We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, nice people”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orleans Waterfront Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I have stayed at two inns on the Cape and both have given me the same impression. It's like staying with your crazy great aunt Lucinda whose granddad had a ton of money and bought this big, old house but the later generations never really had the money to keep it like it was. Floors slope, doorways are odd sizes, the bathrobe in the closet looks like it might be uncle Ed's. The breakfast kind of the same. You go down to the dining room in the morning and its serve yourself. Some things are laid out, donuts and cereal, but for some you have to go into the service pantry, milk, juice, coffee. One morning the owner found us there and made a really great breakfast for us, one morning not. The location on the water is nice, the location on the road is less so. The restaurant and bar were an amenity and the central location on the Cape was great. The main positive in the place is the people. The owner was very good to us and we would go back for the hospitality alone. I would recommend it if you are looking for a base of operations but would suggest you keep looking if you want a place to lounge around part of the day followed by a stroll into town.

Room Tip: I think the even numbers face the water.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Nrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

It is kind words like yours that motivate us to keep improving. Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Orleans Waterfront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

The Orleans Inn is a beautiful, serene inn run by extremely generous and kind people who take so much pride in their establishment that you almost feel honored to be staying there!

My boyfriend and I (and our feisty dog) decided to spend our last night on the Cape there after a week stay at a much less attractive location (Beachfront White Sands). Upon arrival, we were told that we had been upgraded to the Presidential Suite. Our rooms were ready several hours before check-in, we were allowed to check out several hours late, and our interaction with Ed, the owner and his two daughters was lovely. Everyone was extremely courteous, helpful, and sweet. The place is dog friendly, has no night minimums, and you can cancel by 6 PM the night of your arrival.

Our suite was gorgeous. We had seen some of the other rooms when we stopped by to book and they seemed equally nice. Every detail was taken care of, from the plush bedding, postcards in the jewelry box, to the embroidered holder covering the spare toilet paper rolls. The view of the Cove was spectacular as well, especially the sunset.

The restaurant downstairs was great too. The food was delicious and the service was efficient for such a busy place. What was surprising were the extremely reasonable prices for a beachfront restaurant. The restaurant had great drinks, great entrees, and for someone that doesn't eat chocolate cake, I finished my boyfriend's portion!

This place was so impressive that I'd consider it for a wedding one day. The only regrets we have are not getting to spend more time there and we will certainly be back, maybe even before next summer!

Room Tip: Get a waterfront room - it's more expensive but absolutely worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

It has been a very busy year since your stay. Your kind words motivated us to continue serving our wonderful guests. It was fun to meet you and yes we hope to host your wedding someday. We had a fabulous wedding this weekend. Everyone that has had a wedding here will tell you it was the best ever! We don't advertise and it is the people who find the Inn that appreciate it the most. Thanks for your kind words. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The Orleans Inn turned out to be a fantastic place to stay while on the Cape - and we will definitely be back. We were visiting the Cape with some friends/family and the places we have stayed in the past were booked. We booked this place primarily on location and availability. We weren't expecting much but Ed and his team really impressed us. The rooms are clean and more impressing - they do not have the typical moldy/mildew-y Cape smell many hotels and rentals have here.
Ed stayed up late since we had told him we wouldn't get in until 10:30pm and very quickly checked us in and showed us to our room.
Breakfast in the mornings were perfect - selection of pastries, coffee, fruit and Ed and his team also offered to make eggs for those who were interested. They were not hovering or obtrusive - would pop in periodically to make sure we were all set. Another great aspect was that the breakfast was from 7 - 10 - which is very long compared to most places. Therefore we didn't feel rushed - those who wanted to run or sleep in were able to.
We will definitely be back to this great place. Thank you to Ed and team for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBug_mkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We live in Orleans and are familiar with all the options available and it was the hands down choice for our daughter's wedding. Some of the out-of-town guests stayed at the Inn as well. I've recently seen a couple of negative reviews and felt compelled to add my comments. The Maas family renovated the Inn at their own expense and the whole family works hard in the kitchen, serving and managing the Inn. Every facility has its share of problems, but the Maas family are some of the kindest, most generous people in town. They go out of their way to make guests and patrons happy. The Inn is the only place in town with waterfront dining. Yes, it's near a commercial area, but Orleans is a small town and when the Inn was built, it stood alone. Historic buildings do not have all the modern appurtenances, but that's what makes them so charming. As far as the tax situation, the Town of Orleans recently approved an addition 75 cents per $100 which goes directly to the Town. This is in addition to the State 6.25% sales tax. Having traveled a lot, I can attest to the fact that New York, for instance, has state, county and city taxes in some places. The business owners are required to comply with the law and shouldn't be blamed. We have recommended the Orleans Inn to many of our friends and visitors to Orleans and have always heard back that they were satisfied. The Maas family continually donates meeting space and refreshments to local charitable organizations such as Rotary International. I simply can't believe that Ed Maas would use bad language to anyone.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
7  Thank CapeCodDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you so much or the kind review. We strive to provide an excellent experience. It is so nice to see the wedding couples come back with their new babies to celebrate anniversaries. You are a very special family and it is wonderful to see your support of the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Wonderful inn that has just the right mix of old time warmth with modern amenities added in a way that does not take away from the charm.

The location is great for navigating the Cape's best attractions, the inn has charm, great views and great food. Ed and his family make you feel like old friends while they cater to your every need.

As someone who has logged too many miles to count, this is one place I will definitely be returning to and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TwinCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review. We continue to strive for perfection. We have operated the Inn for 16 years an it is guests like you that keep us motivated to continue every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We inquired about having our wedding on the site and I asked questions re sales tax etc. The owner was soo rude telling me that since i enquired about the sales tax this was not the place for me and then he hung up on me. I suggest going to the Wequassett Inn this is where we have booked our wedding it is lovely and they treat you fantastic that is how you should be treaded on your special. Well they will treat you nice if you have a $25,0000 wedding but not if it's $10,000

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
10  Thank scooterjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2010

This was not our guest. She tried to avoid paying tax which is illegal. When I explained Orleans has a local option tax which was $37 on her $5000 wedding she called me a liar. The matter has been referred to the Attorney General and Mass Dept of Revenue for tax fraud. I am disappointed that Trip Advisor allows someone to defame a business for collecting tax which supports our local economy. She terminated the conversation which was a brief phone call. I have never met this person. She has never been to the Orleans Inn. We take pride in our weddings as is shown by the reviews of couples that have held their weddings at the Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We've stayed at the Orleans Waterfront Inn sevral times. It truly is a wonderful place to stay. Ed Maas and his family take great care of the Inn and all of it's guests. They truly go out of there way to make you feel comfortable and at home. The restaurant downstairs is also wonderful. They have an extensive menu and nightly specials. They have a covered deck outside with a great water view. This is by far our favorite place to stay while on the Cape. Every time we leave we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wheelz_cape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orleans
5.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
713 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.4 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn
1.1 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
3.9 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orleans Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orleans Waterfront Inn

Address: 3 Old County Rd, Located on 6A Off the Orleans Rotary, Orleans, MA 02653-2519
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range: £185 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant waterfront hotel on Cape Cod. Victorian Sea Captain mansion with the best restaurant on the Cape! Weddings and receptions up to 250 guests. Top rated by Frommer's, Fodor's, Cape Cod Life and Zagat. No minimum stay and no cancellation penalty. Phone calls free as well as Internet, TV, movies and breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orleans Waterfront Hotel Orleans
Orleans Waterfront Inn MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing