the room was clean in that basic-daily-cleaning sense, it needed a deep cleaning to remove old grime and dust from places a customer can see even if they don't necessarily need to touch those fixtures. The room was nonsmoking but the carpet must be fairly old, as there were small holes that appeared to be old cigarette burns.

Yes, the place can use some freshening up, yet overall it's a good deal for $50.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sometimestravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

I would recommend Travel Inn in Orange MA for three main reasons: 1)The owners go out of their way to assure their guests comfort and go out of their way to fulfill ones needs.
2) The motel's location is convenient to Routs 202, 2 and 2A. 3) You get a quality room at an affordable price. I would not hesitate to encourage travelers to stay at this motel. The landscaping is outstanding and a pleasure to view on a quiet evening thanks to Mary (the owner) and her mother in law, Indira ben who helps with this gorgeous arrangement of flowers and plants.

Room Tip: You need not worry about getting a good room because all of the rooms are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daisyslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
17.3 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gardner
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
16.7 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
18.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
16.1 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Property: Travel Inn
Address: 180 Daniel Shays Hwy, Orange, MA 01364-2020
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Orange
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing