We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Specially chosen for our daughter's wedding reception”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orleans Waterfront Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Specially chosen for our daughter's wedding reception”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We live in Orleans and are familiar with all the options available and it was the hands down choice for our daughter's wedding. Some of the out-of-town guests stayed at the Inn as well. I've recently seen a couple of negative reviews and felt compelled to add my comments. The Maas family renovated the Inn at their own expense and the whole family works hard in the kitchen, serving and managing the Inn. Every facility has its share of problems, but the Maas family are some of the kindest, most generous people in town. They go out of their way to make guests and patrons happy. The Inn is the only place in town with waterfront dining. Yes, it's near a commercial area, but Orleans is a small town and when the Inn was built, it stood alone. Historic buildings do not have all the modern appurtenances, but that's what makes them so charming. As far as the tax situation, the Town of Orleans recently approved an addition 75 cents per $100 which goes directly to the Town. This is in addition to the State 6.25% sales tax. Having traveled a lot, I can attest to the fact that New York, for instance, has state, county and city taxes in some places. The business owners are required to comply with the law and shouldn't be blamed. We have recommended the Orleans Inn to many of our friends and visitors to Orleans and have always heard back that they were satisfied. The Maas family continually donates meeting space and refreshments to local charitable organizations such as Rotary International. I simply can't believe that Ed Maas would use bad language to anyone.

Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank CapeCodDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you so much or the kind review. We strive to provide an excellent experience. It is so nice to see the wedding couples come back with their new babies to celebrate anniversaries. You are a very special family and it is wonderful to see your support of the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    17
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
34
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naples, FL
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Wonderful inn that has just the right mix of old time warmth with modern amenities added in a way that does not take away from the charm.

The location is great for navigating the Cape's best attractions, the inn has charm, great views and great food. Ed and his family make you feel like old friends while they cater to your every need.

As someone who has logged too many miles to count, this is one place I will definitely be returning to and highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwinCs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. We continue to strive for perfection. We have operated the Inn for 16 years an it is guests like you that keep us motivated to continue every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We inquired about having our wedding on the site and I asked questions re sales tax etc. The owner was soo rude telling me that since i enquired about the sales tax this was not the place for me and then he hung up on me. I suggest going to the Wequassett Inn this is where we have booked our wedding it is lovely and they treat you fantastic that is how you should be treaded on your special. Well they will treat you nice if you have a $25,0000 wedding but not if it's $10,000

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank scooterjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
This was not our guest. She tried to avoid paying tax which is illegal. When I explained Orleans has a local option tax which was $37 on her $5000 wedding she called me a liar. The matter has been referred to the Attorney General and Mass Dept of Revenue for tax fraud. I am disappointed that Trip Advisor allows someone to defame a business for collecting tax which supports our local economy. She terminated the conversation which was a brief phone call. I have never met this person. She has never been to the Orleans Inn. We take pride in our weddings as is shown by the reviews of couples that have held their weddings at the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We've stayed at the Orleans Waterfront Inn sevral times. It truly is a wonderful place to stay. Ed Maas and his family take great care of the Inn and all of it's guests. They truly go out of there way to make you feel comfortable and at home. The restaurant downstairs is also wonderful. They have an extensive menu and nightly specials. They have a covered deck outside with a great water view. This is by far our favorite place to stay while on the Cape. Every time we leave we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wheelz_cape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

My two brothers, my sister and I just got back from a weekend at the Cape, where we treated my mom for her 80th birthday. Although the entire weekend was a huge success, the highlight of our trip was definitely our stay at the Orleans Inn! When I made the reservations several months ago, Josh was so friendly and helpful that I knew we would be in great hands. After listening to our needs, he assigned rooms to meet our budgets and preferences, being sure to let me know that upgrades may be available.

Upon check-in, all four of our rooms were promptly upgraded to water front - every single one of them were absolutely gorgeous! I should note that the rooms not on the water were equally beautiful and well appointed. All of our bathrooms were nice, with extra soaps, shampoo, etc., the beds were super cozy, snacks and water were supplied free of charge, and everything was very clean.

We had read on Triipadvisor that the restaurant was not to be missed, so we made reservations. There was an Irish band playing that night (very good), so it made for a merry environment, although the noise level made conversation difficult. Our meals, however, were superb. Each of us ordered something different, and all were delighted with their choices. The music ended about 9 p.m., so it didn't interfere at all with sleep.

The following morning we were served freshly cooked bacon and scrambled eggs, and self-serve cereal, breads, coffee, etc. were all available as well. The meal was not decadent, but certainly ample enough to give us a great start to the day. And my brothers appreciated the fact that the food offerings were all bottomless!

The owner of the Inn, Ed, was the person who made all of this possible - he ordered the room upgrades, he slept on the couch to handle any overnight emergencies, he cooked our breakfast, and he spent all the time we required to make us feel special, just as he did with every other guest. Ed is a grandfather, and evidence of his wonderful family were everywhere: family pictures on the check-in desk, his wife and kids digging in to serve, and cute babies and toddlers swung on hips and over shoulders everywhere. The feeling of family abounded, and seemed to include everyone who walked through the doors...we felt immediately connected and cared about (as well as cared for).

Staying at the Orleans Inn was like staying in a luxury spa, only better. If you want to feel pampered by family, this is the place for you!! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvtogetpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Orleans Inn. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which had a magnificent view of the Nauset Harbor. During our one week stay we enjoyed waking up in the morning to a great breakfast in the dining room which overlooks the harbor as well. We had incredible meals for both lunch and dinner. We enjoyed ending our day with a night cap in the tavern. The service, food and atmosphere at this beautiful Inn is supreme. We definitely will recommend this Inn to others.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeCodBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Our experience at the Orleans Inn was horrendous. The room had no heat so the owner brought in a space heater. This raised the temperature to 55 degrees after four hours. The staff acknowledged that there was a history of no heat in several rooms, but the owner denied this. Finally we were moved to another room with heat. Unknown to us, the owner charged our credit card an additional $105.00 per night for the heated room. We actually had to file an objection with our credit card company to get our money back. Additionally, the owner was foul mouthed, and rude several times during our stay. it is difficult to imagine that this place has survived with the current owner. The prior owners were nice people. it is a shame that this place has been run by this guy for the past 10 years or so. Staff actually were apologetic for his behavior. Additionally, the food was NOT good. Eat elsewhere if you make the mistake of staying there. I strongly recommend that you avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterfront, owner at Orleans Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2009
United Way awarded us Citizens of the Year 2009, Orleans Chamber of Commerce gave us the community service award, Cape Cod Chamber gave us the business excellence award and the credit card company did not fall for the attempt to avoid payment. Read all the following reviews to see why we received the top 3 performing hotel in the country by Lodging Hospitality magazine. All rooms have 3 sources of heat and central air conditioning. Sounds like he turned the air on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orleans
3.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
5.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
652 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Governor Prence Inn
Governor Prence Inn
#5 of 8 in Orleans
149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn
1.1 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orleans Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orleans Waterfront Inn

Property: Orleans Waterfront Inn
Address: 3 Old County Rd, Located on 6A Off the Orleans Rotary, Orleans, MA 02653-2519
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant waterfront hotel on Cape Cod. Victorian Sea Captain mansion with the best restaurant on the Cape! Weddings and receptions up to 250 guests. Top rated by Frommer's, Fodor's, Cape Cod Life and Zagat. No minimum stay and no cancellation penalty. Phone calls free as well as Internet, TV, movies and breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orleans Waterfront Hotel Orleans
Orleans Waterfront Inn MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing