We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, convenient, and clean.”
Review of Travel Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travel Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orange
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Travel Inn got it right with very comfortable beds with firm mattresses, and the room is fairly clean (the bathroom is a tight squeeze) with powerful new A/C units (and windows also open for fresh air). As other reviewers have noted, the TV is old, and the shower stall seemed a little dingy. The phone was filthy and the TV remote needed to be sanitized and cleaned (my pet peeve). There are no alarm clocks or radios in the room, but they do provide wake-up calls. Another surprising fact is that they do not supply blankets in the summer time, just sheets and bedspreads. It's very conveniently located just off Rte. 2 with fast food joints and the Hannaford supermarket plaza is just a few miles down the road. If you are looking for a clean, cheap place to stay near the Pioneer Valley, Mass MoCA or Greenfield/ Deerfield environs, Travel Inn is a good choice. They are also pet friendly and have free Wi-Fi. I spoke to the owners and they do not own the Executive Inn down the road. Like many motels, they require payment upon arrival. I would not hesitate to return if I needed a place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank twogoldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is one of those cases where "it is what it is," a budget motel off a highway exit, no frills, just a place to hang your hat for the night. The major advantage to this place is that it's about as cheap a lodging as you can find just about anywhere in the state. Predictably, the decor is old, the TV is old, the telephone is ancient, furniture is a bit warped, and the bedding looked tired... but for the most part the room was very clean. The sheets were clean and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. A/C was loud but worked fine. It was a non-smoking room and it indeed did not smell like smoke, unlike so many places that convert rooms to non-smoking while the stench still lingers. Bathroom is a bit of a tight squeeze but was very clean, except for one major sticking point: the shower curtain in the small stand-up shower was overdue for replacement. A bit gross, I might even say.

For the price, you can't really knock this place. I'd pay an extra couple of bucks if it meant a new shower curtain, though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank AnyMajorDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We lived in Orange most of our lives and recently moved to NC. I had never had the need to rent of the only 2 motels in town. We chose the Travel Inn over the Executive Inn due to reviews. (FYI both hotels are owned by the same family). Our check in process was simple, the staff was very helpful, and the rooms was clean. We ended up having a lot of visitors and the staff brought us lawn chairs for our comfort. I have stayed at 4-5 star hotels before and have never been treated as well as I was at the Travel Inn. The room was inexpensive and right next to the highway. When we take trips back up north I WILL be staying here again and again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Seems to be a vanishing breed of motels, cheap, basic and clean. You seem to more and more get expensive or gross. This had a comfortable bed and clean room. Not the ritz, but not priced like the ritz.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrbiskit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Chose to stay here based purely on price. $50 is a good price and about two-thirds the price of the big chains. You get a safe secure room, a reasonable selection of tv channels, a fridge and a microwave. Soap and towels in the bathroom and clean sheets on the bed. Yes the rooms are shabby and showing their age but everything works. If you're on a budget it's a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nethyman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in October.
First the good things:
The receptionist was friendly and welcoming.
The room was clean and adequate.
Now the bad things:
There were live and dead bugs in every corner of both the bathroom and the bedroom.
There were stains on the ceilings.
The room had a funky smell.
I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The motel is quite basic, but for the price its an excellent place to sleep for a night or two. The room is quite spacious, has huge TV and refrigerator, the decor is a bit dated, but adequate. The lady on reception was extremely friendly and welcoming, this was really nice, and I was also offered a coffee in the morning. Overall, would recommend if you only need a bed for a night. Its just off Route 2 as well.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ddartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orange
17.3 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gardner
193 reviews
24.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 10 in Brattleboro
107 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
858 reviews
18.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
15.8 mi away
Super 8 Gardner
Super 8 Gardner
#2 of 2 in Gardner
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 180 Daniel Shays Hwy, Orange, MA 01364-2020
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Orange
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orange
Price Range: £46 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Orange

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing